We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of The Attwater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Attwater
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Attwater. Friendly stuff, delicious pastries, loved the deck. Location is truly perfect, we could walk to most of the restaurant and didn't have to worry about parking. Also very close to Cliff Walk and mansions. Everything was just great, highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyofny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Thanks for the kudos on our website and your kind words about our Newport hotel. We appreciate the recommendation. Also - so glad you didn't let your car towing experience dampen your visit. Please do take advantage of our parking lot on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    93
    18
    7
    8
See reviews for
62
256
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed there Labor Day weekend. Outstanding; clean, huge suite with every technology you could possibly need: two flat screens, iTV and iPad. Great breakfast food. Quiet and private. Good parking available, as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zach270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Our technology amenities are a key part of our brand, and it means a lot to get positive feedback on them! We also love hearing that our baking skills are hitting the mark. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Setauket, New York
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a few days on our honeymoon. This little hotel had a really family feel. Staff was friendly, helpful and remembered you by name. Rooms were really clean and design was refreshing. Loved the iPads they let you used throughout your stay and breakfast was always tasty. I would highly recommend staying here if your in town for a few days.

Room Tip: Recommend getting a room with a Queen or King bed... Petite Queen is a little small for a couple, be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monikita16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
The title of your review says it all! Cozy, stylish and relaxing are three key attributes of our Newport hotel we want guests to experience. We are very proud of the atmosphere we've created at The Attwater -- both in our chic design and in our relaxed, friendly environment. Thanks for noticing and sharing your thoughts with others. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The Attwater offers refreshingly modern decor and amenities. Conveniently located ... we walked everywhere and never had to move our car from their free parking lot. The cafe offers fantastic espresso and cappuccino, as well as nice breakfast / snack choices. The staff is friendly and welcoming. We plan visit the other Lark hotels in Nantucket and Kennebunkport on future adventures.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheriN776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Thank you for choosing The Attwater for your Newport adventure and for your thoughtful review. Please do come visit our Nantucket and Kennebunkport hotels soon. We look forward to helping make those adventures just as pleasant and fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newington, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed here for an overnight in mid June for my wife’s birthday. Afield from tourist traps, but a convenient location (near art museum). Breakfast was simple but sophisticated and delicious (arugula/watermelon salad, scone). Crisp and modern, friendly and steady. This hotel blends nicely into Newport. Refreshing alternative to inns of floral quilts and wallpaper. Interesting common spaces. Beds that might rival Westins “heavenly”. Well done. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Happy to be your alternative to "floral quilts and wallpaper!" Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your stay in June and share your thoughts with others. We also think our beds are heavenly and appreciate your review and recommendations. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn Heights, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Attwater during the summer and fell in love with it. The newly renovated Hotel is both charming and modern in one. Decor is beautiful (we wanted to buy half of the pieces in our room). It was super clean, staff were amazing and the cafe lovely. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your thoughts. Our decor certainly is unique and we are glad it appealed to you so much that you'd love to own it! We also very much appreciate your mention of our amazing staff. Looking forward to your return visit to The Attwater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Attwater for two nights and three days. It was everything we expected and more! The minute we arrived and checked in we met Rob and Taylor. Rob was around at all times and was very helpful with all our questions and inquiries. When we checked in we stepped into the café (where we had breakfast every morning). We were given an Ipad to have throughout the remainder of our stay. On the Ipad there were categories such as See, Eat, Sip, Sail etc. which was very useful in getting to know Newport. Although the Attwater is very quaint and small it does not lack in style. The décor is modern and fresh and every space in this hotel has a unique flair. In terms of the room, before I booked I was afraid that the room would be too small (I booked a Queen room) but the room and bathroom ended up being very spacious. The bathroom is separated from the main room with a sliding door. The room was very clean and everything was laid out efficiently. We were on the second floor and one thing I noticed about this hotel is the various lounging areas. On the second floor towards the front of the building there is a sitting area. At the back side of the building there is an outside seating area. On the first floor you can lounge in what is essentially a business center/ living room and you also have the café where you can read the paper and just hang out. This hotel is close to everything, it is a 3 minute walk to Bellevue Avenue and less than a 10 minute walk down to Thames Street, American’s Cup Avenue and the various Wharfs. My husband and I each got a punch card for breakfast and/or snacks we wanted throughout the day. Breakfast was homemade and delicious. They had yummy treats such as raspberry/ orange muffin, watermelon and feta salad, blueberry scones, bacon and cheddar biscuit and a different type of egg dish would be made each morning. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a modern place to stay with great amenities and close to a lot of what Newport has to offer. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 23.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalontheGo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
We love what you wrote about "Although the Attwater is very quaint and small it does not lack in style. The décor is modern and fresh and every space in this hotel has a unique flair." That is so nice to hear. Our design is a big part of the guest experience, and it means a lot that you appreciated it. Thank you for your detailed review and recommendation. We hope we can impress you even more on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,014 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.2 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
182 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Attwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Attwater

Property: The Attwater
Address: 22 Liberty St, Newport, RI 02840-3221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport
#9 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Attwater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in Newport’s nautical history — yet with a bold touch of the unexpected — you’ll experience our most original Newport accommodations in stylish comfort.Discover a more personal lodging alternative to big box hotels — yet with a chic, modern edge elusive to most B&Bs. Find exceptional rooms and amenities; a clever, all-day coffee cafe; the latest tech amenities; and attentive service when you want it (privacy when you don’t).As one of the first hotel properties in Newport, the Attwater is set on a quiet street just a block off Bellevue Avenue in the central historic district. All of Newport’s sights, sounds and tastes — sailing, tennis, night life, restaurants, beaches, history, mansions — are all only a short stroll away. In fact, our newly renovated boutique hotel is merely three blocks from Newport Harbor and an eight-minute walk to First Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Attwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attwater Villa Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing