We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pearls of Newport

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pearls of Newport
Ranked #70 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Middlebury, Connecticut
1 review
“The Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Charming place with history. Get away from the hum-drum hotel rooms. Ray, the owner and greeter, had a bank of knowledge, not just of the area, but pretty much anything you may want to talk about. A friendly guy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Edward889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    35
    13
    18
    39
See reviews for
36
129
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Pearls over Thanksgiving week. We had a lovely suite that featured a fireplace, comfortable king-sized bed and large bathroom. We particularly enjoyed conversing with owner Ray who has many talents and fascinating life stories worth listening to. Ray is an excellent cook and was willing to accommodate my dietary needs serving me gluten-free muffins and a delicious kale omelet. The coffee, fresh-pressed, was also excellent. The staff was equally helpful and made sure our stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank brach5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night and wished we had stayed longer. We were greeted by Ray, the owner, who was so welcoming and gave us a tour of the property. Our room, #8, was perfect with furnishings representative of an old newport B and B. We had a real working fireplace next to our bed, which Ray gave us a log for - along with a free bottle of Caberbnet to enjoy by the fire (in our bathrobes which were hanging up for us on arrival). The room was clean, and very roomy.
This place was a brief walk from the town, literally down a small hill, we had access to all of the shops and amazing restaurants. We ate at 22 Bowens at Ray's reccomendation and we were not disappointed.
In the morning, we packed up so we could head out to the mansions. Before we left Ray cooked us an excellent breakfast! Homemade pastry, fresh coffee and juice, variety of fruit chopped up and a he cooked the best omellete with fresh vegetables and quinoa. We sat with Ray and another couple and shared stories over breakfast.
I wish there was a B and B and a "ray" everywhere we traveled. We will definetely come back and HIGHLY reccomend this place!
And if you drive in, there is plenty of parking.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Went on Veterans Day weekend for a quick little getaway. The room was nice has a few little things wrong, but overall comfortable and relaxing. The 2 person whirlpool tub worked great, and the bed was very comfortable. Unfortunately the fireplace wasn't working and a few things around the room were broken.
The location was great, the owner Ray suggested a few excellent restaurants to try and booked the reservations for us. Breakfast was very good each morning.
Everything was a short walk away. We had access to the gym and pool at the Marriott, a quick drive, which was very nice.
Overall had a great time. My wife and I have visited Newport several times and this ranks right up there with the major hotels in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pkaspar14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

My fiancée and I stayed at Pearls for a romantic weekend. We received a nice upgrade and a bottle of wine upon arrival (thanks Ray!). It was Restaurant Week, so Ray was kind enough to make suggestions and reservations for us. Wish we could've stayed longer.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shannock r.i.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was our first time at the Pearl, and right when we first got there the feeling was warm and friendly. Delicious apps to relax us and feel at home. After a quick cocktail we were off to explore Thames street a block away. Ray did a wonderful job to keep our stay as comfortable as possible. It was my wifes birthday and she had a great time. can"t wait to return again. Thanks Ray. J.Clark

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank E8386XPjohn_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Being true Rhode Islander's, we seldom take the time to appreciate what this great state has to offer. Thanks to Ray and Pearls of Newport, we were reminded this weekend. Ray makes you feel like you're visiting a favorite, doting uncle. With great food, fun, friendly conversation and warm, welcoming rooms, our stay with family and friends was made extra special. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.0 mi away
Howland House Inn
Howland House Inn
#45 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burbankrose
Burbankrose
#32 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelham Court Hotel
Pelham Court Hotel
#24 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Henry Collins Inn
The Henry Collins Inn
#26 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Almondy Inn
Almondy Inn
#12 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fair Street Guest House
Fair Street Guest House
#29 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearls of Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearls of Newport

Property: Pearls of Newport
Address: 41 Pelham St, Newport, RI 02840-3018
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pearls of Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pearls voted as "One of Top 10 Places to Stay in the World" by an established International Travel website is a place not to be missed. With five historic homes comprising Pearls it is considered Newport's most Cosmopolitan Inn located in Newport's Historic Hill and just steps away from Newport Harbor. With the Victorian main house, circa 1865 its grand staircase, stained glass windows, fine artwork and museum pieces, Pearls is a place to experience for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pearls Of Newport Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing