We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Ranked #3 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice.”
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We stayed the first weekend in December. While I thought the room was a bit pricey, it was the best price I could find! WOW is Newport expensive!! We stayed in a king room on the second floor. Bed, two chairs, dresser, TV, two end tables, and an electronic fireplace. The bathroom was nice with a jacuzzi tub. Breakfast was good. You get a choice- eggs, pancakes, omelet, French toast. The coffee was excellent! The walk to town was quick, about 10 minutes.
Overall it was a really nice B&B.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bexroadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    52
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
33
237
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Even we reserved online and show up less than 15 minutes later we were received by the friendly face of Jeff, who gave us a master suite with a fire place, a terrace and a jacuzzi. The free breakfast is huge and delicious. The rooms are clean, the whole house is beautiful and well maintained. It is located in a quiet street, just a five minutes walk to the shops and restaurants in Newport. The bathroom is well fitted with quality products. It is a much rewarding experience than a chain hotel.

Room Tip: A nice New England experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank omar s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012 via mobile

very comfortable beds with nice cotton linens. super clean. very accommodating staff. we upgraded to a suite in the cottage. both rooms we stayed in were great. excellent homemade breakfast included in the price. can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotbikini1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This place was amazing and I highly recommend it! I went with my boyfriend and small dog this past weekend, we were in Newport for my college roommate's wedding. I'm so happy we decided to stay here. It was our first time staying at a bed & breakfast and hopefully our first of many stays here! Our room, a deluxe king, was beautiful. We had a balcony overlooking one of the gorgeous beech trees in the front yard, a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom-in addition to a large shower, a gas fireplace, and lovely furnishings. The daily breakfast was delicious and offered many selections cooked to order. Eggs, omelets, pancakes, famous french toast, fruit, pastries, coffee & tea...mmm!! The best part of this inn though was the staff that went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. The innkeeper, Jim, was so kind to us and our dog, who has bad separation anxiety. He went out of his way to ensure our dog was happy while we were out at the wedding. He is a true dog lover and an amazingly kindhearted soul. We will return just to see his friendly face again! Thank you so much Jim and all the friendly staff at the Beech Tree Inn for making our stay perfect. You guys are great and we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shan263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on our New England road trip. The Inn itself is very pretty, we stayed on the 2nd floor which was a bit of a hike upstairs with 2 heavy bags but worth it. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was well fitted out with everything you would expect. There is also a kitchen for use of all guests with a hob and microwave plus large fridge freezer, great if you bring back leftovers from the huge restaurant meals. The Innkeeper is very helpful and informative and kept the conversation flowing between guests at breakfast which is included in the room rate and delicious. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjb0st0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful time in Newport and spent 3 nights at the Beech Tree Inn. The Inn was charming, spotlessly clean and very comfortable and the enormous breakfast was delicious. The innkeeper was congenial and offered many insider tips on where to go and restaurants to try. The location was close to everything we wanted to see. The mid-week prices were a bargain and we hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Beech Tree Inn and Cottage was wonderful! Three couples ventured to Newport for a weekend among friends. We had three great rooms in the Cottage. The innkeepers were warm, friendly, and more than accommodating. Our rooms were tastefully decorated, immaculate, with all amenities (thick towels, hairdryer, nice soaps and shampoos, Kleenex, good light for reading, very comfortable beds, etc). Irena made a delicious omelet – others ate the French toast and blueberry pancakes with oohs and aahs. They set up a fabulous three hour tour of the city with Tammy and Sam (a native) to give us a taste of the Colonial and Gilded ages in Newport. They also gave us great suggestions for in-depth touring for the following two days. The location of the Inn is ideal – in a quiet neighborhood, but within walking distance to restaurants, pubs, and many shops.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
1,920 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.7 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#7 of 21 in Newport
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#5 of 95 in Newport
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Tree Inn and Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Tree Inn and Cottage

Property: Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Address: 34 Rhode Island Ave, Newport, RI 02840-2609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beech Tree Inn and Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beech Tree Inn & Cottage offers bright rooms with Private Bath, Flat screen cable TV, Air-conditioning, Free Wi-Fi, Free parking, and a Big Breakfast, hot-off-the-grill. Walk to town center. Located in quiet historic neighborhood. Family & pet friendly by arrangement. AAA 3-diamond rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Beech Tree Inn and Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Tree Inn And Cottage Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing