We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Visit to Newport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Ranked #3 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

After doing extensive research for a hotel in Newport and finding that the prices were way to high for a short weekend trip, I came across the Beech Tree Inn and Cottage on Trip Advisor. The reviews as well as the price convinced me to book a room here. I was not disappointed!

I spent a lovely weekend with my daughter in Newport and couldn't have asked for a nicer place to lay our weary heads after our long drive from PA. We stayed in room 302 at the Inn. The room was large with a king sized bed, tastefully decorated and pleasantly spotless. The 3rd floor has a common area with a refrigerator, sofa, microwave, coffee maker and stovetop. There is also a large balcony which has a private entrance from room 302 as well as an entrance from the common area that overlooked the back of the property. There is free parking in the back of the property as well as a set of back stairs into the inn.

The Inn is located on a private residential street and is within walking distance (15-20 mins) to many restaurants and shops located on Bowen's Wharf, Brick Marketplace and Thames Street. The mansions were no more than a 2-3 mile drive. We enjoyed our short stay and would highly recommend the Beech Tree Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank choomc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked our babymoon here for April. One month before going we realize we have to bring our dog. We called to explain than and the gentleman on the phone said no problem and that he would even waive the pet fee as it was our babymoon. We go,have a nice time, nice room, pet friendly. The breakfast was not that good. Venture out unless you want french toast. We get home and get the credit card bill and the pet fee was charged, my husband calls and a woman states they do not waive the fee, even after we explain the gentleman told us differently.

So, nice room but I do not like that they did not stick to their word and will not be returning.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Annie1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beechtreeinn73, daughter at Beech Tree Inn and Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Gosh, sorry for the disorganization about your babymoon. We'll be glad to refund the $25. We're surprised that you didn't like breakfast - everybody seems to enjoy it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Couldn't have asked for more from our one-night stay at the Beech Tree Inn and Cottage. We arrived late and all our check-in information and keys were provided, hassle-free. The room and bed were both ridiculously comfortable, and the jacuzzi in the bathroom was a welcome surprise. The breakfast in the morning was freshly made, delicious and very hearty. The owners were also very welcoming and friendly. All in all, we would wholeheartedly recommend this place and will certainly be staying there again on a return trip to Newport.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Garethgoh18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

This B&B is amazing. The owners are very kind, welcoming and friendly. The room was gorgeous, very clean and big. We even had a fireplace! The location is great and convenient for major attractions and town centre.
Definitely recommended!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank aurelieUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Inn was wonderful. We had a jacuzzi and fireplace in our suite. Very clean and I love the chic decor, which is so different from typical bed and breakfasts. The breakfast was wonderful. Will definitely be back!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank ninad99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Inn was beautifully decorated and very clean. Hosts were wonderful and very accommodating to our needs.Full hot breakfast was to die for. Our room on third floor included an oversized jacuzzi tub and fireplace. This floor also had a spotless kitchen and lounge area with access to a full outside deck great for enjoying a glass of wine or some evening star gazing. The on-site guest parking was extremely convenient and the walk into town was about 15-20 mins. Overall a Great place for anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jemerella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The owners of the hotel were really nice people. It seemed like the kind of place where you would feel welcome engaging with other guests and the owners (and their dog, of course) if you wanted to, and just as easily spend a private weekend to yourself. We had a jacuzzi/fireplace room on the top floor of the cottage, and it was great. The multiple showerheads, little balcony by the outdoor stairs, and off-street parking were nice too. The area is residential, about a 15 minute walk to the waterfront, but there are cabs easily accessible and a great handful of bars and restaurants nearby on Broadway too. The Fifth Element is particularly cool.

Room Tip: If you're looking for privacy, the Cottage is its own building and was far more of a separate ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdm18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
2,057 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#8 of 21 in Newport
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
684 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Tree Inn and Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Tree Inn and Cottage

Address: 34 Rhode Island Ave, Newport, RI 02840-2609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: £134 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beech Tree Inn and Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beech Tree Inn & Cottage offers bright rooms with Private Bath, Flat screen cable TV, Air-conditioning, Free Wi-Fi, Free parking, and a Big Breakfast, hot-off-the-grill. Walk to town center. Located in quiet historic neighborhood. Family & pet friendly by arrangement. AAA 3-diamond rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Beech Tree Inn and Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Tree Inn And Cottage Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing