We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh so comfortable ...”
Review of The Attwater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Attwater
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oh so comfortable ...”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We spent an evening in the Lark Suite. So much space. Beautifully appointed & ever so comfortable. Brad & Meg could not do enough to make us feel welcome & informed and the restaurant recommendation provided a wonderful dining experience at 22 Bowen's right on the docks. The quality & variety of the breakfast selections were a delight with healthy options not always so easy to come by. The location was perfect to stroll down through the magnificently quaint streets. We could have stayed so much longer. All in all an absolutely perfect experience.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Perry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Wow! "An absolutely perfect experience." We'll take that! We are thrilled that your stay in the Lark Suite was everything you'd hope it would be (and more) and that our location, breakfasts and concierge services made your stay so enjoyable. Please think of us again the next time you travel over from Oz!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    93
    17
    6
    8
See reviews for
61
253
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My wife and I booked a king suite for a weekend getaway in late June - booking was a little clunky online and the first time I called to try and do it over the phone, no one picked up, but I did get someone the second time. The front desk staff leaves around 10 pm so we made sure to get there before then. The hotel's lot only takes about 6 or 7 cars, so we ended up in the "free" parking on the street - we parked where the desk attendant told us to on Downing St. and we (along with all the other guests) had a ticket the next morning. The day manager seemed genuinely sorry that we got the ticket but given the room price and the fact that they told us to park there I was a little disappointed that they didn't offer to comp the $25 ticket. The other thing that didn't affect us but could be a problem for some - the king suites are a third floor walk-up and it's not apparent from the website. The hotel is very nice, great interior design, very attentive staff, and as several have noted the breakfast is really top notch - I'd definitely stay again. Possibly the most comfortable hotel bed I've slept in. A few minor things that also helped keep it out of 5 star range - a missing window screen, broken window opener in the bathroom and no extra storage (hairdryer and iron are stored on the floor of the closet, not much shelf for toiletries, etc.). Overall a good experience and I'd recommend it to others that want to stay on a quiet street within walking distance to everything downtown.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuralMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our attentive staff, breakfast and interior design. We are truly sorry you got a parking ticket. For the reference of future guests, please know that we suggest first parking in our overflow spaces at the Elks Lodge if our lot is full as the street can be risky. While we have always noted the location of our rooms on the "Rooms" page of our website, your comment made us realize that it was not nearly as clear as it should be. We've added new language to every room description. Thank you for your thoughts and suggestions. We hope to see you back at The Attwater soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Attwater during Memorial Day week. We had a lovely stay, all exceed our expectation. We have been traveling all over the world and mostly stayed at very nice hotels. The Attwater has exceeded our expectation, from nice accommodation, lovely staffs, delicious breakfast. The staff gave very good recommendation to very nice restaurants. We loved Bouchard and Mama Luisa.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tvlgal1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your recommendation. We are thrilled that we exceeded your expectations on every level and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our first stay at Attwater in the newly renovated urban beach house and friends stayed at the main building. from the service, to amenities, to advice, to aethestics, and functionality, everything was just right. It absolutely beats the classic or chain hotels and as close as you can get to the style of the cosmopolitan residencies in the big cities. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank persnicketie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Wow! Lots of praise in a very succinct review. Thank you so much. We are so pleased that you felt everything was right "from the service, to amenities, to advice, to aethestics, and functionality." We hope to see you back at The Attwater the next time your travels bring you East.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed in a 3rd floor room for our anniversary and loved it! Hilltop residential location serene and peaceful and next to the Newport Art Museum. Our room was immaculate, bed and bedding luxurious and loved the designer decor. Cliff Walk and all the restaurants and shops within walking distance. Delighted by breakfast (included). Will return, asap!

Room Tip: We stayed one night in a third floor room. It was quiet and we slept very well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mollie826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
We loved that you used our hotel collection's name and vibe in the title of your review. We strive to make every visit to The Attwater (and all our hotels) a "lark" for our guests. It sounds like our comfy beds and bakery breakfasts hit the mark with you. We are so pleased. Do return soon to Newport, or to one of our other Lark Hotels' destinations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Loved this hotel! A historic home, originally built in 1910, converted to a hip boutique hotel. The room were well appointed, comfortable and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was yummy; the home baked good were amazing, best scones I've ever had. I would definitely stay here again!! Oh and the location was excellent, we walked everywhere!!

Room Tip: There are no elevators so if you don't like stairs ask for a lower floor. We were on the top/3r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
"Hip meets historic" is a great description of our Newport boutique hotel. We love embracing the historic bones and local history of our hotels -- but in unique, unexpected and modern ways. So glad you noticed. We are pleased that you enjoyed our location, service and breakfast. Just ask and we'll give you a scone recipe! Please visit us again the next time you venture east.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here spur of the moment using the hotels tonight app and we can't wait to go back!!! The peanut butter cookies we came into were awesome... the room was amazing!!! The shower was fantastic..
Little deck perfect for the wine we bought next door... best smelling bath products!!! Waking distance to Thames street!! If you use the hotels tonight app and stay here you can save $25 by using code DDIGREGORIO1

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Youotterloveme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Peanut butter cookies are just one of our many great afternoon snacks. Our sea salt brownies get raves, too! You'll have to come back and try them. Thank you for your review and kind words regarding our "awesome" rooms, sweet-scented lather bath products and great location. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,992 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.2 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
177 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Attwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Attwater

Property: The Attwater
Address: 22 Liberty St, Newport, RI 02840-3221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport
#9 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Attwater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in Newport’s nautical history — yet with a bold touch of the unexpected — you’ll experience our most original Newport accommodations in stylish comfort.Discover a more personal lodging alternative to big box hotels — yet with a chic, modern edge elusive to most B&Bs. Find exceptional rooms and amenities; a clever, all-day coffee cafe; the latest tech amenities; and attentive service when you want it (privacy when you don’t).As one of the first hotel properties in Newport, the Attwater is set on a quiet street just a block off Bellevue Avenue in the central historic district. All of Newport’s sights, sounds and tastes — sailing, tennis, night life, restaurants, beaches, history, mansions — are all only a short stroll away. In fact, our newly renovated boutique hotel is merely three blocks from Newport Harbor and an eight-minute walk to First Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Attwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attwater Villa Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing