We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Newport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Ranked #3 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2010

You can not go wrong with staying here. Called to let them know we would be arriving late and the keys were by the front door.The room we had was clean with a king bed that was comfortable. The innkeeper makes everyone welcome. You will feel very at home. His breakfast is a pretty good selection that will not disappiont your appetite. Plus the friendly atmosphere in talking with your fellow guests. You can walk to the center of town but it is easier to drive since there is plenty of parking. Anyway try it you'll like it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hgoldfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beechtreeinn73, Daughter at Beech Tree Inn and Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

Thanks for the wonderful words about the Beech Tree Inn. We try to be welcoming and friendly while providing the right balance of service and amenities. People are always telling us how clean the Inn is - I'm glad folks notice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2010

We were at the Beech Tree Inn the first weekend of October. We had previously visited 5 years ago and loved this B&B. Our second trip was no different. We stayed in the large suite on the first floor on both our visits. Our room had a large bed, fireplace, ample room to spread out, 2 person jetted tub, 2 person shower. Very quiet, even though the Inn seemed full this past weekend. Love their breakfast. The French Toast is to die for. Inn keepers are very knowledgeable and offer great advice of where to go, what to do. Ample off street parking in a nice quiet area. I think their prices were fantastic for the area. I am sure there are places more posh and offer more amenities in the area. But we love this place and will continue to make repeat visits during our time in Newport. No complaints whatsoever on either of our stays at the Beech Tree Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LKNnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beechtreeinn73, Daughter at Beech Tree Inn and Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

We sure do appreciate your return trip to the Beech Tree! We have alot of repeat guests....and some folks come every year. It's great fun and Newport has so many things to do, it takes numerous visits to see everything. Thanks for the kind words and we'll see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Although more affordable than some of the other B&Bs in the area, the Beech Tree Inn lacked several of the finer touches we've experienced in other B&Bs.
- Now we're foodie types, so breakfast certainly left something to be desired. The "amazing" french toast was simply thick bread...
- The room was simply decorated, and bordered on sparse. It didn't have a hotel feel by any means, but it lacked the character and thought that we've seen put into other B&B decorating schemes.
- The staff thought it best to conserve energy by turning off our (not so quiet) window air conditioner during the day. Of course, this means we came back from a long day in town to a hot room.
- On the plus side, the staff was certianly knowledgeable of the area and local attractions, although be advised that their concerns about walking footwear may be a little unfounded.

Overall, we had a good time in Newport, but when returning we'll probably seek out someplace else to stay,

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JWright727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beechtreeinn73, Daughter at Beech Tree Inn and Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

Sounds like we weren't a perfect fit for you. Thanks for giving us a try and we appreciate your feedback.

(And as an aside, over the years we've tried offering fancier more gourmet breakfast items. Folks always seemed to stick with the home-cooked, old standbys so we returned to breakfast basics.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We got a room at the very last minute and it was lovely (the one shown here with pink walls and canopy.) The inn keeper was a doll, the breakfast was delicious (try the awesome french toast), and the room was incredibly clean as was the rest of the inn. This is not an overly cluttered or precious place. Simple, tasteful decor in a well-kept, charming house. Quiet street, not in the center of things but close enough. Great deal for the $$, and a place I would most definitely stay in again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bevvy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beechtreeinn73, Daughter at Beech Tree Inn and Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

Thank you, thank you, thank you for the lovely review. You described the Beech Tree Inn exactly the way I see it - simple, clean, comfortable, quiet, good value. I worry that we don't have more "stuff" in the rooms (my Grandma called it "dust collectors" so that must have affected my thinking!), but somehow the simplicity and lack of clutter allows people to feel more free. And it's great that so many people notice how clean everything is!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

I wanted to write a post because I don’t typically stay at Bed and Breakfasts. I tend to be on the “germophobic” side, and usually prefer hotels to Inn’s. My husband surprised me with a weekend away, and booked us a room at the Beech Tree Inn because it was one of the only places we could bring our dogs.

Much to my surprise, I absolutely LOVED the Beech Tree Inn. It was so clean, so charming, quaint and comfortable. The rooms were perfect – we even had our own private balcony, and they were accommodating to our requests. I was a little concerned that due to close quarters you would be able to hear everyone in the hallways, stairwell, etc – but it is absolute the opposite. On top of the fact that the gentlemen who run the Inn could not have been any nicer. My husband and I were joking that we want to have that kind of service at home!

It was about a 10-15 minute walk to downtown, but it was a perfect distance for a lengthy morning stroll. I would absolutely recommend this Inn to anyone traveling to Newport.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brittsilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beechtreeinn73, Daughter at Beech Tree Inn and Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

We're so glad you LOVED the Beech Tree Inn...and sounds like you have a wonderful husband who really knows how to create a perfect surprise! I'm a bit of a "germaphobe" too so am very pleased that we met to your satisfaction. However, I've always had the opposite perception and thought hotels were the dirty places?! Thanks for staying with us and thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

My wife and I visited at the Beech Tree Inn for two nights in mid-July and had a wonderful stay. This was only our second B&B experience and we were very happy. The Inn was clean and cozy and very accessible. Plenty of parking behind the Inn and it was within walking distance of nearly everything we wanted to see. Check-in was a bit low-key as we found our key in the entry hallway and found our own way to our room without seeing anyone. However, the instructions that the innkeeper had prepared gave us more than enough info to start finding our way around town. Breakfasts are a bit formal and quite restaurant-like, but the food was delicious. The innkeeper is a wonderful man and the housekeeping/cooking staff are absolutely fantastic young ladies. Very professional in every way. We had a great time and will definitely stay at the Beech Tree if we return to Newport.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank papercut1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beechtreeinn73, Daughter at Beech Tree Inn and Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

We appreciate the wonderful review of the Beech Tree Inn. It's great that you're newcomers to B&Bs and hope you continue to chose them wherever you go. And thanks for the compliments to our staff - we'll pass along the info. It's fun to work with young people and they keep us on our toes. We like to greet our guests at check-in so we appreciate your understanding on that particular day - my cousins were here from England and we were delivering them to Logan airport for their return flight. Come see us again if you're back in Newport!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

We don't tend to be B&B people, but we wanted to travel with our dog and Beechtree Inn welcomes them. We were very pleased with our choice.

Room: Our room had a firm but comfortable queen-sized bed, small but adequate closet with lots of hangers, bathtub with Jacuzzi jets, and an electric faux fireplace that served as a wonderful nightlight. We had free wireless internet access which was very fast and reliable.

Breakfast: Unlike many B&Bs, we had a choice of breakfasts each morning: eggs (scrambled or sunny side up), pancakes (plain or blueberry), French toast, or omelets (about any kind you could want). Bacon, ham or sausage and home fries were also available. In addition, you could help yourself to breads, yogurt and fresh fruit while you were waiting on your order. The first day we ordered eggs and they weren’t that great. It could have been because the regular cook was off that day. The next day we ordered French toast and it was absolutely fabulous…I stuck with the French toast the remainder of our stay.

Dogs: Beechtree Inn was very dog friendly. At check-in we received a tote full of dog supplies: a few baggies for clean-up, a treat, a doggie towel for wiping of dirty feet, and a sheet to cover furniture if you have a shedding dog. We had taken our dog on two away from home trips previously, but this was the first time we were leaving him alone in the room. The other times we kept him with us. We were a little worried he would cause a commotion. Jim was very kind and told us he would call us if he caused a disturbance and let us talk to him over the phone to calm him down…quite kind of him…luckily not needed. Oakley, the owner’s dog, was a little territorial with our dog, but not big deal.

Location: Beechtree Inn is located in a residential area. It is very quite which is quite nice. Everything was close…mansions…cliff walk…downtown/pier…but just a little too far to walk so we drove.

Kitchen: There is a communal kitchen on the top floor. It is very clean and equipped with a full size refrigerator/freezer, two burners in the countertop, a microwave, dishes, silverware, paper towels, etc. We took advantage of the kitchen and it worked out really well for us. Later in our stay another couple started using the kitchen as well. It was a little awkward at times given they were staying on the top floor with small children and sort of claimed the kitchen area as their own.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RTMus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,160 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#6 of 21 in Newport
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
722 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hydrangea House Inn
Hydrangea House Inn
#4 of 96 in Newport
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Tree Inn and Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Tree Inn and Cottage

Address: 34 Rhode Island Ave, Newport, RI 02840-2609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: £106 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beech Tree Inn and Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beech Tree Inn & Cottage offers bright rooms with Private Bath, Flat screen cable TV, Air-conditioning, Free Wi-Fi, Free parking, and a Big Breakfast, hot-off-the-grill. Walk to town center. Located in quiet historic neighborhood. Family & pet friendly by arrangement. AAA 3-diamond rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Beech Tree Inn and Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Tree Inn And Cottage Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing