We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Contemporary & Quaint Newport Style!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Attwater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Attwater
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Contemporary & Quaint Newport Style!”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

LOVED "The Attwater!" Very modern hotel. SPACIOUS room with iPad (very helpful) for in-room use. Pullout sofa. In-room fridge was handy, too. Location was in-town and very convenient to the Mansions, the Touro Synagogue (1st in America and still operational) and to shopping. We had an early departure and the staff VERY KINDLY packed us a fresh-baked breakfast (and fruit) for the long ride home. We were eternally grateful for the food as we sat on I95 in traffic on the trip home. This was a great find and we will definitely stay there again when we go back to Newport.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4JAAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Spacious rooms and iPads full of local information are two of our distinct amenities in Newport and we are so pleased that you enjoyed them. It also is nice to hear that your "to go" breakfast helped you tackle the summer traffic on your way home. Please do visit us again the next time you visit Rhode Island. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    88
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
58
239
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here recently for our first trip to Newport. Everything about this hotel is first-rate. The managers are friendly and accommodating. The rooms are well-appointed and exceptionally clean. The breakfast offerings were amazing. The location is great--quiet and an easy walk to downtown. We hope to return to Newport and I wouldn't hesitate to book here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lapoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
We are so pleased that your first experience in Newport was a hit. We are honored that we were your hosts for your first taste of our historic and nautical seaside city. Thank you for your kind words about our well appointed rooms and amazing breakfasts. Please visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Great location near cliff walk, bannister's wharf and main shopping areas. Lovely breakfast each day and clean, pretty rooms. Perfect for exploring Newport. Managers are helpful and friendly. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We're thrilled that you enjoyed our convenient location, pretty rooms and lovely breakfast. Your recommendation means a lot and we look forward to your return to visit us in Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Connecticut
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My boyfriend and I were looking to go on a 2 night trip to Newport, RI. I looked into many B&Bs in the area and this hotel really stood out to me. One reason for this is that it was newly renovated and well kept. Another, was the price. now this is not an inexpensive stay at peak season, but we chose to go mid May and we found a really reasonable price. On top of this we loved how easy the website was to navigate and plan out what rooms and dates would be appropriate.
We chose the Urban Beach House King Suite and it was room 5 on the top floor. It had beautiful exposed beams and plenty of room! The beds were very comfortable and the Apple TV was Perfect for late night Netflix! We also loved how we were given an IPad at check in and used to to find some really awesome places to eat! The rooms were clean and well kept. The bathroom was a decent size although we are both fairly average heights and if we were much taller the ceilings would probably be a burden. We were on the top floor and there are no dormers and slanted ceilings. Although, to us it was charming.
The location of the Attwater is pretty central to the main shops and restaurants. The only place we had to drive to was the beach. We chose to go to Second beach and as we were leaving to head to the beach we were offered beach chairs that were perfect for our outing from the Hotel staff! The staff was very helpful and kind with helping to find out where to eat and things to do!
Breakfast was very nice and we loved sleeping in a little and wake up to the array of goodies that were freshly baked and cooked! Also feel free to ask about any of the food items being served because they might be keeping something warm or something might be in the making!
Lastly my only concern while we were there was parking. Although they did have enough spaces navigating them was a bit tricky. I would recommend bringing the smallest car you have not just so that you can easily get in and out of the driveway, but so that someone else doesn't hit your car trying to get out. On top of that the roads in Newport are old and narrow and if you are not used to driving a large car in a small space it may be uncomfortable. We took a 2009 Honda Accord and I couldn't Imagine taking anything bigger.

Room Tip: The Urban Beach House rooms are fantastic! If you are not too tall get room 5! Its charming and cozy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilySchuessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We are so pleased that you had a great stay in our Newport hotel's new Urban Beach House. If you visited in May you must have been one of our first visitors to that 2014 addition to The Attwater. Thank you for your detailed review and recommendation. We love hearing that our stylish decor, modern amenities and attentive service make a difference in people's stay. We hope you'll return the next time you are ready for a lark!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I and our three children stayed here this week. The hotel manager and staff were welcoming and friendly. The rooms were clean and the decor was trendy, fun and fashionable yet utilitarian. The location was absolutely superb - off main road yet centrally located to the pier and Main Street. Quiet. I highly recommend this boutique hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt2254545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We loved being called "fun and edgy" -- that's what our tagline "Newport Unconventional" is all about! We greatly appreciate your recommendation and hope you'll stay at The Attwater again the next time you visit Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
161 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We booked a 2 night stay in Newport and with the help of TA decided on the Attwater. At the time we chose a small queen room and knew it would be neat in size looking at the website, not a problem. Parking was to the side of the hotel as well as extra spaces over the road.

After a warm welcome at reception and quick look round downstairs then upstairs to our room. As expected it was small but well thought out with all you needed for a short stay, a light airy feel to the room with a contemporary design which I really liked. Granted the shower room/toilet was small, with the wash hand basin outside but it was all well fitted out, but could of done with perhaps a shelf underneath for wash bags etc. the toiletries were excellent and of a good quality.

Fridge, coffee maker, bottled water as well as an Ipad which was useful as we could both use as well as having our own. Limited hanging space, but really we were not staying long enough to need much more.

Our bed was very comfortable with good pillows and nice linen, but could have done with blackout blinds as we found it quite light, but that’s a personal choice. We found the room to be very quiet and did not hear really much from fellow guests at all. The room was very clean and furnishings of a good quality.

The position of the hotel is great and you can walk into town, then as we did bring a bottle of wine back and sit outside on the veranda with a few snacks which was nice.

We both really enjoyed the breakfast and did not see any signs with regard to limits of dishes (good job as we both had 2 lots of the delicious eggs) nice selection of pastries and fruit. I really did like the way breakfast was served very relaxed and casual and just read the paper had coffee, nice way to start the day.

All the information regarding the sizes of rooms are on the website so be sure to know what your booking. There is no lift and maybe for some the stairs could be a problem. Check out again was friendly nice chat about where we had been visiting next. If I was in the area again I would stay at the Attwater and would recommend for a nice casual more of a boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Check the room sizes before you book so no unexpected suprises
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Englandsscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
What a detailed review. Thank you for taking the time to share such complete thoughts about our boutique Newport hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Attwater and that you found our breakfasts to be delicious. As you noticed, we do not have signs limiting our guests to a certain number of breakfast items and suspect that perhaps that other reviewer never stayed with us. We also appreciate hearing that our website supplied you with enough information about which room to choose. We do have a wide range of room sizes and we hope to make that clear to potential guests. Again, we appreciate your recommendation and hope you choose to stay with us again if your travels bring you back to Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I spent a recent weekend in Newport at the Attwater. We selected it based on reviews in Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. The location is great - just a short walk to the downtown area. Parking is difficult in Newport so being able to walk is a real plus.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCB01370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
That you for your review and recommendation. We're so pleased we could provide a central location for your weekend away in Newport. Come visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
1,920 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.2 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Attwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Attwater

Property: The Attwater
Address: 22 Liberty St, Newport, RI 02840-3221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport
#9 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Attwater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in Newport’s nautical history — yet with a bold touch of the unexpected — you’ll experience our most original Newport accommodations in stylish comfort.Discover a more personal lodging alternative to big box hotels — yet with a chic, modern edge elusive to most B&Bs. Find exceptional rooms and amenities; a clever, all-day coffee cafe; the latest tech amenities; and attentive service when you want it (privacy when you don’t).As one of the first hotel properties in Newport, the Attwater is set on a quiet street just a block off Bellevue Avenue in the central historic district. All of Newport’s sights, sounds and tastes — sailing, tennis, night life, restaurants, beaches, history, mansions — are all only a short stroll away. In fact, our newly renovated boutique hotel is merely three blocks from Newport Harbor and an eight-minute walk to First Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your The Attwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attwater Villa Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing