We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay, Best Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Ranked #3 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NY metro area
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay, Best Value!”
Reviewed 20 September 2008

My husband, three children, and I stayed at the Beech Tree for a Newport getaway in July. What a perfect B & B experience! Our suite held us nicely. My husband and I had the master bedroom, our 14 year old daughter had the small twin bed room off the master, and the boys (ages 12 and 10) stayed in the day bed with trundle in the living room. We had a large sunken whirlpool tub in the room that everyone took turns during the stay soaking in, what fun. The owners and staff were lovely, the breakfast delicious, and the inn located conveniently to town, sites and the beach. We don't come to Newport frequently, but we've already recommended this place to another family and are happy to suggest it to others. When we make it back to Newport, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — We appreciated the value for the beautiful, clean room, great breakfast and friendly staff.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bethblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    54
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
40
263
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
danbury, ct
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2008

We decided to go to Newport last minute and was lucky enough to get a room at the Beech Tree Inn. Our Boston Terrier, was a welcomed guest. Our room was on the first floor, queen sized bed. The room was clean and comfortable with a private bathroom. Breakfast was very good and check in/out was very easy. We have been to Newport many times. This Inn is not luxury but felt very homey and comfortable. We would recommend it and stay again in a heartbeat. The Inn is a little trip the downtown area, it would have taken probably 15-20 minutes to walk but being that I am pregnant we drove.

  • Liked — Pet friendly, good breakfast, quiet
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nendy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mass
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2008

Very nice hosts, decent & large breakfast. Ton's of pets, and we brought our own dog who was welcomed. Large off-street parking lot.
We stayed on the third floor. Large room, very comfortable, but a little kitchy. It is a hike up steep staircase, so bring a couple of smaller bags rather than a big one! Large sitting area on third floor w/ktichen made it feel like a suite. Would go back.

  • Liked — Pet friendly, location
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveGMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2007

We stayed for two nights just before Christmas 2007. When we originally called to make our reservation the owner, who was extremely nice, said that he would put us in the main house but when we arrived it was a different story. We requested a room with a King Bed, Jacuzzi Tub and Fireplace. He put us in the Cottage next door on the second floor. He said that there was a large family arriving on Monday. So, I think that was his explanation for not putting us in the main house without coming out and saying it. There were only two other people in the whole place in addition to us. Anyway, the room was clean but small. The fireplace was a nice touch and kept the room warm. The jacuzzi tub was only big enough for one person and the bathroom was small. The jacuzzi was right in the bedroom - outside the bathroom.

In summary, the things we found to be negatives were:

- Ceiling paint was peeling over the jacuzzi
- The outside door to the cottage was not able to be locked - anyone off the street could walk right in
- The hot water turned cold on several occasions in the shower and jacuzzi
- The room was small and we had to open our luggage on the bed
- The bed was very uncomfortable along with the pillows
- There was no closet in the room, only a metal clothes hanger that was attached to the wall with hangers you could not remove
- Our omelettes for breakfeast consisted of a large amount of egg but very little sausage and potato sides.
- The bread they had out for toast was a bit stale

The positives of this place were:

- Convenience to downtown Newport and Middletown
- The owner and family were very nice and hospitable
- Very large off-street parking area
- The main house was well maintained inside and out
- Fireplace

Although this was not the worst experience we have ever had, we would not go back there again. Perhaps if we had stayed in the main house, the experience would have been above average.
We will never know!

  • Liked — Location - very convenient to everything in Newport and Middletown
  • Disliked — The bed and pillows - very difficult to sleep
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newington, Ct
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2007

We stayed at the Beech Tree Inn for two nights in December as a home base from which to visit the mansions (which were beautifully decorated for the holidays!) and had a wonderful experience. The Inn itself is wonderfully kept – very clean and tastefully decorated…the nautical theme is particularly appropriate for Newport. Check-in process was quick and painless and we were shown up to our room within minutes. Room itself was nice – there was a private balcony which would have been wonderful in the summer but not so useful when covered in snow – and the bathroom was clean and sufficient. Overall, it was a great stay, we’ll go back and I’d recommend it to friends.

Highlights:
- Delicious breakfast cooked to order and we determined the time
- Kitchen with coffee/tea/snacks available any time
- Very quiet and peaceful….we didn’t hear a peep from any of the other guests!
- Allowed dogs – huge plus for us
- Although it probably isn’t walking distance, the Inn is very close to the downtown area and less than a 5 minute drive from the mansions – extremely convenient
- On our last night there was a slight hail/snow storm with quite a bit of icing…you can imagine our delight when we went out to pack the car and found it completely cleaned off and ready to go! You certainly wouldn’t find that wonderful kindness at a hotel!

  • Liked — The wonderful service and kindness of the owner
  • Disliked — A bit pricey for off-season
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cttraveler108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2007

We read some good reviews about this place, with some visitors simply gushing over how homely it was and how at home they felt.

We found it almost deserted, other than a young european girl signing us in, saying sign here for the visa card and giving us a key. Nothing friendly or homely about it, in fact I found the young staff (two youngs kids, probably students) not at all friendly and a bit sulky. In fact in the room, they ask for donations towards the salary of the impoverished students they employ (very strange).

Rooms were fine, clean, tidy but there is a book on the bed which is basically like a list from a Sgt Major (my husband is military and found these hilarious!) saying things like if you break you pay for it, don't do this, don't do that, some guests use candles blah blah blah. Again a strange document to produce to your guests on their arrival!

Anyway, it was ok, never met or saw the owners, just the two students. Wouldn't go back again, though Rhode Island is great.

Sorry to be negative, it's a shame, I think the students let the place down.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank M0glie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2007

A lovely property....our room was clean and fresh, the bathroom large and updated, with a huge jacuzzi. Reasonably priced, even at the height of the summer season. A delicious breakfast is served daily. The proprietors are friendly and accommodating, but not obtrusive. I would recommend highly!

  • Liked — The size and cleanliness of our room.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJPHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.7 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#8 of 21 in Newport
563 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Tree Inn and Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Tree Inn and Cottage

Property: Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Address: 34 Rhode Island Ave, Newport, RI 02840-2609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beech Tree Inn and Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beech Tree Inn & Cottage offers bright rooms with Private Bath, Flat screen cable TV, Air-conditioning, Free Wi-Fi, Free parking, and a Big Breakfast, hot-off-the-grill. Walk to town center. Located in quiet historic neighborhood. Family & pet friendly by arrangement. AAA 3-diamond rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Beech Tree Inn and Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Tree Inn And Cottage Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing