We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Wellington” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wellington Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Wellington Resort
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved the Wellington”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2007

My wife and I stayed at The Wellington resort 10/12 - 10/19/07.
Truly enjoyed the bay and harbor and the yearly seafood festival was in full swing. We stayed in a 2 bedroom two bath with a harbor view to die for. I don't understand the negative reviews as we were very happy. We toured the mansions saw the sights.

The desk employees were terrific and steered us in the right direction, even gave us a heads up on a pizza parlor "Via Via" that also has a seafood menu. They delivered two whole lobster dinners, lobster bisque and clams marinara with some penne pasta that was second to none and much more affordable and better then some of the seafood restraunts.

I will be back next Oct. for the seafood and the change of the color foliage it was breath taking.

Great job Wellington you can take a bow!

Anja and Harry ages early sixties.

  • Liked — Seafood restraunts, mansions indoor pool
  • Disliked — Not being able to stay another week.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mjrhln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    36
    9
    9
    9
See reviews for
34
36
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2007

I exchanged into the resort through RCI despite reading the past reviews. Sure the resort interiors are a little dated, but the condo itself was immaculate! The staff was very friendly at check in even giving us some reccomendations as to where we can enjoy a good happy hour. We had a two bedroom unit which was much bigger than many two bedroom condos at similar resorts. The kitchens do not have a stove but we ate out most nights anyway. The views of Newport Harbor were lovely. Loved waking up in the morning to step out on the balcony to see the cruise ships and sail boats. The resort itself is within walking distance to practically everything in Newport and we enjoyed the convenience to the shopping and dining in the area. Overall had a great time in Newport and would definately go back to the Wellington.

  • Liked — The size of the condominium!
  • Disliked — The dated interior and old electronics.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Scarlet_Be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
masschusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2007

I had a 2 nite reservation for a 1 bedroom. A few days prior we had a family emergency that resulted in a Death. I had called the resort prior to our arrival stating we wouldnt be keeping our reservation. She expl no cancellations...That we would get charged for one nite. Recv credit card bill and got a $500 charge...Called resort to see if
we could work out something- They expl NO...So sorry, but chgs remained. Left msg for mgr, she left me a v/mail stating there was nothing she could do. I was willing to work with them but they wouldnt have it. I feel their customer service is unacceptable. I should of know as previous posts dont give this resort a high rating...Next time I will look at the Hyatt, or Marriot...

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank lilymae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Tx.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2007

Stayed at The Wellington for the Memorial day weekend. Loved it, the amenities and also Newport. So many things to do and many within mere walking distance. If you come, be sure to see the Mansions. They are truly a spectacle.

  • Liked — Location...In the heart of the shopping scene.
  • Disliked — No beach, but not a prob. One is minutes away.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jejarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton RI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2007

WE stayed in a 2 BR unit in Jan 2007. The insulation between units is nonexistant. It sounded like the neighbors were in your suite. Heat is non controllable. You share thermo with other part of unit. Had to open slidders to cool down the place. No stove other than a micro and a toaster oven. NO Linen for soafer bed, POOR HOUSEKEEPING SERVICE. $200 deposit we left was charged $50 for trash in unit (so they said).We may have left tissues in bathroom trash unit. other than that allegations were false. Charges fabricated, when we approached the management, they then said that there were alcohol stains in the carpet and 2 bags worth of trash were left behind. TOTALLY FALSE.Why didn't they say that in the initial documentation of the incident . Also telephone charges were charged to room during a time when we weren't even there. We are FAIRFIELD RESORT VIP MEMBERS AND WORST PLACE WE HAVE EVER STAYED. STAY AWAY< Warning Buyer beware. THEY ARE CROOKED

Ernie & Nina Pooler

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
11 Thank ernie120252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walton,ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2006

we are here on a timeshare exchange.. everyone had to move cars to another lot as there is an 'enviromental problem' here which, i am told, will be a long process to repair. if we had known of this problem, we certainly would have exchanged elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank n2orn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2006

Stayed at the Wellington April 2006. Very nice timeshare. Clean, 2 decks, beautiful view of Newport harbor and Newport Bridge. Short walk to shops and restaurants.

Helpful?
6 Thank MassachusettsDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.7 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
0.9 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
#12 of 21 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Resort

Property: Wellington Resort
Address: 551 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wellington Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Resort Newport
Wellington Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing