We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“12 Meters point higher, sail faster and are more authentic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of America's Cup Charters

America's Cup Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: America's Cup Charters is Newport, RI's premier sailing company chartering the legends of the America's Cup trophy. We’ve been chartering the America's Cup legends since 1986. We also offer daily ticketed sails for individuals. Our fleet includes the illustrious Intrepid - the two time winner of the coveted America's Cup trophy, Weatherly - winner of the America's Cup and also one of the few yachts listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Ted Hood's infamous Nefertiti, and former ocean racer Ted Turner's champion and America's Cup contender American Eagle. Race, train, or just relax aboard the legendary 70' long 12-Meter Class yachts. This can be an interactive hands-on experience, no sailing experience necessary, or a casual relaxing sail. Each yacht has a captain and two crew members on board to interact with our guests. We give people the chance to feel what it's like to be part of an America's Cup experience. The protected waters and predictable breezes of Narragansett Bay make for a comfortable racing and cruising experience.
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“12 Meters point higher, sail faster and are more authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Went for a sunset sail with these folks one fine evening last summer and had a great time. If you visit Newport you just have to go for a sail, and it might as well be on one of the 12 meters. They have a lot of history behind them, and sailing in one of these yachts feels like a dream. Because of their design you'll also be able to cover more ground and see more of Newport and Jamestown from the water in the same amount of time as some of the other boats that you can buy tickets to board. Take your friends or girlfriend and they'll feel like you're the classiest guy in the world. Worth every penny!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JoshSisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    4
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The crew customized the experience to exactly what each party wanted with some wanting to participate and others along for the r”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

The crew were very knowledgeable about sailing and the history of various sail boats to include the one that we sailed. It was a lot of fun and would definitely sail with them again next year. These folks were real sailors!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TourTripTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AC 12 meter "Nefertiti"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Sailing on a classic 12 meter Americas Cup boat is an experience everyone should have. The knowledgeable crew, Captain Wally s skill and the great sailing conditions in Newport are excellent. As a captain myself, I can indefinably recommend this cruise to the novice as well as the experienced sailor.
Capt. Harold

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Harold M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value, interactive and breathtaking way to see Newport!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

This is truly worth the higher cost - in comparison to other local charters and sailing excursions! It's the next closest thing to being on your own private sail boat... The crew was fabulous, cute captain, and truly enriching and relaxing experience!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Myguru13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Manager at America's Cup Charters, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
It's nice to know you found value in our experience. Captain Walter appreciated your comments also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Day of Sailing aboard The Weatherly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent five hours today sailing aboard The Weatherly, out of Newport, RI. She was the America's Cup 1962 winner, beating the Australian Gretel. It was a windy day providing fabulous sailing, a rain squall, sunshine, viewing of the 40' sloops practicing their starts offshore and the over 100' maxis preparing for the Bucket Race this weekend. The highlight at the end of five hours was "touring" Newport Harbor under full sail, traveling 8.5 knots and more as we rounded the docks, dodged between the moored sail and power boats, and flashed by the restaurants (at one point emptying the bar as people rushed out to watch us rip by). I loved every minute! The captain, George Hill, was incredibly calm and capable and his crew spot on in following his commands. We both had the opportunity to take the helm for a long period both offshore and sailing up under the Newport Bridge. Even one passenger on her first ever sailing experience, loved it and felt safe.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FootlosseCapeCodders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed America's Cup Charters also viewed

 

Been to America's Cup Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing