We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Attwater
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Viking(Newport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Gilded(Newport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grace Vanderbilt(Newport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (432)
Filter reviews
432 results
Traveller rating
300
98
19
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
98
19
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsking suiteboutique hotelapple tvsconessmall platesoatsart museumlovely boutiqueno elevatormy husband and ithe main hoteltop floorloved this hotelshort walkoutdoor deckthird floorwould definitely stay here again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 432 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I chose The Attwater for a last-minute, long-weekend mini-break with family based on its glowing Trip Advisor ratings, and it certainly did not disappoint. Don't let a somewhat underwhelming exterior fool you. Once thru the doors of this totally transformed former beer haus (check out the landing when you walk in), this boutique hotel's bright & hip furnishings simply scream 'relax and enjoy'! Brad (the perfect host) warmly welcomed us and carried all of our luggage up 2 flights to the top floor -- which was so, so quiet! We had nabbed the last room (a King Suite), perfect for 3 adults with a separate bedroom & sitting room w/sleeper sofa and gas fireplace. The lovely scent of fresh baking greeted us every morning - breakfast was delicious coffee, fresh fruit, and the yummiest scones (the pumpkin were completely other-wordly) and afternoon (amazing cookies). The location was ideal -- we completely avoided the craziness of Oktoberfest and the cruise boat crowds, enjoying quick access to Cliff Walk and Spring Street shopping (but not to worry, the Cooke House is easily walkable as well). Can't recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HollyGoesLightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

The Attwater has had many lives (beer haus included!) and we think we've finally landed on the right one! What a wonderful way to describe the experience of walking through our door. We are so pleased that you had such a lovely time and that the spaciousness of our suites and the beauty of our bold, chic decor made such an impression on you. Brad and Meg certainly are great hosts (and bakers, as you pointed out), and it means a lot to us that you enjoyed their hospitality so much. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My wife and I loved the Attwater. Extremely clean through and through and the breakfast was a delight. For a quaint hotel they have superb technology available, each guest is given an iPad to use during their stay which is extremely helpful for planning day trips, dinners, etc. Definitely a great place and a great location for visiting all of the local sights. The piers and restaurants are a short walk away and the mansion tours are less than a five minute drive.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

We are so glad that you loved The Attwater. It was a pleasure to have you visit and we are pleased that you enjoyed our high-tech amenities, delightful breakfast and our central Newport RI location. We hope to see you back here again soon to experience our expansion. Look for our new suites opening in May 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I have stayed at the Attwater just for one night but have very much enjoyed my stay. The hotel is nice and modern, and very well located. There's plenty of parking space and most of the attractions and restaurnats are just a short walk away. Complementary ipads at the check-in are also a nice touch.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael_M_Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind words about our modern style and amenities, and are so pleased that you enjoyed our central location to top Newport attractions and dining options. We hope that you'll be able to stay a bit longer next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Talk about a jewel box, this hotel is one of the prettiest hotels we've ever stayed in. From the moment you walk through the doors you just start to smile. You feel like you're walking into a beautiful home and not a hotel. Check-in is in the cafe where they have coffee, tea and homemade pastries waiting for you. Meg who is an absolute delight answered any questions we had and gave us an iPad to use during our stay. It's already programmed with local restaurant and their menus, the different sites to see around Newport and other useful information. Our room was very bright, cheerful, beautifully decorated and very clean. This is one hotel I can't wait to go back to again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skifan_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

We're blushing! It's a great compliment to be called the "one of the prettiest hotels" you've stayed in. Thank you so much for your review and thoughts about our afternoon pastries, welcoming service and useful iPads. We love it when guests use our high-tech amenities. Please do come back and stay with us again the next time you need a getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My new favorite place! We had an amazing night at the Attwater and highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Newport. It is an absolutely gorgeous property, from the moment you pull up to it you will be impressed. Emma was so kind as we checked in. While we were waiting to get our room key we devoured the homemade chocolate chip cookies in the spread they have out for guests. As we walked to our room we were getting excited because we knew it would be beautiful based on the decor leading up to it. Once we entered the room we didn't want to leave. I want to replicate this look for my home bedroom. So tastefully decorated. Way to go attwater! Seriously loved it, can you tell? The bed was so comfortable and big we did not want to get out of it in the morning. The in-room Keurig allowed me to lounge an extra hour or two in bed :) The shower head is one of those rain showers, oh my god it was fantastic. The complimentary soaps and shampoos were some of the best smelling and quality I've used in a hotel. I would have totally stolen them off the maids cart, but I didn't ;) the location is fantastic we walked right to dinner and then out to the bars. If it weren't a cool November evening we would have sat on the back patio at some point and enjoyed the wine we brought, that too was gorgeous. Next summer we will be back to experience that. Brad and Meg the managers were so sweet and accommodating, they truly made our stay more enjoyable.The breakfast they served was perfect for what you need in the morning. I'm still thinking about the baked eggs! I can not give one reason as to why you should not book this place! Do it! Seriously, a job well
done at the Attwater!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justinelea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words and, even more, your enthusiasm! We are so pleased that you had a great experience at The Attwater and we look forward to your return. Sounds like you enjoyed the Lather bath products and our homemade afternoon pastries quite a bit, as well as the wonderful service of our onsite managers, Brad and Meg. Our Interior Designer, Rachel Reider, will be pleased to hear that the design of our Newport boutique hotel resonated so much with you. She's working with us on our expansion into the property next door. I think you'll love the look of those rooms, as well. Hope to see you back in Newport soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews