We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seaview Terrace ( Carey Mansion )”

Salve Regina University
Ranked #27 of 109 things to do in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Seaview Terrace ( Carey Mansion )”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Seaview Terrace is Private property. It is not part of Salve Regina University. It is a home. If you go on the property you will be trespassing. If you are seen the police will be called.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Gregory D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    19
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Carey Mansion (Seaview Terrace) not part of Salve”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The Carey Mansion (Seaview Terrace)
Famed as the location for the exterior shots of the TV show "Dark Shadows" is no longer part of Salve it is Posted as Private Property, Highly reconmend not trying to access the property.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ldyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, RI
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Study by the Sea”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

A campus of unique old buildings spread out with many right on the Atlantic Ocean cliffs. In fact, Cliff Walk borders these buildings.

Salve Regina offers many educational programs, undergraduate and graduate. Their Pell Center provides excellent lectures on aspects of international relations every year.

Not a top requirement if you do not have much time in Newport but a great stroll if you have an empty afternoon.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolMaeRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Tour with family. Breathtaking view of Ocean and beautiful trails. When I was walking on the trail near the building, an old couple told me the building is almost 200 years old. pretty amazing i guess!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hadiqa_MikiFalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Tour for College Prospects”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

a very personal and friendly tour for prospective college students. This university is home to many former Golden Age mansions and we enjoyed our tour very much. I have never seen such a clean campus and buildings on any college tour we've had. Great experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank marybee333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salve Regina University also viewed

 

Been to Salve Regina University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing