We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what you would expect for the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wynstone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wynstone
Ranked #65 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not what you would expect for the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I want to give a good review, but I can't. This inn is a satellite of a group of inns. You check in at a central location and are given instructions as to where to go. That is fine, and I knew it when I booked and had all the locations in the GPS.

After check in with Rick who was very, if not too friendly, we drove to the Wynstone, which is a classic and historic Newport home. Parking was tight but we appreciated having parking as we were only a block to the waterfront. There is a short walk from the car to the front of the inn, some steep stairs, a locked door to navigate, and then some more very steep steps to our room, the Belcourt. The room is not a place you want to spend any time in.

The bed is not very welcoming, three steps to even get in, and had an ordinary mattress and pillows. It takes over the room (which is small to start). On the other hand the bathroom was very nice, while the tub is aged. The trim in the bathroom is unfinished with missing pieces and exposed screws.

We spent the day and early evening out of the room. When we retired we found that the TV had horrible reception, with lines down the screen and snow for every channel. I stay up while my husband goes to sleep early, and there was no space in the room to accommodate this in the evening or on the flip side in the morning when he gets up early. The bed is a danger and I was petrified to get up in the dark to use the facilities having to think about taking the steps out of the bed.

We thought there was going to be a breakfast as promoted but a little before 9 am there was no sign. We had to be somewhere at 9:45, and found that at 9:15 when we came down stairs all packed to leave, there started to be life in the dining room, but it was too late for us to catch more than a nibble. At that, the breakfast was nothing special, do it yourself toast, and basic eggs with sausage or bacon and pancakes. No fresh baked goods, which is what I would have loved to grab and eat. No yogurt or fruit either. In the dining room there was bare wood exposed on the trim and a shabby air about it.

When we travel around the world we have experienced all sorts of accommodations and have a healthy tolerance for an acceptable margin of error. I was truly shocked at the quality of this property for the price charged. It is redeemed only by the location and the parking.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scsvirsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    8
    6
    8
    4
See reviews for
5
37
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Belcourt room for one night. We checked in at the Cleveland House and the woman there was friendly but didn't offer any advice about the city as others have mentioned. When you get to the Wynstone, be prepared to take your luggage up some pretty steep stairs. There was a huge bed that dominated the room. Furniture was in front of several of the windows so you couldn't really let any natural light in. The room felt a bit gloomy as a result. A substance (wine maybe) had been spilled down the side of the mattress cover by a previous guest and had not been washed. There were also stains on the carpet. The bed was not comfortable and they basically give you 4 small square pillows to sleep with. I am not counting the decorative throw pillows that were on the bed as I wouldn't use those (unwashed). On the positive side, the location is great, and there was a friendly young man who made a delicious breakfast for us in the morning. Overall for what you get, I think it was very overpriced, and we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColleenSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

This is one of the classic/old style inns in Newport old town. about 7 short blocks from the main town square, but close 2 blocks to restaurants/premenade/marina. The inn is part of a group of classic inns. must be similar to others. you need to eat breakfast and check-in at a different location then than the actual inn. the room was not perfect, but at least manager was sensetive to comments/problems.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikez1299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We were originally booked at The Cleveland House but upon checking in we discovered were were "upgraded" to The Wynstone property and we were not dissapointed. This location was even better for our show at the Yachting Center and is ideally located with short walking distance to all that downtown Newport offers. Never having stayed at a B&B before, I was apprehensive at first but really enjoyed the authentic ambiance our room (Rosecliff) provided and the 2 person jacuzzi tub inside the huge bathroom is quite a lovely surprise. My only recommendation would be to have a ceiling fan installed in the bathroom as the AC window unit in the bedroom does not realy cool the bathroom off. Having our own front door key was a novelty and I felt like I was staying at a private home. Thanks for a lovely overnight stay!

Room Tip: Rosecliff Room can be a little noisy at nightime as you face Memorial Blvd. Light sleepers may want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allenchey239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Booked a three nights at the Clarketon Inn and was upgraded to The Wynstone Inn. Apparently the Inns of Newport are managed by the same company. This was my first time staying at a B&B and I must say I was impressed. The location was superb being within walking distance of the downtown area. The room was very clean and the staff was professional and courteous. If you are looking for an Inn to stay at in Newport, I'd recommend you look into the Wynstone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donandres142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawtucket
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

This pass weekend was our second time staying with the Inns of Newport, my husband and I have made it an annual trip to chowder fest and this time we stayed at the Wynstone for not one but two nights, it was really nice and the staff there are very friendly and helpfull.We had a little room on the third floor that was really nice and comfy....I can not say enough good things about this place, we had awesome time the breakfast is great and the owner was very very nice on the phone with our late check in and check out....HIghly recommend and we will be staying there again next year....Thank you to everyone that made our stay and very welcoming one...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morges, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

An amazing stay in this old house, perfectly decorated to make you feel in a Gilded Age mansion... with nowadays comfort! Perfectly located, nearby the city center. A special mention to the amazing team: Rick (thanks again for everything!) a great host, Jo for you endless smiles and a great cooking chef which make mouthwatering breakfast (pastries, eggs, french toast, pancakes....) on demand.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothee_Sven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ivy Lodge
Ivy Lodge
#12 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melville House
Melville House
#71 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
America's Cup Inn
America's Cup Inn
#23 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clarkeston
The Clarkeston
#39 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almondy Inn
Almondy Inn
#13 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wynstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wynstone

Property: The Wynstone
Address: 232 Spring Street, Newport, RI 02840
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wynstone 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wynstone is ideally located just one block up from the waterfront and the center of Newport. Guest rooms include fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, cable TV/VCR, fine linens and custom fabrics. Each room is meant to be reminiscent of the richly adorned mansions of Newport's Gilded Age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Wynstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wynstone Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing