We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Admiral Farragut Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Admiral Farragut Inn
Ranked #74 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 August 2012

On the positive side: The room was nicely decorated, king size bed was comfortable, the location was a convenient 3 blocks (not 1 block as advertised) from the wharf, towels were thick and of high quality. On the negative side: The bathroom was very small and breakfast was average at best. The parking spaces in the lot next to the B&B were very tight. You needed to go to the main B&B at The Cleveland House to get ice at night - not very convenient. There are 4 B&B's under the same owner, and it seemed like the guests from all 4 B&B's were instructed to eat at the Admiral Farragut. If the breakfast room was full, you needed to wait until the crowd thinned out, also not very convenient. A small window a/c unit kept going on and off all night, making it noisy and difficult to sleep at night. Also, the bathroom was not cleaned well (hair and debris was found on the floor and in the tub). Overall, our stay was adequate, but very expensive for what you got.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJ2SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

The hotel was rustic and charming. We enjoyed our room on the 3rd floor with the big comfy king bed. A full home cooked breakfast was served every morning. We had a place to park our car and everything we needed was in walking distance. Loved our stay here, we would come back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed in the Cleveland house for 2 days and it was very nice. The rooms were clean and the bed linen nice and crisp. The rooms were lovely decorated and spacious. The breakfast room was cosy and the breakfast delicious. The hotel is down a small street and could be difficult to find in the dark, but in a good location. The hotel is on the expensive side but very nice.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank RaeRae99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Great location for seeing Newport. We arrived very late on our first night, but Dean and Robert stayed onsite to welcome us andget us settled in the room. We stayed for three days and enjoyed the breakfast every day. Our room was a queen on the third floor; small but comfortable. clean towels were brought every day; however, they did not remove the dirty ones.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VonniTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed there during the America's Cup World Series last week (6/26-29). Great location, great history, great service and loved my room. Rick the owner was awesome and always checking to make sure we were doing ok or need anything.

No sure what the issue is with breakfast for some - my omelette, sausage and coffee were great each morning and the staff were busy, but very nice. If you need more than that to get the day started, go to a restaurant.

Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Since its in the historic district, parking is tight, but available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VuduMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Great location on historic Clark street. My bed was comfy and the room was spacious. The breakfast wasn't good. This poor lady had to cook, clear and take orders for everyone. She was way too overworked and the food turned out terribly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nnmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

My title says it all. My wife and I stayed here nearly a week toward the end of July. The service was excellent, the location ideal, the rates very competitive (when shopped online), and the room in which we stayed-comfortable. This B&B was a terrific value for us. We will likely return to Newport next Summer and, if we elect to stay at a B&B again, we will definitely consider the Admiral Farragut.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.3 mi away
The Wynstone
The Wynstone
#66 of 96 in Newport
61 reviews
0 mi away
The Clarkeston
The Clarkeston
#47 of 96 in Newport
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Cleveland House
Cleveland House
#42 of 96 in Newport
155 reviews
0 mi away
Chart House Inn
Chart House Inn
#35 of 96 in Newport
48 reviews
0 mi away
Melville House
Melville House
#65 of 96 in Newport
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Farragut Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Farragut Inn

Address: 31 Clarke St, Newport, RI 02840-3023
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: £148 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admiral Farragut Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Admiral Farragut Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Farragut Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing