We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“we went for jazzfest” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belle View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belle View Inn
Ranked #40 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
“we went for jazzfest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed at the Belle View inn over the 1st weeked in August. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good including pastries ordered the night before according to your preference. The innkeepers had thought of everything: water in the fridge, coffee in the room as well as downstairs- available before and after hours- an umbrella stand outside your room with umbrellas (that may not sound important unless you have sat in the pouring rain at jazzfest before). The location was great, a 2 minute walk to the international tennis center museum where the opening night of the festival was held. Five minute drive to many of the mansions. We would definitely stay there again!

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dw1234_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    21
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
103
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

This was my wife's and my first stay at a B&B, and we were a little nervous. The bedroom and sitting room were perfect. We loved the recommendations on the good places to eat and sites to see, and we also loved being able to select our breakfast the night before, which we took with us on our walk of the cliffs. And the two-room suite was more than half the cost of any other two-room suites at local hotels. Great deal for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parker L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed in the Belle View Inn to help celebrate our third wedding anniversary - we had high hopes for a cozy, comfortable B&B in beautiful Newport and this inn easily exceeded our expectations.
They helped us celebrate our anniversary by thoughtfully leaving us a sweet card and local chocolate! This was one of the less expensive options in Newport, but it certainly didn't feel like any of the decor, service, or breakfasts were at all compromised.
The Osprey Nest room was nicer than the website photos show. All of the furniture seemed new, stylish, and carefully arranged. My wife took immediate advantage the useful closet to store almost all of our luggage - our room stayed clean and uncluttered throughout our visit. Our room had one of those instant mood setting remote controlled fireplace built into the tv's entertainment center. The bed was so clean and comfortable - the sheets felt like they were brand new. We enjoyed having our own, private entrance to our room; we like how this room felt secluded from all the others.
Lorna arranged for tasty local pastries to be delivered before the normal breakfast time on our departure morning because we needed to be on the road early. The inn's breakfasts were fresh and delicious; they suited us perfectly.
The Inn was really convenient for our hike to Newport's scenic cliff walk.

Room Tip: The Osprey Nest room felt more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jameskpoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Only a few block walk from the major seafood piers! Host is very friendly and takes the time to get to know you. You are not just a passing customer to them. Room was very clean and comfortable. Also, located close to 7-11 and strip mall so you can grab all those small things you might have fogetten or need to stock your room. Definitely plan to stay again next time we are in newport!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bandaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

Lorna and staff helped to make our stay very enjoyable from the first confirmation email to the final breakfast. The suites were spacious, clean and tidy with all amenities. We were able to have breakfast, which was substantial for a continental style, on our shared balcony. Freshly baked afternnon cookies were a bonus. We were able to walk everywhere but then we like walking!! There did seem to be plenty of 'vehicular' ways of seeing all the sites however. Plenty of varied places to eat. In all a most enjoyable stay and would recommend the Belle View Inn without hesitation.

Room Tip: Our party had the first floor rooms(Tennis Hall of Fame and Freebody Park suites) which had the adde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartG18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east hampton, ct
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

My husband and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at the end of June. We came to Newport for a short trip and found this gem! It is in walking distance to Thames St.,where all the main shopping is found and conveniently located to the mansions and Ocean Drive. The innkeeper Lorna greeted us upon our arrival, offered and recommended the best places to visit. This took place every morning during breakfast also and we both found this extremely helpful. The room was very clean and spacious and the Inn was quiet. Lorna was very instrumental in our anniversary dinner, she recommended the restaurant to us and she helped my husband coordinate a surprise for me. For this we were very grateful. We would definitly return!!!!Thanks Lorna!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonEastHampton_Ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

this was our second stay at the Belleview,and mostly assuredly,not our last. The biggest part of our trip is for the tennis tournament,and the location could not be more convenient,since you can see the courts from the windows!! Walking distance to everything, and including breakfast to your order-- what could be better? We also appreciate the 2 room suites- so comfortable and roomy for our week long stay. Lorna and her staff are super. The breakfast room had been added on since our stay in 2009, and that only made it better. We love this place!! And like everyone else, we also love the afternoon cookies. Thank you Lorna!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gustyandmaxmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.7 mi away
Cleveland House
Cleveland House
#43 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#5 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ivy Lodge
Ivy Lodge
#11 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samuel Durfee House
Samuel Durfee House
#13 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hydrangea House Inn
Hydrangea House Inn
#3 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle View Inn

Property: Belle View Inn
Address: 22 Freebody St, Newport, RI 02840-3548
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the spectacular Cliff Walk at Newport Beach and downtown Newport is Belle View Inn. Our Grand Victorian features views of the legendary Tennis Hall of Fame. We get rave reviews from our guests since are rooms are spacious and well appointed and they love our our central location in the heart of Newport. We are an easy walk to downtown, the harbor, the beach, the mansions, Cliff Walk, the Tennis Hall of Fame and Salve Regina University. Private and secure with free off-street parking, private baths, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, relaxing decks and porches, fresh-baked afternoon cookies and free Wireless Internet (Wi-Fi). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Belle View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing