We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Ranked #3 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place for a Wedding”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We took over the entire bed and breakfast for my daughter's wedding and it was a huge success. We scoured the city looking for someplace to accommodate 15 couples and stumbled upon the Beech Tree by accident. You have to see these rooms to see how meticulously well they are decorated and maintained. Our host Jeff (the owner) could not have been nicer. The breakfast each morning was excellant. The location is very good, walking distance to the warfs (downtown) and First beach. I would highly recommend holding an event here, or just getting a room for your stay.

Room Tip: Suite 203 was incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    60
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
43
277
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This was our first time staying at the Beech Tree and we loved it! Our room was in the Cottage. We had a fireplace and jacuzzi tub. The room had just been renovated and was beautiful. Jeff (the owner) is very friendly and we were made to feel very welcome. Property is in great condition, very well maintained. The breakfast was just ok though. We thought the eggs needed a little more flavor to them. The overall set up of the dining room and variety of food/ beverages is good. We will definately stay there again. Great location for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Sorry there is no pool, my mistake. Cottage rooms are quiet and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a great 2 night stay at the Beech Tree Inn. The location is great! Right near the Wharfs and the Mansions, yet on a nice quiet street. Our room was in the Cottage building behind the main Inn. The room was a bit dated, but still comfortable and the jacuzzi tub was nice! The main Inn building is nicely decorated and the hosts are very nice. The best part hands down was the breakfast! Cooked to order hot breakfast along with the continental fair. The home fried potatos were sooo good! Really a great time, just wish the room was a bit more in style. 4.5 stars really.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CTRob64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wood Ridge, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Beech Tree Inn. I was very happy with the accommodations both times. Breakfast is very good, the rooms are clean, the innkeepers are friendly and there is off street parking. We stayed in a room with a fireplace (wasn't cold enough out to use it though!) and jacuzzi, which was great! Had some trouble getting a good wi-fi connection, but other than that, no complaints at all. It's not smack in the center of shops/restaurants like some B&Bs but its a nice 5-10 minute walk, I would say the perfect distance to be quiet but not too far from what you want to get to. Love it here, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanklin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We were welcomed to the inn, and straight away helped, with our plans for eating out and visits for our stay. The room was excellent with everything we needed.Breakfast was really nice and all you could ask for.It is the little things, that make an inn like the Beech tree, different from the ordinary. Not near the harbour, bit of a walk, but there are good restaurants close by, just down the road.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I stayed here while I had guest in my home in Newport. I unfortunately came down with a stomach bug while visiting. The owners were so nice and offered to help me in any way and even offered to walk my dog. The amenities were great and the staff were all very nice. I recommend this place to all of my friends who come to visit.

Room Tip: I had the 1st floor dog friendly room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We were in newport for a wedding and was looking for a place to stay that we could bring our 4 legged friend with. Beech Tree Inn delivered and then some. A great little B&B only 10 minute walk from town. Breakfast was great, fairly large selection and tasty at that. B&B has its own parking lot out back and we had no issues finding a spot.

Our room was quaint but perfect for our needs, with a balcony and attached bathroom. Shower was a bit on the small side, but it got the job done. And the room felt cozy and comfortable.

Best part, as mentioned, was that we could bring our puppy with us. A small 11 lb poodle mix, they had no issues with her exploring the common areas (when food was not being served). They welcomed her with a pet package including an extra towel, sheet, and list of "dog friendly places" in Newport. She is a pretty good dog, but we had no issues leaving her in our room while we went out and partook in the weekend's wedding festivities.

I thank Jim and everyone for their hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seabec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,992 reviews
0.7 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#8 of 21 in Newport
568 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Tree Inn and Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Tree Inn and Cottage

Property: Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Address: 34 Rhode Island Ave, Newport, RI 02840-2609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beech Tree Inn and Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beech Tree Inn & Cottage offers bright rooms with Private Bath, Flat screen cable TV, Air-conditioning, Free Wi-Fi, Free parking, and a Big Breakfast, hot-off-the-grill. Walk to town center. Located in quiet historic neighborhood. Family & pet friendly by arrangement. AAA 3-diamond rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Beech Tree Inn and Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Tree Inn And Cottage Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing