We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Jade Cricket

Jade Cricket
Ranked #143 of 235 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
rhode island
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Except for the fact that parking is a problem during the summer, this is now one of our favorite restaurants. All the food we've gotten here has been really yummy. We particularly like the Mongolian Beef, Kung Pao Chicken and their whole fish dishes. It's BYOB, but there was a $5/person corkage fee fyi.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank venividiboggli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    5
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice surprise!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The tautog (black fish) with ginger and scallion sauce was outstanding!! Didn't like the sticky rice appetizer. It is a BYOB

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JEMG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Beautiful redo.”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The new restaurant is beautiful. The food is tasty and plentiful for the price. We will be back to enjoy some of the best Asian cuisine in the Fifth Ward.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steve f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Authentic, fresh dishes exquisitely prepared!”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Absolutely delicious and fresh, high quality ingredients! I thoroughly enjoyed my experience and highly recommend Jade Cricket! Pay no attention to bad reviewers who apparently were having a bad day, or simply are not foodies like us. p.s. My Husband is a chef. Perfection!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mdbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Wonderful authentic Chinese food and lovely service”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We were attracted to this restaurant as we knew that they don't use MSG and that appealed to me. We ate there twice in one week and would highly recommend this.

The food was wonderfully cooked, we ate the pork belly buns to start with and for mains, we had the seafood sizzler and Phonenix Cashew Nut Chicken. I would recommend all of our choices, the portions are huge and contain a vast array of vegetables plus succulent chicken breast all served up in a tasty sauce.

This is a BYO so don't forget to take your wine! The service was good on both nights so I can't concur with other review.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jade Cricket also viewed

 

Been to Jade Cricket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing