We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Belle View Inn”
Review of Belle View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belle View Inn
Ranked #61 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Just returned from a fantastic stay at the Inn. The room was immaculate and it was a comfortable place to relax. Ideal location near everything. The breakfast each morning was delicious with various breakfast choices. The Inn Keepers Tony and Lorna are very kind and offer recommendations to help determine where to have dinner and sight see. Emily the assistant Inn Keeper also made sure we were happy. The view of the Ospry's nest was an extra bonus that makes this Inn unique. Pricing is extremely reasonable and you are doing an injustice if you don't stay here. We will frequent with another trip in the very near future!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2012

I'm a native Newporter and when I come back to visit, I like knowing that this is going to be here. Our particular room was quite large, very clean, and had high-quality decor. Although very quiet, it's in a central location - can walk to many excellent restaurants and interesting parts of Newport. You are adjacent to a lot of interesting history - Tennis Hall of Fame on one side an early Newport Jazz Festival on the other. Breakfast was excellent and Lorna is a very friendly, thoughtful host. She really cares about her guests' comfort and satisfaction. If I know friends are going to Newport, this is the place I recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

The hospitality here was excellent and our room was huge - almost like an entire apartment for much cheaper than most B&B's will give you for a smaller space. Definitely worth every penny and more. Lorna is great and gives all kinds of recommendations for things to do and see. The room was also very clean and modern. Breakfast was plentiful with hand selected pastries every day. Some reviewers mentioned the fact that the inn faces the grocery store loading dock, but we honestly didn't mind that. It's not like you're spending all day there - we were so busy doing activities and sight seeing that we left early in the mornings and came back late at night. It was actually very convenient to everything (maybe 15 minute walk to the harbor) and we were treated very kindly. My only wish is that the shower would have been a little bigger. The bathroom was large for an inn but that shower was so tiny (and I am not a large person). A small point though since we absolutely loved our stay here. Thanks for having us!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Poppyfield_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed at this lovely Inn during the International Tennis Hall of Fame Induction weekend.
We could not have picked a nicer place. Besides the location being perfect, the Inn itself
was top notch.

The Innkeepers, Tony and Lorna do a fantastic job! Tony's talented ability to design a
room is amazing. The furnishings are just great, along with the woodwork and fixtures.
Lorna greeted us warmly, and the atmosphere for the delicious continental breakfast
was perfect, either sitting outside on the deck or in the beautiful dining room.

We would certainly stay there again with no reservations, as we cannot say enough about
this charming Inn. Parking was terrific too, and that is a real plus!

Thanks to Lorna and Tony for a perfect stay!

Jane and Nancy

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stowe-host
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Very clean , comfortable and affordable. Lorna great and made us feel at home. We will go back very soon.The continental breakfast had large variety of items.
Nancy O.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacation609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I was in Newport for the Tennis Hall of Fame Championships, and I wanted to stay as near the tennis center as possible... Well, you can't get much closer than the Belle View Inn! The entire experience was beyond my expectations... very clean, affordable, great breakfast, and the nicest innkeepers you could hope to meet. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My family stayed at the Belle View Inn for the third summer last week. As a multi-generational group (ages 23-87), we all find the Belle View to be comfortable and accommodating. Since we live over seas, it is especially helpful that Lorna supplies extra things like beach chairs and umbrellas and always makes us feel at home.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarthaMacf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,097 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pilgrim House Inn
Pilgrim House Inn
#26 of 96 in Newport
117 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Victorian Ladies Inn
Victorian Ladies Inn
#29 of 96 in Newport
276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room
0.4 mi away
Historic Hill Inn
Historic Hill Inn
#36 of 96 in Newport
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle View Inn

Address: 22 Freebody St, Newport, RI 02840-3548
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: £94 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Belle View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the spectacular Cliff Walk at Newport Beach and downtown Newport is Belle View Inn. Our Grand Victorian features views of the legendary Tennis Hall of Fame. We get rave reviews from our guests since are rooms are spacious and well appointed and they love our our central location in the heart of Newport. We are an easy walk to downtown, the harbor, the beach, the mansions, Cliff Walk, the Tennis Hall of Fame and Salve Regina University. Private and secure with free off-street parking, private baths, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, relaxing decks and porches, fresh-baked afternoon cookies and free Wireless Internet (Wi-Fi). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Belle View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing