We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just terrible...and frankly, that is an understatement”
Review of Wellington Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wellington Resort
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just terrible...and frankly, that is an understatement”
Reviewed 18 September 2008

I am not the type of person that would typically feel compelled to write a review of something unless my experience was extraordinary - either in a postive way or a negative one. My experience at the Wellington was overwhelmingly negative. For starters, the accomodations were dingy and outdated. I am someone that feels a hotel is not bad if it is at least clean. This place was not clean. In fact, the place had an overall smell that was slightly nauseating. Combine that with the fact that the rates were entirely too overpriced for what you got. No stove, poor quality linens, very limited amenities. Not at all what was advertised.

The best thing about the place was the view - we happened to pay for a top floor suite. That said, however, they had advertised a nice balcony with 'sweeping views of the water'. Not so. Our so-called balcony felt like a tiny open box. There was not enough room for more than 2 people out there at one time.

The worst experience of our stay was hands-down the rudeness of the staff and their unwillingness to help in any way. I travel quite often and have stayed in many excellent resorts and hotels, but I have never been treated in such a condescending, disrespectful way. I not only would never recommend this resort to anyone, I would go so far as to dissuade them from staying here.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The rudeness of the staff
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Cjep71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    38
    10
    9
    9
See reviews for
36
36
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2008

Stayed several times in the past. This property has become VERY WORN! The kitchens are a mess. Tiles have huge black chips in them, which really stand out since the tiles are white. Similarly, the counters and cabinets are very beat up. Outdated, worn carpeting. Think old dorm room quality. The indoor pool is horrendous. It is a mold spore waiting to happen. You cannot access this pool without going outside first. In the off-season, we froze with the waterfront winds howling as we went back and forth to this "convenient" building on two different days. And worse, the water was cold on day 2. My children are avid swimmers of chilly New England oceans. Yet, they found this pool to be too cold and swam all of 5 minutes and were done. Also, there aren't any 'no smoking' rooms as they are deeded timeshares or whatever they call them. Again, BUYER BEWARE. The worst thing of all... regardless of high season or low season, they enforce a 30-day cancellation fee. Yes, that is NOT a typo. A 30-day cancellation fee. Wow, how to work with your customers Wellington! And worse, even if you give them thay very short notice of ONE MONTH for your cancellation, they still whack you with a $25 fee. By comparison, the Marriott, a premier property in town, asks for 3 day cancellation. Why can't this worn out place do the same? If it weren't for the location, I'd give it a 1. But if you are willing to overlook the worn rooms, the smokey smell, the cold moldy pool.... you can play "Russian Roullette" with your stay here. Oh, the desk closes at 8:00 pm, so don't expect any help after that!

  • Liked — Location. Then again, a seaweed-covered rock has a great ocean view also.
  • Disliked — The dorm room 'quality' of everything
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sraema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n.h.
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2008

My wife and I had never been there before and we purchased the vacation on line site unseen......
We were blown away at the size of the 2br 2 bath unit siding door out onto the deck over looking the bay
I read a lot of mixed reveiws on line and was not sure what we would find when we got there....The wellington is a time share resort.....

And all units have an A side and a B side given the units are a little out dated not a big deal there located right on the water waking up saturday morning looking out at the harbor watch cruise ships pull into the port was amazing.....

The resort is located at the end of the busy strip and right next to a very nice park there is lots of parking and the main strip is a ten minute walk to the main hub of down town but there great stores, bars and rest.. all up and down the road on both sides.

in all the wellington is located perfectly on the strip close enough to every thing for a very short walk but just enough off the crazy parting area that it does bother you if you want just a quite night drinking on the deck

We were so thrilled with every thing that we had to become a owner at this resort. and we did.......were in our early 30's and we tool our parants on vacation with us and they could not beleive how nice this place was the plus over camr the minuses by far and my farther travels all mexico ...aruba .... and he could not beleive the great deal the size of the unit and it's right on the water they like us were blown away.....for those that like to smash this resort ....they did not do there home work on it ....most of the propety on the main strips are either time shares or b&b's and if you rent out the whole unit by far it will blow away any hotel in the area dinning area 2 bath 2 br living room 2 tvs and dvd plaes oh did i mention washer dryer in unit the kitchen is stock with evering thing u need for uttensils cooking eqpt. dish cups ...mic...hot pan..toaster and toaster oven....dish washer ic maker..... only a few unit have stove but there is a ful kitchen in the main office that all can use if u want ....there is al so a bbq area dvd u can use at the office a computer as well if u for got ur laptop and wifi as well

Sorry for all the praise but i am four weeks away from my next visit and i am looking forward to going


WE JUST LOVE IT THERE :)

  • Liked — lrage and roomy felt like home
  • Disliked — nothing it all was great if i had to be picky there is no hot tub
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank joericci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2008

The staff at the Wellington Resort were extremely rude. The rules at the Wellington are outrageous and very misleading. They should advertise their resort as "family" only and not lease rooms to single people, who want to go enjoy a vacation. This place is not for you. The suite I stayed in was in desperate need of a renovation and is not worth the money you spend to stay there. We found a much better resort down the road for half the cost. I would NEVER recommend this place. Terrible, terrible, terrible.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2008

Nice location but too many rules and policies. "Guests" are requested to strip their own beds at end of stay and there is no maid service. Draconian late check out penalty policy as if 10AM isn't bad enough. Air Conditioning EXTREMELY loud. Kept waking up normally heavy sleepers. We left for greener pastures after one night. There is just something uncomortable about the whole place. Much better options in Newport

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBGNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2008

We booked our stay through Ocean State Rentals.com, a booking agent that advertised the Wellington. The location of the "resort" was wonderful and the view from our 2 bedroom condo was first rate. If it wasn't for this, we would have left the "resort" to go elsewhere. Prior to our stay we called to see if they had a crib available for our baby. THe front desk assured me they had one and they would put it in our room. We decided not to make any other arrangements for sleeping for our baby. However, the crib that was given to us had no bumper and a sheet that did not fit the mattress. THe bars on the crib were so far apart that my son was sticking his leg through it and then getting his ankle stuck. When we approached the front desk they were unhelpful and rude and told us to take up the problem with our "booking agent." They ALSO were unhelpful and told us to rent a crib from somewhere in Newport, but the place was closed for the day so basically we out of luck for the night. My husband found a walmart and we purchased a pack and play on our own. I am sure that things would have been different if the CC payment had not cleared. Basically, the wellington said it is not their problem and OCEAN STATE RENTALS said it was not their problem. I would never return here b/c of the poor customer service. OCEAN STATE RENTALS should be upfront with people and tell them that they are basically on their own for any services. This was never told to me when I booked the room with Lisa and John at OCEAN STATE RENTALS. We travel alot and have never had an experience like this. We are reasonable simple people and just expected some help in making other arrangements (we asked at the front desk if they could call another hotel in the area to rent or borrow a crib and they said "NO!") SHAME ON YOU WELLINGTON AND OCEAN STATE RENTALS! Tell your cusomers the truth; that you DO NOT PROVIDE CUSTOMER SERVICE OF ANY KIND!

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — cutomer service
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KGMNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2007

My wife and I stayed at The Wellington resort 10/12 - 10/19/07.
Truly enjoyed the bay and harbor and the yearly seafood festival was in full swing. We stayed in a 2 bedroom two bath with a harbor view to die for. I don't understand the negative reviews as we were very happy. We toured the mansions saw the sights.

The desk employees were terrific and steered us in the right direction, even gave us a heads up on a pizza parlor "Via Via" that also has a seafood menu. They delivered two whole lobster dinners, lobster bisque and clams marinara with some penne pasta that was second to none and much more affordable and better then some of the seafood restraunts.

I will be back next Oct. for the seafood and the change of the color foliage it was breath taking.

Great job Wellington you can take a bow!

Anja and Harry ages early sixties.

  • Liked — Seafood restraunts, mansions indoor pool
  • Disliked — Not being able to stay another week.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mjrhln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.7 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.9 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
646 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,014 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Resort

Property: Wellington Resort
Address: 551 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Wellington Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Resort Newport
Wellington Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing