We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old World Charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vanderbilt Grace

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Vanderbilt Grace
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Old World Charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

This beautiful establishment was once a home built by a Vanderbilt. It has kept the charm and ambience of the original home. The sitting and dining rooms are comfortable and welcoming. Our bedroom, which was a Junior Suite, was large and nicely furnished. The staff at the front desk, particularly Nate and William, were knowledgeable, personable, and available at all times. All of the men who served as porters were helpful and pleasant. A lavish breakfast was presented every morning. When we had difficulty substituting a breakfast item, the men at the desk took care of the situation very nicely. There was ample closet and drawer space in the Junior Suite but an extra wide shelf in the bathroom would have been helpful. I hesitated giving the establishment 5 stars instead of 4 stars because the windows could have been cleaned on the outside as well as inside. It would have given us a clearer view.
Everything else was in the 5 star category.

Room Tip: Pick a Junior Suite that has more closet space and a separate living room. Next time, I would pick a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    87
    34
    14
    6
See reviews for
111
351
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

While there are many lovely inns and B&Bs in Newport, nothing gives you a truer, more luxurious taste of what it would have been like to live here in style at the turn of the century. This is an historic house built by a Vanderbilt, converted into an upscale hotel experience without losing any sense of the original charm. You are practically over-serviced by the doormen, concierge's and other staff, whether they are helping you with luggage, getting your bearings in town or attending to your every need. The beautiful garden is ideal for breakfasts or drinks before dinner. The rooftop deck offers unobstructed harbor views. And the spa pampers you like an Astor. Great location in a quiet side street just off of bustling Thames, you are walking distance from the Visitors' Center (easy, cheap transportation to the mansions) or the many charms that the downtown and historic areas have to offer. There is authentic turn of the century art in the common areas, and the rooms are spacious, well appointed and expertly maintained by the housekeeping staff. Bravo.

Room Tip: The suites on the second floor are spacious, comfortable and quiet, and not much more expensive than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VParry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

This old former Vanderbilt mansion has been converted to a wonderful, modern hotel. The current owners have done some finishing touches that bring it to a level comparable to any 5 star hotel. The rooms are beautiful, well decorated and very comfortable. The bathrooms are good sized and well appointed.

The staff is most attentive to every need. Upon our arrival the Director of the hotel greeted us with a glass of champagne and directed us to the check in desk, not counter. From the bell staff to the housekeeping staff, everyone was pleasant and professional.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rdeluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

My wife & I stayed here for 4 days towards the end of August 2011. The location is good & the staff tries hard to please. However, the concierge services need some increase in knowledgeability & professionalism (talk to the Spa lady, she knows everything). The room we stayed in was fine, but not for prices that exceed those at the very best Four Seasons hotels in the world (where we've stayed). The bathroom totally lacks storage for your toiletries, supplying a knee high etage stacked with towels & a thin glass shelf atop the pedestal sink. Also, there's no full length mirror in the room itself.
Breakfasts are very good, but coffee service needs improvement by putting insulated carafes on the table. Coffee also lacks body. Charging $18/per day for parking in a non-urban environment is insulting. The manager of the hotel is very experienced and knows about the hotel's short comings, however we only saw him once during our stay. All in all, the hotel will provide a comfortable experience, but trust me it's WAY over priced. That said, we paid for it anyway & so do others.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Well trained and attentive staff although a little slow serving breakfast. We booked the smallest rooms- they were spacious and comfortable by any standard. Lovely outdoor garden and roof top seating area, chic bar but drinks were a little expensive even for this establishment. No one was dining in the evenings when we were there, probably down to the price. I understand the owners need to keep a certain exclusivity but a slight reduction in the bar and dining prices would have detered us from venturing out of the hotel in the evenings to dine.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesleyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Not sure why the Vanderbilt is rated #1 on TripAdvisor for hotels in Newport. Based on the excellent rating, we recently spent 2 nights at this hotel in one of their deluxe rooms.

On the plus side, the hotel is in a convenient location, just off the main street but away from the crowds. Upon checkin, they give you a glass of champagne, the second time we have encountered this nice amenity. The staff was very friendly; the room was clean and spacious.

On the negative side, the bed was not comfortable. This is key to any hotel, luxury or otherwise in my book. And although the room was spacious, there were no dressers in which to store your clothes - only a small closet. In the bathroom, there was no place to leave your toiletries - only a 3-inch wide glass shelf, that the hotel filled with their items. The sink was of the pedestal type so no counter space there. The air conditioner was loud, so when it came on, you could not hear the tv unless you turned up the volume very high. There was an indoor pool and an outdoor pool but the water in each of them was not clear. This may be due to the color of the pool itself but it was not inviting. There was no whirlpool, but there was a coed sauna.

Parking was an extra $18/day. Champagne breakfast was included which was advertised as continental but included 2 hot selections each day. One day service was slow to non-existent (as in I waited for 20 minutes for a glass of juice and finally gave up) and the next day, it was excellent.

The best part of the hotel was the roof deck. From there, you could see the Newport bridge and the harbor. It was a great place to watch the sunset while drinking wine from the Newport Vineyard.

Overall, I would select a different hotel the next time we visit Newport. For the price, there are better options.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MumaRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

This beautiful historic home has blossomed under new management, and we have rarely felt more welcomed. The "valued guest" reception began with the car valet who greeted us when we first arrived, and continued with every person we interacted with at the hotel, including the General Manager . From complimentary champagne in the reception lobby, to the elegant tucked away bar and billard room, to our roomy and tastefully furnished suite, to the manicured garden terrace, this small boutique hotel radiated a "Gilded Age" Experience. The location was a bonus - on a guiet street, but within just a few blocks of the bustling wharf area in downtown Newport. We will definately return!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SWD24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vanderbilt Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vanderbilt Grace

Property: The Vanderbilt Grace
Address: 41 Mary St, Newport, RI 02840-3027 (Formerly Vanderbilt Hall Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Vanderbilt Grace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vanderbilt Grace is a quintessential Newport mansion with 33 guest rooms and suites, full service spa with indoor and outdoor swimming pools, fitness center, roof terrace with amazing views of Newport Harbor and two restaurants. Experience our newly renovated, elegant restaurant Muse or enjoy casual a la carte dining at The Conservatory, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Vanderbilt Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanderbilt Grace Hotel Newport
Vanderbilt Hall Newport
Hotel Vanderbilt Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing