We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect anniversary get-away!”
Review of The Attwater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Attwater
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Seekonk, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect anniversary get-away!”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We have been to Newport many times and always find something new we love there. This time it was the Attwater. The up-scale decor drew us in, but other intangibles made it a wonderful stay. The greeting we received upon arrival, the comfort of the room, the lovely array of breakfast chioces, and the friendly inkeeper, Rob, and the "tucked-away-but-convenient location" were all part of a memorable experiece. Oh, we have never been given the option of the use of an Apple tablet before. Very cool way to check out the town's offerings. Newport is a great city made better by this new addition,the Attwater.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
It was a privilege to have you stay with us for your special celebration. We are pleased that our decor drew you in and our services and amenities made your anniversary visit that much more memorable. We hope you come again soon - whether for another occasion or simply a quick getaway to relax and restore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    92
    15
    6
    8
See reviews for
60
251
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sayville, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The Attwater hotel is a great boutique hotel in Newport. We stayed here while going to the Newport Food & Wine Festival which we highly recommend. My wife and I have been to Newport a few times and usually stay at one of the B&Bs. Attwater was a refreshing break from the colonial-style places. We really but walking distance to all. The breakfasts at the Attwater cafe were great. A nice selection of fresh food as well as great choices of egg dishes and scones, all fresh. We consider ourselves good judges of food and Attwater was a nice step above the regular bacon and egg breakfast. We also like that we have our own table at breakfast. The rooms at attwater follow the design of the hotel, modern and clean. We stayed in the petite queen which was roomier than expected. There is still a small fridge and coffee maker as well. This hotel is seems a bit pricey, but its prices are well worth it and on par with other prices in Newport. As far as the staff everyone was great, Rob (name?) the host was always gracious and very easy-going. He really made the stay feel personal. When we go back to Newport, we will definitely stay at the Attwater.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhtrips333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
So nice to hear that you enjoyed the Food & Wine festival! We are thrilled with all of the wonderful foodie events in town and are looking to the upcoming restaurant week in November. We are also quite pleased that our bold modern decor was a nice change for you from the colonial places that dominant Newport. We love living up to our "unconventional" reputation. Rob will be happy to hear that you appreciated his gracious and laid-back service, as well as his breakfast stylings! Please do stay with us again when your travels next temp you to New England.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We spent 3 nights and the Attwater. The hotel is spotless and the decor very modern. Our room was a little on the small side but really comfortable and bedlinen was supersoft!! Cannot fault the hotel in any way - service great , breakfast good and being given given an I-Pad on checkin for use during the stay was a great touch. Have to go and buy one now!! Location is perfect - quiet but very close to everything. Loved Newport and if we go back , would definately stay at the Attwater again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wigwam8415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
We should get a commission from Apple for hooking you on the iPad! Isn't it a great tool for planning things to do while on vacation? Thank you for your nice review and for letting us be your lodging destination in Newport. We look forward to your next visit at The Attwater!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

the Attwater is beautiful, clean and has impeccable service! The hotel is nicely decorated, a short walk to town and the manager Rob helped us with every request we had. the beach bags and chairs were a nice touch. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJC2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
We look forward to your return visit. Thanks a million for your recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbertville, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2012

My husband and I spent a night at the Attwater for a quick weekend getaway. We were impressed with the cleanliness and beautiful decor. Our room was beautiful and the bedding was incredibly soft and comfortable. The staff/owners were very friendly and helpful. The cafe served delicious breakfast pasteries. The Attwater is a perfect walking distance to local attractions. We would stay here again in a heartbeat and would recommend it to anyone. Loved it!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Thank you for choosing The Attwater for your quick getaway weekend. We are so glad you visited and took advantage of all our boutique hotel has to offer. We appreciate your kind words about our staff, baking skills and lovely decor. Please stay with us again the next time your travels take you to Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We had a relaxing 3 night stay at The Attwater. I chose this hotel because it had great reviews on all of the travel sites I checked and the modern design on the website looked so nice! The ipad & apple tv was great and the breakfast was delicious! The room (king suite) was gorgeous and loved all the furniture and decor (I actually want to find out where they purchased the curtains in the main living room!). Since we were a party of 3, we used the sofa bed and it was comfortable (very high end furniture). Loved the cute black & white tiles in the bathroom, but maybe could need some improvement. Location was excellent (only a 5 minute walk from the main street of restaurants & shopping) and I liked the fact it had a private feeling. It was also close to the cliff walk (Rob at the front desk provided us a beach bag with towels and water so we can bring it to the beach). Overall, we had a wonderful experience with a warm staff and superb service. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
It's great to hear some feedback on our comfy sofa beds! Thank you for your kind words on our location, design and service and your thoughtful, detailed review. Our drapes were custom-made for us through our interior designer, Rachel Reider. Aren't they wonderful?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I chose the Attwater based solely on their sharp website and was very pleased. My girlfriend and I stayed for 3 nights and had a great experience. The room (king suite) was great, the breakfast was ample and delicious, and the staff were helpful and welcoming.

The hotel is well situated a short walk from Bellevue Ave, the waterfront, good restaurants, etc.

They will give you a parking pass for their specific parking area and if you park there you won't get towed (like I did - totally my fault not the hotel's).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winklertr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thanks for the props on our website! So glad you had a great stay despite being towed. Next time, please do take advantage of our free guest parking area. We greatly appreciate your nice comments and recommendation to others. Please make Newport a regular getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.2 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Attwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Attwater

Property: The Attwater
Address: 22 Liberty St, Newport, RI 02840-3221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport
#9 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Attwater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in Newport’s nautical history — yet with a bold touch of the unexpected — you’ll experience our most original Newport accommodations in stylish comfort.Discover a more personal lodging alternative to big box hotels — yet with a chic, modern edge elusive to most B&Bs. Find exceptional rooms and amenities; a clever, all-day coffee cafe; the latest tech amenities; and attentive service when you want it (privacy when you don’t).As one of the first hotel properties in Newport, the Attwater is set on a quiet street just a block off Bellevue Avenue in the central historic district. All of Newport’s sights, sounds and tastes — sailing, tennis, night life, restaurants, beaches, history, mansions — are all only a short stroll away. In fact, our newly renovated boutique hotel is merely three blocks from Newport Harbor and an eight-minute walk to First Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Attwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attwater Villa Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing