We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Fantastic!!”
Review of Canfield House Restaurant - CLOSED

Canfield House Restaurant
Price range: US$25 - US$35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bellevue Avenue
Description: Gourmet cuisine in a elegant, yet unpretentious atmosphere. Excellent location, plenty of parking. Outdoor patio offers lunch and dinner nightly. Saturday night features live entertainment. Enjoy the Gilded age of Newport at the Canfield House.
New Milford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just Fantastic!!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We love everything about this restaurant. The food is fantastic, the staff is great and we like the wine and dine menu on Tues.-Thurs. The main menu is fantastic too!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank V J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    55
    20
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

An elegant and comfortable atmosphere. Warm service, good food and a chocolate bread pudding to die for!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Reggiephx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Staple”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Good food, Very good value, great atmosphere. Wonderful place for dinner, drinks, any event, etc. Don't miss Tues, Wednes, Thurs, special!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth Port, Ma
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant ! ! !”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Spent the weekend in Newport and stumbled on this great restaurant. I very seldom log on to review any business but this restaurant deserves a shout out. We had made phone reservation and we were met at the front desk by Maggie. Our server as well as Maggie were very pleasant and willing to share the interesting history of the building. The food was great. I took our server's suggestion and ordered the grilled romaine and shrimp salad as a starter. Grilled salad sounds a little odd but it's amazing. We will definitely head back to the restaurant on our next visit to Newport.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food and warm atmosphere”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We came here when staying at the Hotel Viking for my husbands 50th birthday. It was one of the best meals we've ever had. We had the mussels and clams app in a creamy broth that we needed to,ask for extra bread so we could soak up every drop of the yummy broth! My husband had the prime rib and he loved it. I had the swordfish special with a spicy salsa and it was awesome. It does not offer an ocean view, but it more than makes up for it with warm staff and great food. Highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KLilly71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing