We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of The Attwater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Attwater
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

i was very impressed with the ambience, service and location. The room even had a fire place which created a cozy atmosphere . I plan to come again during the boat show and I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New Port Rhode island.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarkan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate the recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again when you come up for the boat show.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had a very pleasant experience at the Attwater -- the property is lovely and well-maintained, and while it's not on the "main drag," it is centrally located and easy to get to (we drove up from New York). Our room was beautiful -- we particularly liked the luxurious sheets on the bed and the complimentary iPad -- and when we told the manager that there was a funny smell in our room, he immediately upgraded us. We also enjoyed the complimentary breakfast (served until 11am, which is a rarity), which included a selection of coffee and teas, freshly baked quiche, and muffins.

A couple of very minor nits -- it would have been helpful if the managers had let us know at check in when we had to check out. We were told the morning of our departure and felt a bit rushed. The complimentary afternoon pastry service was also a bit inconsistent and didn't live up to the photos posted on the hotel's website. Again, though, these were very minor issues that did not affect our stay.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel, particularly for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkNyc85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for your review of our Newport boutique hotel. We appreciate your thoughts and we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to impress you even more the next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Spent two nights at the Attwater and can only fault the breakfast which was not quite as described on their website. They only put out small quantities and were not very quick at topping up so, on several occasions, we had to ask for missing items. Being a bit more proactive would solve the problem.

The modern design is great but for some elements the style is less than practical and some of the furniture is just uncomfortable.

Our suite was clean and nicely decorated. However, finding a sheet of paper hanging over the bathroom window instead of the blind was a disappointment when you consider the attention paid to the rest of the furnishings. The bathroom window was also very loose and rattled in the wind, I had to pack it with cardboard to stop the noise.

Perhaps the owners have concentrated too much on the style and furnishings and not considered some of the more basic requirements and practicalities of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your frank thoughts. Our homemade bakery items and fruits sometimes are kept under wraps in back to ensure freshness, and we apologize if they were not offered to you in a timely manner. You'll be happy to hear that after a very busy season, the bathrooms are undergoing renovations in January. We hope you'll join us again to see the new look.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I recently spent one night at The Attwater with my girlfriend. We're a couple of young students, and this was great value for the price of a small room. The lounge is very welcoming and nice to come back to at night; iPad makes you feel special even if it's not *so* useful; bed was very comfortable and good size; walls/floors a little thin, perhaps; nice, if teeny, bathroom; deck on the second floor looked perfect if one were traveling in warmer weather! The location is great in that it's set back from commotion, but near enough to walk anywhere you'd want to eat or shop or drink; there's plenty of parking; surrounding properties are not picturesque, and you might look longingly at the more "old-timey" inns nearby, but The Attwater itself is nice enough to make up for the scenery. Breakfast was self-serve and therefore more limited, but very yummy--delicious baked eggs, yogurt, scones... Would definitely stay here again, or at another Lark Hotel.

Room Tip: I might ask for a room at the front of the hotel, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColeT-91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate your thoughtful words and the insights you provide to other travelers. We are pleased that the cafe-style breakfast hit the mark for you, as well as our welcoming lounge and designer style. We hope to see you back again at The Attwater, or at one of our our other Lark Hotels in New England.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The attwater is well situated just a few minutes walk from the sea and the coastal path. There is parking outside and the managers meg and brad were both friendly. The rooms are of a good size and being given an iPad to use during the stay is a nice touch. The bed was extremely comfortable and the overall look of the place is very modern and of a high standard.

The main problem with the hotel is that the floors are very thin and I would recommend asking for a top floor room. We could hear talking when the people were in their room above us and what made it worse was their child that ran up and down the room on the wooden floor. My girlfriend was woken by this during our stay. The only downside to being on the top floor is that there is no lift so getting your cases up two sets of steps will not be easy if they are heavy. No help was offered.

The only other gripes were the tile that was missing in the bathroom and the other that was leant up against the wall, but not actually stuck on; the poor quality of the hair dryer ( it was one of the ones that is attached to the wall); and the strange shape of the bathroom which was not big enough for a suite room.

All in all the attwater is more of a apartment style place than a b&b, as the breakfast is really just some fruit and a pastry. We did however, love the modern feel of the place and it was great to see new exciting b&b places out there. The staff were friendly and check in and check out was good. My recommendation would be to have a policy on children to allow guests below to sleep better.

Room Tip: If you want a quiets night sleep and don't mind lugging your luggage up two floors, go for a top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for your review and thoughts. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, the service of our staff and The Attwater's modern decor -- despite the few problems. We apologize for the noise you experienced. It is our policy to place families on the second floor, and we are so sorry that this was overlooked during your stay. And, you'll be happy to hear that after a very busy summer with some wear and tear, the bathrooms are undergoing renovations in January. We hope you'll consider staying at The Attwater again if your travels bring you back across the pond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My wife and I had a great time in Newport. Our stay at the Attwater was very nice. Room is tight but it was fine since we did not spend a lot of time there. Brad was great in welcoming us and getting us set up. Parking was a breeze across the street. Great location that allowed us to walk to all the shops, restaurants and bars. Would highly recommend this for couples. Breakfast was wonderful. Warm scones and fruit each morning.

Room Tip: Our room was on third floor. No elevator. It was fine for us. Just a heads up for others before you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wharkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

We appreciate your 5-star review for our welcoming staff, warm scones and central location. It means a lot that you recommend The Attwater to other couples for a looking for a unique getaway to Newport. Please visit us again the next time you travel East.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This small hotel was located in a wonderful location for all the things we wished to do including an after dinner stroll to walk off the amazing food to be had in Newport.
Bed was VERY comfortable and lay out and design of the place was exactly as the photos show but the bathrooms were tiny and I'm so "over" shower curtains in bathtubs! after the type of re-furb that was done I would have expected more in that area!
Breakfast was rather basic but on the whole a nice little place with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AHunton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your comfy bed and the decor at The Attwater, as well as our quiet location so near all the activities of town. You'll be happy to hear that the bathrooms are undergoing renovations in January. We hope you'll join us again to see the new look.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
715 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
589 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Attwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Attwater

Address: 22 Liberty St, Newport, RI 02840-3221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#9 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £115 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Attwater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in Newport’s nautical history — yet with a bold touch of the unexpected — you’ll experience our most original Newport accommodations in stylish comfort.Discover a more personal lodging alternative to big box hotels — yet with a chic, modern edge elusive to most B&Bs. Find exceptional rooms and amenities; a clever, all-day coffee cafe; the latest tech amenities; and attentive service when you want it (privacy when you don’t).As one of the first hotel properties in Newport, the Attwater is set on a quiet street just a block off Bellevue Avenue in the central historic district. All of Newport’s sights, sounds and tastes — sailing, tennis, night life, restaurants, beaches, history, mansions — are all only a short stroll away. In fact, our newly renovated boutique hotel is merely three blocks from Newport Harbor and an eight-minute walk to First Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Attwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attwater Villa Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing