We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Modern Boutique Hotel In Convenient Location!”
Review of The Attwater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Attwater
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I recently stayed at The Attwater during my four day vist in Newport Aug 6-9th. I travel frequently, and was impressed with the nice clean modern decor, friendly service, and great location of this property to shopping and restaurants. We stayed in a King Suite on the second floor and our room was very spacious, offering two flat screen TV's, ipad 3 with several apps providing info on Newport, mini fridge, and the bed was extremely comfortable. They also offer a nice seating area on the second floor deck that we enjoyed as we visited with family and friends in Newport. Guests are offered a card at check in that allows you a choice of 3 food items per day. We went to the beach a few days and The Attwater provided us with beach towels, and offered us beach chairs. My advice would be to splurge, and stay in this fantastic modern boutique hotel on your next visit to Newport. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Wow! We could hire you for Guest Services - you describe our amenities and features so well! We truly appreciate your thoughtful and thorough review as well as your strong recommendation. It means a lot when we know we've "hit it on all cylinders" so to speak. Please come visit us again on your next journey north.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

Beautiful chicette hotel 5 minute walk to the heart of Newport. The hotel is spotless and the rooms are very bright and comfortable. There are interior and exterior sitting areas that are perfect for having a drink or reading. The service is definitely the shining star of the Attwater and the cookies.

Can't wait to get back there!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

We love your description of The Attwater as "beautiful chicette" - what a great way to describe a modern, fashionable place. We're honored! We're also flattered that you called our staff's service the "shining star" of your visit. So glad you enjoyed our sleek, comfy lounges -- both indoors and out -- and urge you to come relax in them again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The Attwater is a block away from the main drag, but you feel like you are a resident of the neighborhood. Tucked behind the Newport Art Museum on a single lane road, you are afforded the peacefulness that you would requirei if choosing Newport to live. The owners tend to all of your needs and include a delicious breakfast as part of your stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elimcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Love how you describe our location! Yes, we are close to the main drag, but in a relaxing quiet quiet spot . That's one of the things that drew us to this little slice of Newport. Thank you for your lovely words about our service-oriented staff and yummy breakfasts. Please come visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My husband and I just returned from a short little trip to Newport to celebrate our anniversary. It couldn't have been any better, thanks to Rob( the owner) and his staff. Our room was small but spotless! The bed was so comfy and the homemade chocolate chip cookies were the best! Each morning we had a wonderful assortment of treats to enjoy for breakfast. The surroundings and decor made this bed and breakfast one that you should not miss! We highly recommend The Attwater and will make this "our home away from home" whenever we have the chance to go to Newport again. Now we would like to visit the other Lark Hotels in Nantucket and Kennebunkport too. We have stayed in many B&B's but the ATTWATER by far has been the best.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

It was lovely to have you here to celebrate your anniversary. Rob and the entire team enjoyed making your special day even more special with our killer chocolate chip cookies! We are pleased to hear we've become your destination hotel in Newport and look forward to welcoming you at our other Lark Hotels, as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We had a wonderful experience at the Attwater. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We found the room to be comfortable and loved the decor! This was our first trip to Newport and we would definitely recommend the Attwater! We will be back:)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

It's nice to hear we made your first trip to Newport so enjoyable. We are pleased you had a wonderful experience at The Attwater and loved our decor. We hope to impress you even more on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We booked a standard king which was very small albeit very comfy. The bathroom was smaller than ones on cruise ships;however, what the room lacked the hotel made up for. Our outside hallway led to a lovely patio and the other end of the short hallway led to a beautiful salon. We felt as if we were in a suite. The best part, however( delicious homemade baked goods asisde) was the helpful staff. They made arrangements for us for lunches and dinners snagging a perfect seat at a popular fine dining restaurant and making sure the staff there knew it was our anniversary.

Room Tip: We rated this room lower on value because we paid top dollar during high season for a very small roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed your anniversary visit and took advantage of our staff's insider knowledge and connections! While we do offer a range of room sizes from petite queens to spacious king suites, we're are pleased you enjoyed the added benefit of our patio deck and window seating areas. Along with our spacious lounge and all-day cafe, we hope you were able to stretch out and feel at home. Please come stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Attwater is simply INCREDIBLE for its price! i'm a stickler... travel a lot on business, not too much for pleasure but when i do, very important to feel "pampered." thus, often costs me megabucks, and i dont earn megabucks, i'm a college professor! SO many wonderful touches about Attwater made it great. stayed in a king room, quite fine! coffee, refrig, wonderful high deck where we had a bottle of wine ( no license bring your own, FINE selection one block away). wonderful lounge, great breakfast room. we will definitely be back! 5+ stars, people~

Room Tip: king was excellent. coffee, refrig, quick access to deck, nice breeze (didnt need room's AC).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Thank you, professor! We love hearing the word "incredible." Our staff strives hard to make guests feel pampered. We realize this is your special time away and want you to make the most of it. So glad you enjoyed your time lounging on the deck with your bottle of wine. It really is a special spot under the trees. We are thrilled we made your first visit to Newport memorable and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
711 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
588 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Attwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Attwater

Address: 22 Liberty St, Newport, RI 02840-3221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#9 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £114 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Attwater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in Newport’s nautical history — yet with a bold touch of the unexpected — you’ll experience our most original Newport accommodations in stylish comfort.Discover a more personal lodging alternative to big box hotels — yet with a chic, modern edge elusive to most B&Bs. Find exceptional rooms and amenities; a clever, all-day coffee cafe; the latest tech amenities; and attentive service when you want it (privacy when you don’t).As one of the first hotel properties in Newport, the Attwater is set on a quiet street just a block off Bellevue Avenue in the central historic district. All of Newport’s sights, sounds and tastes — sailing, tennis, night life, restaurants, beaches, history, mansions — are all only a short stroll away. In fact, our newly renovated boutique hotel is merely three blocks from Newport Harbor and an eight-minute walk to First Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Attwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attwater Villa Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing