We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what was promised”

Admiral Farragut Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Admiral Farragut Inn
Ranked #74 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Denver, CO
1 review
“Not what was promised”
Reviewed 23 October 2008

I contacted the hotel directly to make sure of space,stairs,assistance with luggage etc. There is no assistance with luggage unless you walk to another building to request it. The furniture has water stains and a handle missing from the dresser. The handle pulled off the shower and stayed that way for 4 days. There was one tiny bottle of shampoo,never replaced, the soap was a tiny tiny cake. We went to the drugstore and got our own. There is no telephone in the room so you have to physically go out and up a set of stairs to another building to get assistance. When you do, you are treated as though it is an inconvenience. I was told there was an ironing board,it never materialized. Also was told there was internet. The signal is so weak that you can't do any work with it. Was told,well I'll have to get my IT guy to look at it. The bathroom is very small. When you open the door,it wrinkles the bath mat when it is down. Grout in the bathroom is discolored. Breakfast is very common. Cook was friendly. Mattress was firm. Would not stay here nor recommend it .

  • Liked — mattress was firm
  • Disliked — physical appearance, not sure about the cleanliness, it was just old and in disrepair
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CO-loveHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    20
    7
    8
    7
See reviews for
9
41
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Towcester, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2008

My wife and I stayed here for 4 days, so we could explore the sights of Newport.
The location is excellent, being in the historic quarter of Newport, so most sights and amenities are within easy walking distance.
The actual building is a joy, being built in the colonial style, in circa 1705, (from memory). It is one of many such buildings in Clarke Street, which makes for a delightful streetscape - incorporating gas street lighting!
Given the central location, the on-site car parking is invaluable.
We upgraded our room after the first night, to one with a magnificent period-style king size bed, which was beautifully comfortable. The room itself was large and airy and well furnished.
After a hard day's sightseeing, we really appreciated being able to relax in the enormous jaccuzzi bath in the en suite bathroom.
The accommodation was clean and the staff both friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was slightly disorganised at times but very tasty.
We really enjoyed our stay and would love to return.

  • Liked — Historic building in charming location. Also very comfortable large bed
  • Disliked — Breakfast service
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Towcestrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Haledon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2008

The Admiral Farragut Inn is located on Clarke Street, a quiet, quaint and cozily narrow street in Newport, just a short walk up from Thames Street and with immediate access to the warves and the finest shops and restaurants that Newport has to offer.
Built in the early 18th Century, the Admiral Farragut Inn is situated among other 18th Century buildings all along Clarke Street that together allow anyone staying at the Inn to practically experience and readily imagine the charm and delight of living within dwellings of that era. While the very fabric and situation of the Inn and its surroundings make that possible, guests who stay at the Inn will find that they are well cared for by an Innkeeper and a kind and gracious staff who are dedicated and work very hard to insure that there is no sacrifice of comfort and attention to their needs as a result. In addition to the comfort and attention that they can be counted on to provide, guests can count upon beautifully appointed bathrooms with modern facilities that include Jacuzzi bathtubs and shower facilities and, perhaps most important of all, remarkably comfortable beds. Beds so comfortable that it is likely anyone having slept in one of them will be moved to ask the Innkeeper to explain why. In addition, after a night spent at the Inn, the guest then may look forward to a full breakfast that includes a choice of eggs, pancakes, French toast, bacon, sausage, cereal and much else besides.
Anyone choosing to stay at the Admiral Farragut Inn will be adding immeasurably to the experience of visiting Newport, and will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — Ambiance, facilities, service and location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBrizek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2007

This is a great place within walking distance to everything. The best thing about this place was the breakfast. The cook made some of the best pancakes and french toast I have ever had. You can not go wrong staying here.

  • Liked — Breakfast and location.
  • Disliked — no negatives
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MogomanWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
309 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2006

We arrived in Newport for a 2 day stay midweek. We visited the tourist info center downtown and found a nice Inn available and one that would take kids (son that is 2). We called the Inn and were greeted by a friendly innkeeper who asked us to visit. We would have taken the room right there but she wanted to show us the room.

We arrived in about 5 mins time as the Inn was located close to the info center and just behind the church on Clarke Street. Our room was in a 1702 Colonial. Clean room, modernized and well kept. Friendly service and a relative bargain for Newport mid summer at about 130 bucks.

Breakfast was wonderful giving us an all around great experience. We stayed 2 nights and were in the center of it all while being able to sleep!

  • Liked — Historic Location-Well kept in the center of it all
  • Disliked — Parking was tough due to the amount of large SUVs in the small lot.
  • Tips/Secrets — Great location, 2 mins to everything but quiet enough to sleep!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brynulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2006

I booked our reservation for the Admiral Farragut in Newport Rhode Island online and when they requested payment by check in advance I feared the worst. BOY WAS I WRONG! The room itself was wonderful, super clean, clean, clean, the linens were lovely the bathrooms wonderful with big jacuzzi tubs, and the B&B itself, charming, each room was unique. They have several properties, one was just across the street and one just down the same street and they were fabulous too. They serve a full breakfast, along with cereals and toasts....every morning we would go to the breakfast room at our B&B or the one across the street and were offered eggs, french toast (not to be believed!) made from hand sliced Portugese bread, pancakes (do you want those plain or with blueberries?) made specially for you, not set out buffet style. You're asked to sign up for the time you would prefer breakfast (we never did) but if by ten AM you weren't seen, here comes wonderful Rick Farrick (the owner) to make sure you are okay and would you like something to eat? Everything was so relaxed and easy going.....if you need a blow dryer, it's there. If you are a little chilly, here's a heater.....if you need advice on where to go, where to eat, what to do....it's there and it's worth following. I was a little chilly in one room, Rick gives me keys to another, and tells me to keep both rooms just in case my mom and I wanted some privacy and prefered our own rooms. It was the most accomodating travel experience ever. On check out day (we stayed 5 nights) I asked Rick what check out time was.....he said "What time would you like it to be?" "Two o'clock?" He said "I'm sorry, we don't have any two o'clock check out times. We can do 2:30, or 3:30 or 4:00." That gave us the whole day in Newport before having to drive back to Boston. It really was unbelievable!

As we were leaving there was a couple from Australia debating on whether or not to stay at one of Rick's Inns and I spoke to them about what a wonderful place it was to stay describing my experience in detail to them. I have thought about them a lot, wonder if they chose to stay there. If they did, they will talk about the Inns of Newport and Rick Farrick and that darn french toast for years to come back home in Australia. I know I am still talking about it! I will be back.....

  • Liked — The rooms and the fact that they were so clean the thought of DNA never entered my mind.
  • Disliked — That the breakfasts were so delicious I was unable to refuse them even once!
  • Tips/Secrets — STAY THERE AND ENJOY YOURSELVES!!!!!!!!!! And if you need anything or don't feel something is perfect for you share your concerns with Rick and it WILL be perfect.
  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank datudeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2006

The Admiral Farragut Inn is part of the Inns of Newport, and it is an excellent choice for visiting that city. It is centrally located, less than five minutes from the Newport docks and Thames Street, but it is on a quiet, one-block-long street away from the crowds and the noise.

We had booked an inexpensive upper floor room but received a free upgrade for one of the big first-floor rooms, beautifully decorated, with a marble sink and a double-whirlpool bath (and shower).

The staff was friendly and immediately accommodating -- we requested an iron and ironing board, and it arrived in minutes.

The breakfast is large and delicious, and the breakfast room attractive. Available are eggs any style, good pancakes, and superb French toast (one of the best I've had) as well as the usual juice, coffee, toast, English muffins, fresh fruit.

The inn is also less than a 10-minute drive (or maybe half-hour walk) to the Newport mansions.

We loved Newport, and we can't wait to return, and we would definitely return to the Admiral Farragut Inn.

  • Liked — Location, breakfast, room
  • Disliked — Cramped parking lot
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffy180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.0 mi away
The Clarkeston
The Clarkeston
#39 of 95 in Newport
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melville House
Melville House
#71 of 95 in Newport
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cleveland House
Cleveland House
#44 of 95 in Newport
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
America's Cup Inn
America's Cup Inn
#24 of 95 in Newport
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pilgrim House Inn
Pilgrim House Inn
#27 of 95 in Newport
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howland House Inn
Howland House Inn
#49 of 95 in Newport
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Farragut Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Farragut Inn

Property: Admiral Farragut Inn
Address: 31 Clarke St., Newport, RI 02840
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admiral Farragut Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Admiral Farragut Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Farragut Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing