We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality and Breakfast was Above and Beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Ranked #3 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hospitality and Breakfast was Above and Beyond”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Jim made our stay really welcomed with our pups. We had a wonderful time, and the breakfast choices were great.
Our room was right by the front door which made it convenient with the pups, yet we did not hear people come or go.

The room was nice and"homey" and the pups had a little welcome bag:)
I would definitely recommend it to anyone with or without pets.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank santannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    54
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
40
265
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mattituck, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

From Jim's friendly greeting through all the charming friendliness of Cindy, Jeff and the staff, we felt warmly welcome and "at home" at Beech Tree Inn. Our room was clean and comfortable, with décor appropriate for the renovated Newport building, and the scrumptious breakfasts offered large choices of combinations in generous portions. The only small blemish on our room's perfection was low water pressure in the shower - which Jeff was to check and rectify ASAP after we checked out. (I didn't mention it until that last day, as it wasn't a major issue.)

Room Tip: Couples with a dog can request the Queen Bed room adjacent to the front door for easy access to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We took over the entire bed and breakfast for my daughter's wedding and it was a huge success. We scoured the city looking for someplace to accommodate 15 couples and stumbled upon the Beech Tree by accident. You have to see these rooms to see how meticulously well they are decorated and maintained. Our host Jeff (the owner) could not have been nicer. The breakfast each morning was excellant. The location is very good, walking distance to the warfs (downtown) and First beach. I would highly recommend holding an event here, or just getting a room for your stay.

Room Tip: Suite 203 was incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This was our first time staying at the Beech Tree and we loved it! Our room was in the Cottage. We had a fireplace and jacuzzi tub. The room had just been renovated and was beautiful. Jeff (the owner) is very friendly and we were made to feel very welcome. Property is in great condition, very well maintained. The breakfast was just ok though. We thought the eggs needed a little more flavor to them. The overall set up of the dining room and variety of food/ beverages is good. We will definately stay there again. Great location for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Sorry there is no pool, my mistake. Cottage rooms are quiet and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a great 2 night stay at the Beech Tree Inn. The location is great! Right near the Wharfs and the Mansions, yet on a nice quiet street. Our room was in the Cottage building behind the main Inn. The room was a bit dated, but still comfortable and the jacuzzi tub was nice! The main Inn building is nicely decorated and the hosts are very nice. The best part hands down was the breakfast! Cooked to order hot breakfast along with the continental fair. The home fried potatos were sooo good! Really a great time, just wish the room was a bit more in style. 4.5 stars really.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CTRob64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wood Ridge, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Beech Tree Inn. I was very happy with the accommodations both times. Breakfast is very good, the rooms are clean, the innkeepers are friendly and there is off street parking. We stayed in a room with a fireplace (wasn't cold enough out to use it though!) and jacuzzi, which was great! Had some trouble getting a good wi-fi connection, but other than that, no complaints at all. It's not smack in the center of shops/restaurants like some B&Bs but its a nice 5-10 minute walk, I would say the perfect distance to be quiet but not too far from what you want to get to. Love it here, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanklin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We were welcomed to the inn, and straight away helped, with our plans for eating out and visits for our stay. The room was excellent with everything we needed.Breakfast was really nice and all you could ask for.It is the little things, that make an inn like the Beech tree, different from the ordinary. Not near the harbour, bit of a walk, but there are good restaurants close by, just down the road.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.7 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#8 of 21 in Newport
564 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Tree Inn and Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Tree Inn and Cottage

Property: Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Address: 34 Rhode Island Ave, Newport, RI 02840-2609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beech Tree Inn and Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beech Tree Inn & Cottage offers bright rooms with Private Bath, Flat screen cable TV, Air-conditioning, Free Wi-Fi, Free parking, and a Big Breakfast, hot-off-the-grill. Walk to town center. Located in quiet historic neighborhood. Family & pet friendly by arrangement. AAA 3-diamond rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Beech Tree Inn and Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Tree Inn And Cottage Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing