We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple and to the point” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windsome Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windsome Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #54 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Simple and to the point”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

This is a no frills B&B. Room was very nice and very clean! It's really simple in terms of layout- 2 rooms and a small living area. Breakfast is left for you in the morning (fruit/yogurt or eggs) Location is pretty good...2 minute drive to beach and 3 minutes from town (not sure what walking distance is).

It's not a fancy B&B by any means but it's perfect if you just need a nice room to stay in while your exploring Newport.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

The property was nice and clean. Valerie was also nice. I do have to say it was a little less than we expected from a B & B experience, but not bad. We were given blueberry muffins and fruit and a pot of coffee that was left on the table before she left for work. I did have to reheat my coffee only to discover there wasn't enough sugar for the three of us to have coffee, and there was no one to ask for more. I guess I'm just used to staying where people are home to provide breakfast when you wake, and are there if you need something and this is not that type of place. There was no shampoo or conditioner, which we have become accustomed to where we stay. It was just the little things that we missed. I would still recommend as long as people know what to expect. Again the rooms were nice as was Valerie, the amenities were just a little less than we expected.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LWas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We just spent 2 nights in the Autumn room last week. We really liked the room and everything that Valerie and Patrick provided. I'd echo other comments about their graciousness while giving you your space. In fact, we never did see Patrick. The room rates are also very reasonable, and the breakfast was more than adequate - and tasty. The only drawback for us was that the Autumn room is very light very early in the mornings. Coming from the midwest, we were used to it getting light about an hour later than it gets light on the east coast. We don't often stay in B&B's, but we'd certainly stay here again if we had the chance.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CEChandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

I stayed in the Autumn Room last summer. Valerie and Patrick were gracious hosts who went out of their way to send me off with tasty omelets and fresh fruit each morning yet who also were quite content to leave their guests to themselves. Quite a refreshing change from some B&Bs where the hosts hover and push.

Having breakfast either in the morning room or in my own room was nice. Valerie recommended a local restaurant (Flo's Clam Shack) for me that was off the Newport tourist path. It was a fun place with v good food. Much more my style than the more formal restaurants. (Having said that, UpScale was quite good. If you are one or two people, I suggest sitting on the tiny balcony.)

Back to the B&B: The Autumn room was a wonderful quiet room to come home to at the end of long days of gadding about Newport. The bed was comfortable, and the sheets were cool to sleep in after a long summer's day of walking. I also appreciated the wi-fi.

All in all, the Windsome B&B is a wonderful place to stay if you want a place with just the right mix of attention and independence.

Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank 373931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney,Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

Of the 18 B&B's we stayed in on this trip, Windsome was equal first. Clean, lovely uncluttered room, space to put bags and toiletries, a table to use the laptop or write letters on. Our host Valerie was very welcoming and provided 24 hour tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk provided. This is always welcome on arrival after a long ddrive or hard day of being a tourist A living room (shared with one other room) was also appreciated, where we could sit and read or have our refreshments and listen to music.
The bed was very comfortable, but instructions on how to work the tap would be helpful. People who wear glasses don't wear them in a shower and this bath/shower combo tested even my mechanically able husband, especially without our glasses. I don't think in all the B&B's we have stayed in that we have come across two the same.
Breakfast on day one was lovely fresh juice, a bowl of fresh fruit and the best muffins I have ever had as well as freshly made tea and coffee. Day two's breakfast was juice followed by freshly cooked fried eggs, tomato and toast.

One of the disappointments in nearly all the B&B's is the lack of any laundry facilities, not even any information about where to get laundry done. For long-term travellers this would be excellent, even paying a small fee to use these appliances would be a help and save a lot of dripping laundry in the bathroom.

A highlight of our stay in Newport was of course visiting two of the mansions, but a guided walk through the historical part of town was fascinating but best of all was our meal at the Commodore Room at the Black Pearl Restaurant in the heart of Newport on Bowen's Wharf. Make sure you don't wear jeans and casual gear. We were looked up and down prior to being given admittance to this hallowed ground, but once in the ambience and the food were memorable. The meal was not cheap, but was better value than another restaurant nearby.
We would most certainly recommend Windsome B&B. It has off-street parking, a short drive to all sites and was just a delightful place to stay, and wished we could stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonnie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomar, Portugal
Level Contributor
161 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

Just got back (2 couples) from 3 nights at Windsome and can't find a fault in the world. The two lovely bedrooms each with ample bath and a nice parlor in the middle created a true home-away-from home experience. Valerie & Patrick were attentive and efficient but never intrusive (you get your key and treat it like your own house), and the breakfeasts were just right. Set in a quiet residential neighborhood, a healthy walk or quick car ride to the main attractions, and at a great price for pricey Newport. We would go back and will definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravennarose96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

Though the outside appears a bit rundown, the rooms are extremely well kept, pleasant and clean. The response to our questions, breakfast, etc. were excellent. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noname1Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
2.0 mi away
Bay Willows Inn
Bay Willows Inn
#12 of 18 in Middletown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Seabreeze Inn
The Seabreeze Inn
#13 of 18 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rhea's Inn and Restaurant
Rhea's Inn and Restaurant
#3 of 9 in Middletown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Admiral Sims' House
Admiral Sims' House
#46 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Henry Collins Inn
The Henry Collins Inn
#33 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rhea's Inn by the Sea
Rhea's Inn by the Sea
#1 of 9 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsome Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsome Bed and Breakfast

Property: Windsome Bed and Breakfast
Address: 81 Gibbs Ave, Newport, RI 02840-2216
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing