We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location!”

Admiral Farragut Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Admiral Farragut Inn
Ranked #76 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Great location for seeing Newport. We arrived very late on our first night, but Dean and Robert stayed onsite to welcome us andget us settled in the room. We stayed for three days and enjoyed the breakfast every day. Our room was a queen on the third floor; small but comfortable. clean towels were brought every day; however, they did not remove the dirty ones.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VonniTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    20
    7
    8
    7
See reviews for
9
41
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed there during the America's Cup World Series last week (6/26-29). Great location, great history, great service and loved my room. Rick the owner was awesome and always checking to make sure we were doing ok or need anything.

No sure what the issue is with breakfast for some - my omelette, sausage and coffee were great each morning and the staff were busy, but very nice. If you need more than that to get the day started, go to a restaurant.

Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Since its in the historic district, parking is tight, but available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VuduMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Great location on historic Clark street. My bed was comfy and the room was spacious. The breakfast wasn't good. This poor lady had to cook, clear and take orders for everyone. She was way too overworked and the food turned out terribly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nnmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2011

My title says it all. My wife and I stayed here nearly a week toward the end of July. The service was excellent, the location ideal, the rates very competitive (when shopped online), and the room in which we stayed-comfortable. This B&B was a terrific value for us. We will likely return to Newport next Summer and, if we elect to stay at a B&B again, we will definitely consider the Admiral Farragut.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, CT
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We booked the Cleveland Inn last minute through a Trip Advisor link to booking.com. Got a bad feeling at check-in with this greeting from Rick, "Name? Credit card." Now, I have been born and raised a yankee, but this seemed poor form for a historic B&B in a tourist town, even in New England. We proceeded to get what felt like a "free downgrade" to the Admiral Farragut next door since we were early for check in. Next morning, slow service at breakfast. No coffee, sour milk. Had to walk next door, to get coffee and settle for cream. Met Rick there again who seemed agitated I was walking down the street with a coffee mug, but he did not apologize for my inconvenience. Instead, at the end of our short conversation, I wound up asking him not to get the staff next door in trouble. Honestly, I just got the creeps from this fellow. This all said, the bed was comfy and the location was quiet and convenient. Breakfast the next day was improved at the Clarkston Inn next door. Something is not quite right between this sister group of B&Bs, and I could not recommend them unless you are in a jam.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newport hotels

chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We had booked at the Cleveland House next door but was given the option with checking out the rooms available first and so took the ground floor room at this Inn and got first dibs for breakfast the following morning. Remember to put your name on the sign in breakfast list for your time preference. The french toast was good.
The only odd thing was only 1 bath towel for 2 people and it was a whirlpool bath.
Also, very tight squeeze in the parking lot.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fpiesiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigMamaNewport, Owner at Admiral Farragut Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Thank you so much for your review and we are happy that you enjoyed our French Toast made with Portuguese Sweet Bread. I apologize for the towel shortage in your room; it was definitely an over-sight. We normally supply our larger rooms with 3 towels and we are happy to supply additional towels upon request. Parking in Newport is extremely tight, especially the historic district where the Admiral Farragut is located. We feel very fortunate to have our own parking lot; however, we do recognize that it can be difficult to maneuver large vehicles. We are able to assist in finding street parking, when necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

...and excellent service. We stayed in the attic room mentioned on one of the reviews below. It was perfectly fine. It had a light an airy quality, ample space and a new bathroom. The owners and other staff were welcoming and friendly throughout our visit. On Saturday morning, my wife and I both had blueberry pancakes and sausage, cooked to order for breakfast. It was a great start to the day. On Sunday, we had to check out very early but the owner made sure we got coffee and fruit to tide us over. The inn is on a quiet street, less than a 5 minute walk from Thames Street. We don't visit Newport often enough but the Admiral Farragut Inn was a great find and we hope to get back there in the fall.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aswb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.0 mi away
Melville House
Melville House
#65 of 95 in Newport
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cleveland House
Cleveland House
#43 of 95 in Newport
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wynstone
The Wynstone
#77 of 95 in Newport
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#13 of 95 in Newport
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yankee Peddler Inn
Yankee Peddler Inn
#27 of 95 in Newport
217 reviews
0.7 mi away
Admiral Weaver Inn
Admiral Weaver Inn
#68 of 95 in Newport
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Farragut Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Farragut Inn

Property: Admiral Farragut Inn
Address: 31 Clarke St, Newport, RI 02840-3023
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admiral Farragut Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Admiral Farragut Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Farragut Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing