We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing room and great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Long Wharf Resort
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing room and great location!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My boyfriend and I were given a weekend getaway of our choice as a gift and we ended up choosing this location.I was worried before the trip after reading reviews but we truly had a great experience. We ended up in a 2 story room with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a full kitchen, living room, washer & dryer, and basically anything we needed. The resort is very close to the town and we hardly drove anywhere. The room was amazing and we would have been happy staying in the entire weekend! The first night we used the kitchen to cook dinner in. We had anything and everything we needed to make it happen. We didn't interact much with he staff but when we did they were all very pleasant, even letting us check in over 3 hours early which we were very pleased with. We used the pool, hot tub, and sauna both nights we stayed and had no complaints. The pool is indoor and outdoor so you could choose. Overall we had a great time and we would love to eventually go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin B, Manager at Wyndham Long Wharf Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Rebecca, Thank you so much for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and had all the conveniences to make your experience comfortable and pleasing. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit with us, hopefully in the very near future!

Spreading the Warmth of Hospitality,

Kristin Burghardt
Assistant Resort Manager
Kristin.Burghardt@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    101
    41
    24
    21
See reviews for
141
69
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glen Head, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My family of five stayed in a 3 bedroom, 2 bath suite. It was beautifully done. Well-equipped kitchen which we didn't use much. One of the bathrooms had a jacuzzi, both were updated and clean. Two large-screen TVs were much appreciated as was the washer/dryer. Wifi was too slow to use - I switched to the cellular option on my ipad. The pool/hot tub area was nice, towels provided. The location is the best part- right at the start of town - easy walking to the wharfs, shopping, Touro street, Broadway and Bellevue. Start with a visit to the tourist center which is right out the back door. Free parking is a big bonus. Loved it. Would come back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KerryMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin B, Manager at Wyndham Long Wharf Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you Kerry MD for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.We are delighted the ammenities of the resort and location were ideal for your vacation! Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My family came for my sons wedding and exchanged their Colorado timeshare for the Wyndham Long Wharf. I recommended staying in Newport, since it is one town over from where we live. After reading all the previous reviews, I was a little worried it wouldn't be a good experience. As mentioned many times over, the location is great. The room (unit 489) looked to be recently renovated and was extremely nice and clean. The unit had 2 bedrooms, one with king size bed and one with twin beds. All beds were comfortable. The hallways, elevators, work out room and pool area were also very clean and nice. There were no complaints and the stay was very pleasant. (I'm writing this on their behalf as they don't really use the internet...really.)

The stay was May 9-16, so it was definitely off season, but the weather was perfect unless you were looking for beach weather. There are endless things to do and see in and around Newport, that you'll always find something to do.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin B, Manager at Wyndham Long Wharf Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you, Paula M for taking the time to share your experience! We will share your great feedbck with our assocaites. We are certainly delighted you chose to share such a wonderful occasion with us as Weddings always create such an amazingly memorable time! Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

I am an owner here and while there are clearly general ongoing enhancements that have been made each year, the pool area has really gone down. Over the years the inside pool area has gone from a kids' delight to a neglected, sad area to now an area that looks unfinished and not welcoming at all. My kids were extremely disappointed that what they perceived as the showpiece of the resort is boring at best. It is clean but it is certainly not the selling point that it once used to be. I hope that this look is just temporary and that we are surprised and delighted when we come here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teragramsb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
246 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

After having decidedly mediocre stays at other Wyndham resorts in the past, Wyndham has finally redeemed itself in my eyes. We've previously had serious issues with cleanliness and age (Lake Lure, NC) and a poor management response to excessive noise from other guests (Nashville, TN). We had absolutely no issues with this Wyndham. Is there room for improvement in some areas? Sure, but the issues are minor.

We stayed in a newly renovated two-bedroom unit at the Wyndham Long Wharf Resort in early April. The living room included a galley kitchen along one wall, a living area with a sofa bed, one arm chair, and a TV stand, and an eating area with a table for four. One bedroom had two twin beds. Its bathroom was off the entrance hall, presumably to be shared with the living room if someone was using the sofa bed. It had a large stall shower. The master bedroom had a king-sized bed and en-suite bathroom with a small Jacuzzi tub. We were fortunate to be on the top floor, with a view towards over the interior courtyard and the fishing pier in the distance. My only quibbles are as follows:

1. As others have noted, this unit theoretically accommodates six people but only has seating for four both in the living room and dining room areas.
2. The coffee table is a ridiculously small cube that should really be an end table. There is almost no space for more than person to put down a cup of coffee while sitting on the sofa.
3. There is almost no counter space in the kitchen area and no place to store food except for the refrigerator. Since we didn't cook, we ended up putting our boxes of cereal, etc., on top of the stove.
4. It would have been nice to have had a stacked washer/dryer in the unit. Laundry facilities were on a different floor than our unit and required multiple trips up and down the stairs.
5. Speaking of laundry facilities, while they are free, the dryers take a long time, which leads to back-ups.

On the plus side, the unit was scrupulously clean and well maintained. The kitchen was well equipped. Even though we didn't use the stove, it was great to have the coffee maker and microwave to make quick breakfasts and snacks. The beds were very comfortable. Even though the resort was full of families on spring break, we did not have any issues with noisy neighbors.

The resort is conveniently located just two blocks from Thames Street with all of its restaurants and shops, and it's a short walk along the harbor to the other wharves, which also have shops and restaurants. The indoor/outdoor heated pool is nice and well maintained. There is also a larger outdoor pool which presumably opens in the summer. The wifi was free and worked well until the last weekend we were there (Good Friday) when there seemed to be a lot more people coming in.

Check-in was quick and easy, and the staff was very helpful. There is a list of restaurant deals posted near the elevators, and we took advantage of one the Wyndham has with Fathoms, the restaurant in the Marriott next door, for a BOGO on entrees at dinner. The food there was very good, and the views of the marina were lovely.

All in all, I can highly recommend this Wyndham.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed over spring break in April and expected the area to be pretty quiet. Newport is a lovely New England Harbor town with great shopping, restaurants and views. This Hotel is right on the waterfront, however we were given a room on the 3rd floor facing the Marriott parking garage. Luckily it was one of their newly remodeled rooms. The rooms were laid out well with lots of windows and good size. Parking was great and close. The pool area was our favorite with a indoor/outdoor pool and 2 hot tubs. It was not crowded. The kids had a blast. There are so many things to do from this Hotel, we walked a lot and took day trips to Boston, Cape Cod, the Kennedy Compound and the oh so cold beach. It was unusually cold for this time of the year but we did not get bored. The staff is very friendly and made us feel welcome. But here it comes: there were 4 things we did not really enjoy. Every morning at 8 am a very noisy garbage truck emptied the garbage dumpsters right under our bedroom window. Our room 371 was directly by the elevator and we could hear the motor and the beeb-beep-beep from it all the way into the bedroom. In the room we had problems with the kitchen. It looks awesome, is VERY well and tastefully equipped but the designers forgot that a kitchen needs a preparation are. There was merely 1 counter of 30x24 to work on, absolutely NO storage space for foods or staples since the cabinets were full with dishes and utensils. My wife had a really hard time cooking anything. The last thing to mention is the bed, or should I say the "board". We are in the mattress business and we are always amazed about how hotels totally miss the point in what they are selling. The best looking hotel, the best looking furnishings are quickly forgotten if the bed is awful. And awful this one was. We are on vacation and want to be pampered and not feel like we are sleeping on a Home Depot board. Sure, they were Simmons Beautyrest mattresses, but they used un-foam-encased (low-end) FIRM single-sided sets that had no give. That decision was purely made by the bean-counters, thinking a firm mattress will last much longer. Sure it does! But they feel awful. I myself would have bought the Englander Grand Hotel Collection, a superb mattress that many of the most expensive hotels use. We would have woke up with a happy face on one of those. Other than that, we had a GREAT vacation and would return to this place, but this time we would bring a memory foam mattress pad to cushion the blow. :)

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a remodeled room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabalooga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The townhouses we stood in were very clean with excellent appliances. The indoor/outdoor heated pool was clean and had the swimming door to the other side so you don't have to get out. The cleaning service was on top of everything and you feel safe leaving your vehicles since security is walking around constantly. Many local attractiosn that are just a walk away so you don't have to drink and drive. I plan on going back again!!

Adult couples went but they had kid activities as well.

Green Features: Recycling units throughout the property and appliances were energy efficient.
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
593 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
1.2 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Long Wharf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Long Wharf Resort

Property: Wyndham Long Wharf Resort
Address: 5 Washington St, Newport, RI 02840-1513 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Long Wharf)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Long Wharf Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Long Wharf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Long Wharf Hotel Newport
Wyndham Hotel Long Wharf
Wyndham Newport
Wyndham Hotel Newport
Newport Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing