We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”
Review of The Attwater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Attwater
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We selected this hotel based on trip advisor reviews. We are glad that we did. The hotel is in a great location, one block from Bellevue Avenue (mansions), and a few blocks from Thames St. shopping/restaurants as well as Bowens and Bannisters wharf, the visitor center and the historic section of Newport. Everything is in walking distance, however the hotel is in a very quiet, residential location.
We arrived early and were able to check in immediately. We were greeted by Brad, the manager. He and his fiancée, Meghan are the managers. They live on site and are available 24 hours for any needs.
The hotel is immaculate. It's very well decorated with a modern, colorful look. It smells great when you enter as Meghan bakes on premises. There is music playing softly in the background.
Our room was a junior king suite on the 3rd floor. We had plenty of space, a living area with a separate bedroom. All amenities are provided, including a refrigerator, robes, keurig coffe maker with cream/sugars, corkscrew, alarm clock/I-pod docking station, iron, hairdryer, water bottles, glasses and coffee cups, and toiletries that smell wonderful. Housekeeping is provided every day. We had plenty of towels and housekeeper refreshed our glasses/coffee cups daily. We are late sleepers and had the "do not disturb" sign on our door while we slept in. When we returned to our room in the evening, our room was cleaned and perfect. Sleeping in is not an issue with the housekeeping staff!
The water pressure is perfect, and there is a rain type shower head which feels great after a long day. We had no problems with water temperature either. The bed was amazingly comfortable and we slept like babies! In spite of what some other reviewers have stated, we did not hear any noise that disturbed us at all.
The hotel staff provides amazing customer service. We received a welcome e-mail prior to our arrival stating that we could contact them in advance if we had questions or needed help with dinner reservations, etc. On arrival you are provided with a courtesy I-pad in which they have programmed several icons containing useful information such as restaurant recommendations, things to do, etc. We were provided a key to our room as well as a key to the main door which they lock at 9pm for security purposes. We felt very safe and secure here. The hotel is in a very nice location, is very well lit inside and out, and door is locked at 9pm. We also had no problem parking. The hotel has a private lot for parking and there was plenty of parking on the street directly in front of the hotel as well.
Overall, I feel this is a 5 star facility. The managers are wonderful....friendly, informative, welcoming and non intrusive. Check in and out was a breeze, parking was convenient, room was immaculate, all amenities were provided. I-pad was a great touch. Welcome e-mail and thank you email were both very impressive.
We did not eat in the hotel, but based on the look of the food, the smell, and the amount of people enjoying the home cooked goodies, I would recommend it to anyone.
I highly recommend this hotel and I will definitely stay here again. I will also try other Lark hotels in the future based on our experience in the Attwater.
To the owners, managers and housekeepers...keep doing what you're doing. The prices are very reasonable and the hotel is wonderful!! Don't change a thing!! We will be back and we will recommend your hotel to our friends and family!! Thank you!
Michele B., New Jersey

Room Tip: 3rd floor was great. Very quiet. No elevator so must be able to walk up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meshallrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Well, the title of your review certainly says it all! Thank you so much. We appreciate your detailed thoughts and many compliments. We strive to make a stay at any Lark Hotel a relaxing and special experience and it seems like your visit to The Attwater fired on all cylinders. Brad and Meg and their crew do a great job, and we are proud of our Newport hotel's designer decor and many amenities. On your next visit you'll want to grab breakfast. Meg is a marvelous baker! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

The couple that run the place are very nice and helpful. They even have iPads loaded up with all the web sites for local restaurants in town. The place looks very new as well. We had a room on the top floor. Very spacious and a good nights sleep

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattfromMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thanks for your review. W'ere pleased that you enjoyed the iPads, spacious and spotless rooms, and most of all the service of Brad and Meg. Please visit us again the next time your travels bring you from Oz to New England.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I reserved the lark suite for my fiancé and her maid of honor the night before our Newport wedding and it turned out to be an excellent choice. The room was easily accessible, spotless, and gorgeous - a perfect backdrop for bride pictures, etc. I stayed with her on the second night so I was able to experience everything firsthand and was really impressed with the room. It exceeded my expectations.

A couple things to note: Don't expect beautiful views from the windows in this room but the space itself is fantastic.

The location of the property is not exactly the most exciting or scenic but close to everything.

Room Tip: The lark suite is large and beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tweak48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your review and recommendation of our 670-square foot Lark Suite. We're so pleased that it was a stylish and spacious place for your new wife to get ready and relax before your wedding and for the both of you to enjoy on your wedding night! Please return for a visit for your anniversary or for a getaway any time. All the best to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We visit Newport often and have stayed at many fine inns and hotels but the Attwater was quite a pleasant surprise. The hotel was tucked away but close to all that Newport has to offer. The service was simply a joy. Brad and Meghan made us feel quite at home. We booked a King Suite and it was spacious and felt much like a European boutique hotel. The bed was incredibly comfortable, the décor bright and pleasant, the accommodations spacious and amenities with a thoughtful touch. The room was immaculate. We're looking forward to making this our regular overnight favorite place to stay for relaxation and a bit of true warmth and hospitality. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

We are so pleased that we could pleasantly surprise you at The Attwater! We appreciate your kind words about our team's hospitality and about the spacious comfort of our king suites. It means a lot to hear you say that we've become a regular overnight favorite for your hard-earned getaways! We strive to be a special, relaxing destination for folks to escape to. It's so lovely to hear when we've successfully hit that mark. We look forward to your next stay at our boutique Newport hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Though off the beaten path, this cute boutique b&b/hotel has everything you could ask for: attentive service, good location to main attractions without the hubbub (. 5 mile walk to Thames), and great amenities (apple tv's and rentable iPad to boot) and room layout. Love the modern look built into the quirky old school Newport mansion layout. Perfect stay for the yuppies!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank shivaswrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

What a great description of our location -- "good location to main attractions without the hubbub." Thank you for recommending The Attwater for a boutique hotel stay in Newport. We're so pleased you loved our historic building's modern decor and high-tech amenities. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I've stayed at a few places in Newport and by far, this is the best.

The Attwater is a small property and borders more on a very big B&B than a hotel but it ticks all boxes. Incredibly central, one street back from Bellevue Avenue (Mansion Row), sleek, incredibly stylish interiors, clean and fantastic service.

Great breakfast included in the room rate and the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly.

It would be great to see more places like this!

My only negative comment is that being an old building, the walls are not incredibly soundproof so if you're a light sleeper, take ear plugs just to be on the safe side.

Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydneygirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

The best in Newport? We'll take it! Thank you for your thoughtful review. We greatly appreciate your kind words on our sleek, stylish interiors, great breakfasts and helpful staff. Please visit us again the next time your travels bring you to Newport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Immaculate, charming, contemporary small hotel. Staff was unobstrusive and always helpful and friendly. Breakfasts were amazing -- carefully and skillfully prepared and delicious. Would love to return to this relaxing, comfy and well-located hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BonnieJ718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your recommendation. We think think "immaculate, charming, contemporary hotel" describes us to a "T." It means a lot that you found our staff both helpful and unobtrusive -- that is what we strive for -- and that you loved our breakfast, decor and location. Please come back a stay at our boutique Newport hotel again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
2,057 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
609 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Attwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Attwater

Address: 22 Liberty St, Newport, RI 02840-3221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport
#9 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £125 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Attwater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in Newport’s nautical history — yet with a bold touch of the unexpected — you’ll experience our most original Newport accommodations in stylish comfort.Discover a more personal lodging alternative to big box hotels — yet with a chic, modern edge elusive to most B&Bs. Find exceptional rooms and amenities; a clever, all-day coffee cafe; the latest tech amenities; and attentive service when you want it (privacy when you don’t).As one of the first hotel properties in Newport, the Attwater is set on a quiet street just a block off Bellevue Avenue in the central historic district. All of Newport’s sights, sounds and tastes — sailing, tennis, night life, restaurants, beaches, history, mansions — are all only a short stroll away. In fact, our newly renovated boutique hotel is merely three blocks from Newport Harbor and an eight-minute walk to First Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Attwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attwater Villa Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing