We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay in Newport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Long Wharf Resort
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersSilver level
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay in Newport”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Our party of 6 spent a week at the Wyndham Long Wharf in June 2013. We traded in as timeshare owners, and I'm told that a week in June at this property is essentially impossible to get. We generally found the facility to be very pleasant. The location is excellent: a very short walk to "downtown" Newport. The faclity is good, rooms are decent but not luxurious, and -- most importantly -- everything worked.

Checkin was pretty uneventful, except that they tried to put us in a highly undesirable unit, on the second floor overlooking Dumpsters and a parking lot. We protested, and they quickly moved us to a better unit, though also still on the second floor.

We did not really use many of the amenities, other than to sit by the pool from time to time, but the pools were clean and appeared well maintained. The unit itself had all of the usual equipment, full kitchen, etc. One downside is that the units don't have washers and dryers. There is a guest laundry room on the third floor, and there is no charge for washers or dryers, but there is no signup system, so just go and take your chances that you won't be right behind the person who is doing two weeks' laundry for a family of 8.

The resort also has free wi-fi in the units, but it was extremely slow. There were a couple of computers by the front desk that were available for guests' use, and those were a lot faster.

We had one minor problem, but it didn't cause any damage or injury. The resort provides dishwashing powder and laundry detergent -- they are in very similar-looking packaging, and they are placed right next to each other. We ended up puting laundry detergent in the dishwasher, which caused an overflow of suds but no real damage. The maintenance guy said it happens all the time.

Another thing to note is that although there is no charge for parking at the resort, they only provide one parking space per unit, which was a problem since we had two cars. We had to park the second car in a nearby commercial garage, which was about $15/day.

Checkout was also pretty smooth; all in all it's a very convenient and pleasant place to visit.

Room Tip: Odd-numbered units in the area of 279 are not a good choice; they look out onto a parking lot and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singflysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    104
    42
    26
    21
See reviews for
145
70
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

There is NO AC at this hotel that works consistently. We are in the midst of a 5 day heat wave. And we were told a different story everyday when it was going to be repaired. It's awful. The staff tries but they give the same old lines. Because it is a time share there was a woman at the pool that said the same thing happened last year at this time, with the same excuses. Call ahead to see if the AC is working but they will probably lie and tell you it is.... very disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amfmcooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newport hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Needham, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed for a weekend getaway, and the resort was walking distance from downtown, a bus terminal, and the Newport shipyards. The suites were clean, the kitchen well-stocked with dishes, and the rooms were quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeneD5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerfield
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We reserved through RCI and found it to be very convenient to the sights of Newport. Our room overlooks the Newport Shipyard and the Pell Bridge where we could watch the activity. Driving to some of the local shops and boat tours is not required if you don't mind medium walks. Considering the high cost of parking in Newport, this location makes for easy sightseeing. Also, the Visitors Center and Transportation building is a 3 minute walk from our room.

The indoor outdoor pool and surroundings are very nice. Being there in mid May there was not a lot of activity scheduled but there is more during the summer season. Only negative they did not have newspapers available unless you are a VIP member.

We would come back here, if we planned on returning.

Room Tip: There are only 9 balconies. Call early to get one. Also, try to overlook the courtyard or the piers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank NormanP862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom unit in building across the street from the main building. There was a kitchenette and sleep sofa. Size was ok for two people. Internet connection very slow and sporadic. The location is great. Short Walking distance to restaurants and shops. Short drive to the mansions, Cliff walk and beach. Nice work out gym. Outdoor pool was closed, but there was an indoor/outdoor pool that was open.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

After reading the poor reviews for this hotel, I was worried about the condition of the property and the room. I was careful to request a renovated room and got a spacious 2 bedroom suite for an extremely reasonable price. The room was clean, new, and well appointed; perfect for myself, my husband, and our two young kids. There was even a washer-dryer. The kids loved the indoor-outdoor pool as well. The hotel is also conveniently located by the harbor, within walking distance to the shops and restaurants, and a short drive to the sights. The only downside is that there is no maid service if you stay for less than 3 days, and the thin walls which provided little soundproofing from our neighbors.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

The location of this hotel in Newport is really nice. When looking out our room in the evening, the view of the Pell/Newport Bridge lights are spectacular. Other than that, the indoor pool area is disgusting. Old dirty wet carpeting and the pool slide had rust showing all over. Our room wasnt bad,but the place needs updating through and through. Never again.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oceanfun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,016 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
593 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Long Wharf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Long Wharf Resort

Property: Wyndham Long Wharf Resort
Address: 5 Washington St, Newport, RI 02840-1513 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Long Wharf)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Long Wharf Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Long Wharf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Long Wharf Hotel Newport
Wyndham Hotel Long Wharf
Wyndham Newport
Wyndham Hotel Newport
Newport Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing