We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and friendly”
Review of The Attwater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Attwater
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Elgin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique and friendly”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here earlier this week and thought it was a lovely place. Normally stay in large chain hotels, so was relying on the other reviews to be accurate as this is anything but a large chain hotel. On arrival it looks like a residential home in a very quiet street just off the main road in Newport. However, as soon as you enter you are struck by it's quiet sophistication. The decor is very modern, there is quiet but modern music playing in the background and you are greeted with a huge smile from Megan behind the desk. Nothing is too much trouble for her and she is a great face for the hotel. The rooms are lovely (though no lift so disabled guests would need to be on the ground floor I suspect), with modern yet classy decor and really comfy beds. You are given an iPad filled with local attractions to help you find out what to do, where to eat etc, and you really do feel well looked after. Breakfast is a highlight...home cooked by Megan, with banana and peanut butter scones, still warm, muffins, egg dishes etc etc and as much coffee/tea etc. as you want. I would DEFINITELY recommend this place to anyone staying in Newport, and for the price it really is a steal!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We are so pleased that you felt so welcomed at our boutique Newport hotel and that you were immediately struck by its quiet sophistication. We love to hear that! Sounds like the peanut butter and banana scones were a hit with you as well as our modern, classy decor and the friendly service of our wonderful manager, Megan. We look forward to seeing you in Newport RI again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    93
    17
    6
    8
See reviews for
61
253
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Camden, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We were scheduled to come to the Attwater on our honeymoon but a pet medical emergency happened (it had a happy ending), and Shawn and Megan worked with us so that we could come the following week, and then gave us an upgrade to a King room. Shawn gave us a very warm welcome and we felt cared for and spoiled throughout our short stay. Our room was lovely and light filled, and a great place to return to after long walks around chilly Newport and the Cliff Walk. Super comfortable bed

We own an inn in Maine and told Shawn we are are stealing their idea of elegant, fruit-filled espresso cups at breakfast. Megan made wonderful scones and an egg and cheese dish that we couldn't resist. Great stay. We hated to leave.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Katja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
We love to hear when folks hate to leave! We also take it as a great compliment when a hospitality person decides to imitate something we do. We're so glad you enjoyed the comfortable bed and the service of Megan and Shawn. Please come visit our Newport RI hotel again the next time you can get away from your inn in Maine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Fantastic! I have stayed at other Lark properties in the past and they are all great but the Atwater is my favorite so far. I loved that there is a sitting area on each floor. The rooms were spotless with every amentity needed as usual. Breakfast was delicious and a perfect way to end a relaxing girls night away. I just wish that Lark changed their cancellation property. Life happens and only being able to cancel 14 days ahead of a reservation is difficult for those that can't afford to lose money.

Room Tip: Room 33 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunscreen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
We are so pleased that you loved The Attwater and that you find all Lark Hotels properties to be great. If you are a fan, you should join our "On a Lark" club and enjoy all those benefits. We appreciate your loyalty and hope to see you again at our Newport hotel or at another Lark property soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Let me start out by saying that I've never been to Newport and could only find out information via the internet, which is usually not the best idea. I found this hotel and noticed the smaller size which I was attracted to, along with the huge price difference between here and any hotel with similar reviews in the area.
So I booked the Queen room for my girlfriend's birthday, made the trip down, and was greeted by incredibly helpful and pleasant staff. They had asked what the occasion was for our visit, and I pointed to my girlfriend and exclaimed "Birthday plans!" The worker smiled and said happy birthday, we continued to check in, and later went out for dinner.
Upon coming back, we enjoyed the lounge and all of the comfortable couches and chairs that it offered, along with the soundtrack playing throughout the common rooms. The same woman from earlier came into the room and told us that she had made (yes, handmade!) cookies for the birthday celebrations, and offered us milk to take to our room for the cookies. They were absolutely delicious.
The following morning consisted of a wonderful breakfast (complimentary, but nothing ordinary by any means), and we continued to experience this level of service throughout our visit.
I would highly, highly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of going to Newport. Great location, amazing staff, the whole package!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
We are so happy that we could supply the "whole package" -- service, location, amenities and price -- for your girlfriend's birthday getaway. Thank you for your recommendation and review. It means a lot to know that we made your special occasion a getaway to remember. Please visit our Newport boutique hotel again the next time you have something to celebrate -- or just need time away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southington, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Nice little boutique hotel. Very helpful staff, offered in helping making reservations and things to do. As I've read in previous reviews, small but very clean bathroom, wall's are a little thin. Great little breakfast the next morning, not your usual eggs! Quiet area off the beaten path, not far from everything to do. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed our Newport boutique hotel and that you found our wonderful staff so helpful. Our Lark Hotels motto is "amenities you desire, service you'll remember" and it sounds like our cafe style breakfast and onsite team made an impression on you. We look forward to your next visit to Newport and The Attwater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Nicely decorated, clean, homey hotel with an incredibly nice staff that makes you feel so welcome. The breakfast they serve is delicious too. I loved this little gem in Newport, and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraceTraveler97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
We are so pleased that you found your "little gem" in Newport at The Attwater. Thank you for our kind words on our decor, delicious breakfasts, and, most of all, our team's service. Please do visit us again the next time your travels bring you to Rhode Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel decor was fun. Our room was very comfortable and the managers were super friendly and helpful. The iPad was a nice touch and we used it to choose a restaurant. The baked goods and juices at breakfast were delicious. Can't wait to return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thanks for your recommendation and review. We are so pleased that you found our Newport hotel's decor to be fun and our breakfast's delicious! We hope you do return again soon and try our new rooms opening in May!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,993 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.2 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
177 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Attwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Attwater

Property: The Attwater
Address: 22 Liberty St, Newport, RI 02840-3221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport
#9 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Attwater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in Newport’s nautical history — yet with a bold touch of the unexpected — you’ll experience our most original Newport accommodations in stylish comfort.Discover a more personal lodging alternative to big box hotels — yet with a chic, modern edge elusive to most B&Bs. Find exceptional rooms and amenities; a clever, all-day coffee cafe; the latest tech amenities; and attentive service when you want it (privacy when you don’t).As one of the first hotel properties in Newport, the Attwater is set on a quiet street just a block off Bellevue Avenue in the central historic district. All of Newport’s sights, sounds and tastes — sailing, tennis, night life, restaurants, beaches, history, mansions — are all only a short stroll away. In fact, our newly renovated boutique hotel is merely three blocks from Newport Harbor and an eight-minute walk to First Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Attwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attwater Villa Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing