We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay @ this cozy hotel.”
Review of The Attwater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Attwater
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Just completing a very in pace weekend at the Attwater. The space is modern cozy and the staff is incredibly friendly. We loved that it is tucked back away from the touristy main drag of Newport. That said, everything is walkable. A morning run along Bellevue and the Cliff Walk was a perfect pre-breakfast (delicious!) treat.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kortni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2013

As others reviewed, this is a great small hotel with beautiful and nicely equipped rooms. We stayed in 2 rooms; 2 adults and 1 kid at a king suite and 1 adult and 1 kid at a petite queen. The room size was just good for our family. They warmly welcomed us and served excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Takatoshi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

This place is absolutely wonderful. Super clean, super modern (even give you an ipad filled with things to do around town at check in). The room was small but still perfect. It's a little bit farther away from downtown than some other places, but still within walking distance. My girlfriend and I stayed at the cleveland inn the next night and lets just say I would of paid 3 times as much to be back in the attwater (see my review). Breakfast was absolutely delicious. I will recommend this hotel to everyone I know going to Newport.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjantaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Thank you so much for visiting The Attwater and for telling your friends and family about us. We are glad we made your stay so enjoyable and look forward to the next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We decided to visit Newport for a quick overnight. The town was quiet and the weather was great - we did not make reservations but had seen The Attwater on-line and decided to stop in. We were greeted warmly and given a suite on the top floor. It had a spacious living space, a small refrigerator and coffee maker and then a larger sleeping area. The decor is fabulous - chic, modern, minimalist with hints of color. I loved the black and white tiled bath area and I especially appreciated the separate sink area. Linens are top notch and the King bed was very comfy. The ipod dock is a nice added touch as was the gas fireplace - we both have iPads so we did not use the one they loan you. The Attwater is close to town, the marina and the historic district - great location and off the main streets. We could hear people through our bathroom vent but nothing to distracting to our stay. The breakfast in the AM was an added bonus - we shared quiche and a ham/cheese scone like pastry along with fresh melon. The hosts are pleasant and thoughtful. A great place to rest - the sitting space on the first floor was bright and festive and a wonderful place to hang out if you did not want to stay in your room. I especially love the hardwood floors and the bowls on the wall as you walk up the stairs. A great stay!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor which was nice and had a nice corner room. It was a suite but with the sitt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Thank you so much for your review. So are so glad you had a great time in one of our King Suites. Aren't the bowls in the hallway cool? Our interior designer, Rachel Reider, really has an eye for details like that. Sounds like you had a nice, relaxing time in our comfy beds and savored our complimentary breakfast in the morning. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My husband and I came for one night. It was restaurant week in Newport, so there was a complimentary bottle of prosecco and a package of Lark Fine Food Cookies (the salted rosemary ones.) in honor of the week. The ipod dock allowed for relaxing music to play any time we were in our room. The iPad they provide has links to their favorite restaurants, as well as the ones that were doing restaurant week. its a quiet inn and a quiet town. great location with easy walks to about anywhere. Staff were friendly. they have their own parking lot. Lots of good restaurants nearby. Only down side...hearing the water rushing as the room above us flushed their toilet. or the door outside our room slammed when our neighbor was going out.

Room Tip: 2nd floor could hear upstairs toilet flushing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StGergin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I just visited for my fiance's birthday and generally speaking it was a lovely stay. The decor is modern and chic and very clean. My only hesitation is the noise.. There were families with teens/ youths and due to the large gap between floor and door, you could hear everything in the hallway. The windows are also not blackout curtains so the sunlight may wake you up if you are sensitive to it. The breakfast was wonderful but try to get there before 930 as they start putting everything away. They also don't advertise any mid day snacks but the day we checked out I saw a plate of cookies on the counter. Not sure if they were for sale or being offered for free. :)

Note: a cab from Thames street kitchen to the Attwater was $8. a taxi from Kingston station to Attwater takes 30 mins and is about $50-60. A walk to the Elms was about 12 mins away... The Breakers is further and marble house is the furthest. Highly recommend renting a moped and driving on the scenic route of the mansion tours.

Room Tip: Choose second floor if you don't want to climb many steps. The third floor had access to outdoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingbug95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Brian and Jennifer were efficient. We were there just after St. Patty's weekend. It is snug at a corner of a one-way street. The furniture is so contemporary, chic, and artsy. We were mostly on our own, peaceful, and private. The weather wasn't agreeable but we did our cliff walk, shopping, and resting. It is not for elderly who can't do stairs. Be prepared to do stairs if you have more than a luggage. We don't see the limited parking spaces for more than 10 rooms occupancy.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank asianinct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
716 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.3 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Attwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Attwater

Address: 22 Liberty St, Newport, RI 02840-3221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#9 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £113 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Attwater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in Newport’s nautical history — yet with a bold touch of the unexpected — you’ll experience our most original Newport accommodations in stylish comfort.Discover a more personal lodging alternative to big box hotels — yet with a chic, modern edge elusive to most B&Bs. Find exceptional rooms and amenities; a clever, all-day coffee cafe; the latest tech amenities; and attentive service when you want it (privacy when you don’t).As one of the first hotel properties in Newport, the Attwater is set on a quiet street just a block off Bellevue Avenue in the central historic district. All of Newport’s sights, sounds and tastes — sailing, tennis, night life, restaurants, beaches, history, mansions — are all only a short stroll away. In fact, our newly renovated boutique hotel is merely three blocks from Newport Harbor and an eight-minute walk to First Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Attwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attwater Villa Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing