We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip meets Historic”
Review of The Attwater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Attwater
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Loved this hotel! A historic home, originally built in 1910, converted to a hip boutique hotel. The room were well appointed, comfortable and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was yummy; the home baked good were amazing, best scones I've ever had. I would definitely stay here again!! Oh and the location was excellent, we walked everywhere!!

Room Tip: There are no elevators so if you don't like stairs ask for a lower floor. We were on the top/3r...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

"Hip meets historic" is a great description of our Newport boutique hotel. We love embracing the historic bones and local history of our hotels -- but in unique, unexpected and modern ways. So glad you noticed. We are pleased that you enjoyed our location, service and breakfast. Just ask and we'll give you a scone recipe! Please visit us again the next time you venture east.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
There are newer reviews for The Attwater
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here spur of the moment using the hotels tonight app and we can't wait to go back!!! The peanut butter cookies we came into were awesome... the room was amazing!!! The shower was fantastic..
Little deck perfect for the wine we bought next door... best smelling bath products!!! Waking distance to Thames street!! If you use the hotels tonight app and stay here you can save $25 by using code DDIGREGORIO1

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Youotterloveme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Peanut butter cookies are just one of our many great afternoon snacks. Our sea salt brownies get raves, too! You'll have to come back and try them. Thank you for your review and kind words regarding our "awesome" rooms, sweet-scented lather bath products and great location. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The Attwater is located off Bellevue Avenue in Newport just behind the Newport Art Museum (make sure you stop in for a visit to this wonderful small museum). My room was in what is called the Urban Beach House. It is located right next to the main building. As the name implies, it is located in an urban setting yet decorated in a very beachy theme. The room, #1, the smallest in the hotel and is QUITE small. However, it was very pleasant, clean, quiet and worked fine for my overnight stay. Might be a bit tight for a couple on an extended visit.

The main hotel space has a nice, contemporary lounge and breakfast area. I had to leave before the breakfast but the staff graciously prepared some muffins and fruit that was left outside my door.

Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upnatum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you kindly for that two thumbs up. We hope you can come back to stay longer next time and experience our breakfasts more fully, as well as our great outdoor deck, new fitness room, and spa services. Thank you again for your kind (and very accurate) description of the fun, summery style of our new Urban Beach House. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had to return to the Attwatter after our last amazing stay. We were booked into the new building next door (Urban Beach House) and it was just as gorgeous as the other room we stayed in last time. We were in a suite and it was perfect, 2 rooms with some separation for the late sleeper! The room even has a wine cooler if you want to grab a bottle and hit up the awesome back deck area or enjoy it in the room. Every piece of decor is stunning. This is one of the most tastefully decorated hotels I have stayed in. It does not have that crappy standard hotel feel. You feel like you are a guest at someones house, but with all the privacy you want.The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable and the in room Kuerig allowed us to lounge around before heading to the free breakfast. The breakfast choices were perfect for a quick bite before heading out. fresh juice, coffee and an lovely spread of fresh muffins, croissants ( baked in house?!-last time I craved the baked eggs now I will crave these bad boys- looks like we will have to book again!), fruit, eggs and some of the best bread pudding my boyfriend said he ever had. We cannot get enough of this place. Meg and Brad run the inn and they are awesome! They actually remembered us from our last stay! How awesome is that? Hands down the only way I will stay somewhere else is if they are fully booked. You will not regret this stay! I miss it already!

Room Tip: The new Urban Beach House is awesome.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justinelea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Such a wonderful review! It's great to hear that our new Urban Beach House was a hit with you and that you keep getting surprised and pleased by Meg's yummy breakfast treats. Thank you for your kind words about our boutique Newport hotels' decor and unique vibe. We look forward to seeing you again the next time around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My fiancé and I had a very lovely stay at the Attwater. It is very convenient to anything you might need in Newport, and parking was easy for those places that were slightly too far to walk. Breakfast was delicious. Our room (34) was quiet and comfortable. The staff were extremely courteous, and gave us some great recommendations for food, drinks, and sightseeing. Lastly, as a gay couple we were welcomed warmly. If we are back in Newport, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

We are so glad that you had such a lovely, welcoming stay. It sounds like everything about your visit to The Attwater hit the mark and we couldn't be more pleased. Congratulations on your engagement. We hope you'll visit we us again once the deed is done! Thank you again for your review and we'd appreciate your recommendation of The Attwater to all your friends and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife & I recently spent one night here. For the most part we agree with other reviewers . The building is very nicely decorated. The owner was most helpful including getting us reservations for dinner at somewhat of the last minute. Our room was nice aside from a rather narrow stand up shower. If there is one quibble it would be with the breakfast. In reading information prior to our visit it said we were entitled to 3 items at breakfast. In fact one site indicated there was a punch card to help monitor this. What we had were 3 rather small cookie type items. There was an apple salad plate but it also was to be honest laughable. My wife actually got each of us a 4th item and in her guilt later called the hotel and spoke with a young lady who informed her that there was no limit on what you could have. My wife also pointed out that other reviews raved about a number of choices that we did not see. In fact when we came back later to actually check out she noticed what appeared to be some type of egg. The lady explained they had been kept in a warmer to maintain freshness. When we were there around 8:30 that morning there was no sign of them. Another family who was there at 8:30 hung around for a short period of time and left for I believe was the Newport Dairy Bar for a regular breakfast.

We have stayed at other boutique hotels-Kimptons-which had various eating or noshing (this seems to be a New England term in wide use) and the people here may wish to check them out or maybe try a different approach to their morning offerings.

That being said it was a nice place with a nice staff well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found us to be a nice place with nice staff. We are sorry to hear that our old policy of a 3-item breakfast limit was somehow visible to you in your web search. We removed that from our website awhile ago and welcome guests to enjoy a variety of small items to their fill. We also do keep things warming in the back and cycle new stuff out, but will always bring out more upon request. We hope our guests feel free to ask us abut these things and we will ensure that this is all more clear in the future as part of our guest interaction. We hope you'll come back and stay, relax and and eat until you are sated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Attwater is just one block off the main and most popular street in Newport, "Bellevue". An easy walk to the Wharf where there are tons of shops and restaurants and to some of the Mansions of Newport. Perfect!! Our room was on the third floor - some steps to climb but so worth it. A precious eclectic room, so modern and fresh. Windows on two sides(open at night when we were there), nice and quite. Such an improvement from the boring ole hotel room. The whole place was spotless. Great coffee making equipment in the room with complimentary bottled water. This property is run so efficient by the managers, Brad and Meg. We hope to return here.

Room Tip: We loved the third floor corner room at the back of the house. Quite and nice view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbinwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

We are so pleased that you had such a great time and that everything seemed to work out well for your stay at our boutique Newport hotel. We appreciate your comments about our "perfect" location, great staff and modern room. We hope you come and visit us again and give us a chance to turn your 4-star into a 5-star!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,034 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
600 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Attwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Attwater

Address: 22 Liberty St, Newport, RI 02840-3221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport
#9 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £138 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Attwater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in Newport’s nautical history — yet with a bold touch of the unexpected — you’ll experience our most original Newport accommodations in stylish comfort.Discover a more personal lodging alternative to big box hotels — yet with a chic, modern edge elusive to most B&Bs. Find exceptional rooms and amenities; a clever, all-day coffee cafe; the latest tech amenities; and attentive service when you want it (privacy when you don’t).As one of the first hotel properties in Newport, the Attwater is set on a quiet street just a block off Bellevue Avenue in the central historic district. All of Newport’s sights, sounds and tastes — sailing, tennis, night life, restaurants, beaches, history, mansions — are all only a short stroll away. In fact, our newly renovated boutique hotel is merely three blocks from Newport Harbor and an eight-minute walk to First Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Attwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attwater Villa Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing