We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Ranked #4 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2011

My husband and I absolutely LOVED the Beech Tree Inn. I would never even consider staying anywhere else in New Port. Our room was beautiful, bed and furniture was very new and clean. The service was above excellent, couldn't have been better. The breakfasts are amazing! The location is perfect. There wasn't anything I disliked about the Beech Tree. We were also allowed to bring our dogs who are a part of the family so that was a huge plus!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage and it was perfect!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LisaaaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
There are newer reviews for Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2011

The Beech Tree Inn was absolutely wonderful. The owners and staff were more than helpful and friendly. The rooms were very nice and clean and the bathrooms were much more updated than other inns that I have been to recently. The breakfasts were wonderful and you even had a choice of what you wanted (which is unusual for bed and breakfasts). My only issue was the location. It was a little bit further from town and I wouldn't feel comfortable walking into town. But, the price was right for Newport and I am sure a location closer to town would be much more expensive. I would definitely recommend this inn!

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
2  Thank KarpediemTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed a couple of nights at the Beech Tree Inn in August, it was very pleasant because of the place (very clean and cozy), the great breakfast (French toast with cinnamon is awesome!) and the friendliness of the Inn keeper.
The Inn is located a 15/20 minutes walk from the center of Newport, so you may prefer go by car, but remember there is no free parking in Newport. Nevertheless, we enjoyed staying a bit off the center, it was very peaceful at night.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alessandra_G73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The owners are former military and solicit TDY/TAD business. The room was clean and very quiet. Jim understands the military starts at an early hour and makes breakfast to accommodate. It is an easy drive to the Navy base and the Inn has off-street parking.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kabulbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We've stayed in quite a few B&B's in Newport. While this one was clean and nice enough, there are so many in town that are sooo much nicer. IMHO, it's not on the right side of town. Although we were certainly close enough to walk to the waterfront, I didn't get the "safe" feeling in the neighborhood, so we drove everywhere. James, our host, couldn't have been nicer. Breakfast was delicious. I just didn't like the area...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moreenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Our recent stay at the Beech Tree Inn in Newport RI was absolutely fantastic!

Jeff and Jim, members of the family who run the Inn, go out of their way to insure the Inn's atmosphere is extremely warm and comfortable. They really make you feel welcome.

Our suite was located on the second floor and included a master bath/jacuzzi, sitting room, master bedroom, and private deck. The suite was spotless and very nicely decorated. We also appreciated having HDTVs in each room and the wireless internet connectivity.

The Inn is also extremely pet friendly. They pamper your pet by providing a pet welcome kit and other amenities. We think our dog enjoyed her stay at the Beech Tree as much as we did.

The daily breakfast was outstanding and easily spoils you. We enjoyed our breakfast each morning on the outdoor patio where our dog was even able to join us.

Another advantage to staying at the Beech Tree Inn is it's location. It is within easy walking distance of the Cliff Walk, the Mansions, Broadway Ave, and Thames St.

We enjoyed our stay so much that we are already planning a return visit in the Fall.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank murawcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

The people and accomodations were wonderful. Have stayed at other B&B's and never had such a selection of breakfast food, all made to your specifications. All theNewport sites were wiithin a 15 minute walk. I will recommend this Inn to all my friends and will return myself in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tillie047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,034 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
669 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
1.0 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Tree Inn and Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Tree Inn and Cottage

Address: 34 Rhode Island Ave, Newport, RI 02840-2609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: £138 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beech Tree Inn and Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beech Tree Inn & Cottage offers bright rooms with Private Bath, Flat screen cable TV, Air-conditioning, Free Wi-Fi, Free parking, and a Big Breakfast, hot-off-the-grill. Walk to town center. Located in quiet historic neighborhood. Family & pet friendly by arrangement. AAA 3-diamond rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Beech Tree Inn and Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Tree Inn And Cottage Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing