We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”
Review of The Attwater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Attwater
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Talk about a jewel box, this hotel is one of the prettiest hotels we've ever stayed in. From the moment you walk through the doors you just start to smile. You feel like you're walking into a beautiful home and not a hotel. Check-in is in the cafe where they have coffee, tea and homemade pastries waiting for you. Meg who is an absolute delight answered any questions we had and gave us an iPad to use during our stay. It's already programmed with local restaurant and their menus, the different sites to see around Newport and other useful information. Our room was very bright, cheerful, beautifully decorated and very clean. This is one hotel I can't wait to go back to again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skifan_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
We're blushing! It's a great compliment to be called the "one of the prettiest hotels" you've stayed in. Thank you so much for your review and thoughts about our afternoon pastries, welcoming service and useful iPads. We love it when guests use our high-tech amenities. Please do come back and stay with us again the next time you need a getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    92
    17
    6
    8
See reviews for
61
252
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My new favorite place! We had an amazing night at the Attwater and highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Newport. It is an absolutely gorgeous property, from the moment you pull up to it you will be impressed. Emma was so kind as we checked in. While we were waiting to get our room key we devoured the homemade chocolate chip cookies in the spread they have out for guests. As we walked to our room we were getting excited because we knew it would be beautiful based on the decor leading up to it. Once we entered the room we didn't want to leave. I want to replicate this look for my home bedroom. So tastefully decorated. Way to go attwater! Seriously loved it, can you tell? The bed was so comfortable and big we did not want to get out of it in the morning. The in-room Keurig allowed me to lounge an extra hour or two in bed :) The shower head is one of those rain showers, oh my god it was fantastic. The complimentary soaps and shampoos were some of the best smelling and quality I've used in a hotel. I would have totally stolen them off the maids cart, but I didn't ;) the location is fantastic we walked right to dinner and then out to the bars. If it weren't a cool November evening we would have sat on the back patio at some point and enjoyed the wine we brought, that too was gorgeous. Next summer we will be back to experience that. Brad and Meg the managers were so sweet and accommodating, they truly made our stay more enjoyable.The breakfast they served was perfect for what you need in the morning. I'm still thinking about the baked eggs! I can not give one reason as to why you should not book this place! Do it! Seriously, a job well
done at the Attwater!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justinelea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and, even more, your enthusiasm! We are so pleased that you had a great experience at The Attwater and we look forward to your return. Sounds like you enjoyed the Lather bath products and our homemade afternoon pastries quite a bit, as well as the wonderful service of our onsite managers, Brad and Meg. Our Interior Designer, Rachel Reider, will be pleased to hear that the design of our Newport boutique hotel resonated so much with you. She's working with us on our expansion into the property next door. I think you'll love the look of those rooms, as well. Hope to see you back in Newport soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Our stay at the Attwater was just what we needed.

It was beautifully decorated and conveniently located. Our room was spacious and beautiful.

Things to note:
- complementary ipads when you check in (nice touch)
- baked goods for breakfast (take advantage)
- beautiful common areas
- big outdoor deck (it was too cold for us to enjoy it, but it was furnished and would be a great place to hang out)
- friendly owners
- bathrooms are a little on the small side; stall shower might not be the most comfortable for all guests

We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleshoeprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your recommendation and specific thoughts. You'll be pleased to know that our bathrooms will be renovated this winter. Come back and see us again next spring or summer when you can take advantage of our back deck. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

i was very impressed with the ambience, service and location. The room even had a fire place which created a cozy atmosphere . I plan to come again during the boat show and I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New Port Rhode island.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarkan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate the recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again when you come up for the boat show.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had a very pleasant experience at the Attwater -- the property is lovely and well-maintained, and while it's not on the "main drag," it is centrally located and easy to get to (we drove up from New York). Our room was beautiful -- we particularly liked the luxurious sheets on the bed and the complimentary iPad -- and when we told the manager that there was a funny smell in our room, he immediately upgraded us. We also enjoyed the complimentary breakfast (served until 11am, which is a rarity), which included a selection of coffee and teas, freshly baked quiche, and muffins.

A couple of very minor nits -- it would have been helpful if the managers had let us know at check in when we had to check out. We were told the morning of our departure and felt a bit rushed. The complimentary afternoon pastry service was also a bit inconsistent and didn't live up to the photos posted on the hotel's website. Again, though, these were very minor issues that did not affect our stay.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel, particularly for the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkNyc85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for your review of our Newport boutique hotel. We appreciate your thoughts and we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to impress you even more the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
267 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Spent two nights at the Attwater and can only fault the breakfast which was not quite as described on their website. They only put out small quantities and were not very quick at topping up so, on several occasions, we had to ask for missing items. Being a bit more proactive would solve the problem.

The modern design is great but for some elements the style is less than practical and some of the furniture is just uncomfortable.

Our suite was clean and nicely decorated. However, finding a sheet of paper hanging over the bathroom window instead of the blind was a disappointment when you consider the attention paid to the rest of the furnishings. The bathroom window was also very loose and rattled in the wind, I had to pack it with cardboard to stop the noise.

Perhaps the owners have concentrated too much on the style and furnishings and not considered some of the more basic requirements and practicalities of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your frank thoughts. Our homemade bakery items and fruits sometimes are kept under wraps in back to ensure freshness, and we apologize if they were not offered to you in a timely manner. You'll be happy to hear that after a very busy season, the bathrooms are undergoing renovations in January. We hope you'll join us again to see the new look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I recently spent one night at The Attwater with my girlfriend. We're a couple of young students, and this was great value for the price of a small room. The lounge is very welcoming and nice to come back to at night; iPad makes you feel special even if it's not *so* useful; bed was very comfortable and good size; walls/floors a little thin, perhaps; nice, if teeny, bathroom; deck on the second floor looked perfect if one were traveling in warmer weather! The location is great in that it's set back from commotion, but near enough to walk anywhere you'd want to eat or shop or drink; there's plenty of parking; surrounding properties are not picturesque, and you might look longingly at the more "old-timey" inns nearby, but The Attwater itself is nice enough to make up for the scenery. Breakfast was self-serve and therefore more limited, but very yummy--delicious baked eggs, yogurt, scones... Would definitely stay here again, or at another Lark Hotel.

Room Tip: I might ask for a room at the front of the hotel, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColeT-91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate your thoughtful words and the insights you provide to other travelers. We are pleased that the cafe-style breakfast hit the mark for you, as well as our welcoming lounge and designer style. We hope to see you back again at The Attwater, or at one of our our other Lark Hotels in New England.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.2 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Attwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Attwater

Property: The Attwater
Address: 22 Liberty St, Newport, RI 02840-3221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport
#9 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Attwater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in Newport’s nautical history — yet with a bold touch of the unexpected — you’ll experience our most original Newport accommodations in stylish comfort.Discover a more personal lodging alternative to big box hotels — yet with a chic, modern edge elusive to most B&Bs. Find exceptional rooms and amenities; a clever, all-day coffee cafe; the latest tech amenities; and attentive service when you want it (privacy when you don’t).As one of the first hotel properties in Newport, the Attwater is set on a quiet street just a block off Bellevue Avenue in the central historic district. All of Newport’s sights, sounds and tastes — sailing, tennis, night life, restaurants, beaches, history, mansions — are all only a short stroll away. In fact, our newly renovated boutique hotel is merely three blocks from Newport Harbor and an eight-minute walk to First Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Attwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attwater Villa Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing