We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Attwater
Nearby Hotels
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$271
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$633
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grace Vanderbilt(Newport)
US$435
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Newport Marriott(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$349
US$328
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Viking(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$137
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Newport Bay Club & Hotel(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$153
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$436
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$605
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mill Street Inn(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$234
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (432)
Filter reviews
432 results
Traveller rating
300
98
19
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
98
19
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsking suiteboutique hotelapple tvsconessmall platesoatsart museumlovely boutiqueno elevatormy husband and ithe main hoteltop floorloved this hotelshort walkoutdoor deckthird floorwould definitely stay here again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 432 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed at The Attwater for a few days in June. Whilst we loved the decor and general vive/style of the hotel we were a little disappointed with the dining room and breakfast. We felt it lacked atmosphere and felt a little cold and uninviting. The first couple of days the staff weren't really around and we were unsure as to what the protocol was in terms of breakfast. There were signs up restricting guests to a certain number of items. We weren't interested in having more to eat but it felt a little 'tight' to be given a limit. I like a relaxed vibe and atmosphere but this shouldn't be to the detriment of a warm welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JlawBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

We must say that we are very confused about this review as we do not have any signs restricting what the guests have for breakfasts, and in fact always make sure to tell folks to help themselves to our selection of unique small plates and homemade items -- both during check-in and as we greet them in the morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Attwater was recommended to us by a friend when we stayed in Newport for a weekend. What a gem! It is simply amazing. First, the décor in the hotel is fabulous. It is modern art mixed with vintage Newport style and we loved it - from the sitting room, through the hallways into the guest rooms. Very eclectic. We were pleased with our room as well - complete with a wine fridge, wine key and complimentary bottled water. The bed was honestly the most comfortable hotel bed we have ever slept in. In the morning, we had the complimentary breakfast and the spread, like everything else, was great. Prosciutto, arugala, melon salad, baked eggs and homemade pastries! The innkeepers, Brad and Megan, were also wonderful. They were very attentive and gave us recommendations for things to see and do in the area.
I highly recommend this boutique hotel next time you are in Newport and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccm1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

We are so pleased that you took your friend's recommendation and stayed with us here at The Attwater. It is so nice to hear that you loved our Newport hotel's unconventional decor, super-comfy beds, and, most of all, the service of Brad and Megan. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Travelling in the area of Rhode Island / Connecticut and stood two nights at this outstanding, newly renovated / refurbished place with our daughters. The managers are great, welcoming and helpful and provide many excellent tips for Newport and the area (incl an iPad with many helpful links).
The rooms are very nice, shining and esthetically - the bath rooms offers a modern and relaxing shower.
No that was not all, if you love a breakfast with something special, wow, that is the place to go. Every morning they sever different pastries, small very well cooked salty specials which are excellent seasoning. Every pastries, being a muffin, scone, cake, are all all home-made, changing every day and are so tasteful.You would wish you to continue to experience such a nice breakfast many more days.
The location is the middle of Newport, evenly located to "down-town" Newport as well to the cliff walk and very close to very nice restaurants. We only can recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TheAndy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your review and recommendation. It was a pleasure having you visit from overseas and a joy to help you and your lovely daughters make the most of Newport. We appreciate your nice comments about our breakfasts and our friendly staff. Please stay with us again if your travels bring you back to Rhode Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I'm a self-proclaimed hotel snob, and I wanted to choose the perfect place for my boyfriend's birthday weekend away for the Newport Jazz Fest. The Attwater exceeded my expectations. The hotel itself is beautiful. We stayed in a King Suite in the newly opened beach house. The room was spacious and the decorating spot on. Each morning, we had breakfast in the main part of the hotel, and it was outstanding. The pastries and egg dishes were delicious. And the cookie I had on Saturday afternoon--chocolate chip with sea salt--was the best I've ever tasted.

What really sets the Attwater apart is the friendly staff and their willingness to go above and beyond. When a work emergency forced me to take a middle of the night flight and miss a day of our trip, Cassandra helped me put together a birthday surprise to leave in the room for when my boyfriend arrived. And when we left our room at 4:30 am to catch an early-morning flight, we opened the door to find a bag full of pastries and to-go cups for coffee. So thoughtful--and what a treat!

We will be back next time we're in Newport, and we will be recommending this place to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leigh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Our chocolate chip sea salt cookies are truly spectacular, we agree! So are the brownies -- you'll need to come back and try those next time. We were so pleased that we could assist in making your boyfriend's birthday weekend so memorable. We greatly appreciate your kind words about our staff and the beauty of our Newport hotel. We hope to see you -- and/or your friends and family -- again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

First trip to newport we booked the attwater. The cost is a little scary but it was jazz fest weekend. We got tickets but was rained out. But we still had a great weekend. The breakfasts in the morning are awesome. The staff is so friendly- even offered us his own umbrella. The suites are more than enough room. Decor - beach house amazing. Love it

Stayed: August 2014
Thank travelqueen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

It's great to hear that the rain didn't dampen the fun time you had at our boutique Newport hotel. Thanks for your compliments on our staff, breakfasts and decor. Come back and visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews