We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed before we even got there. Pay close attention to the deceiving packages.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vanderbilt Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Vanderbilt Grace
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointed before we even got there. Pay close attention to the deceiving packages.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

For two weeks I have been trying to book my honeymoon. My fiancé and I were looking forward to our stay after viewing their website. Not so much now, after 2 weeks of trying to book the honeymoon package, I got frustrated with their inability to provide me with a straight answer. I'm still waiting for last weeks call back to book the honeymoon package, which by the way is a scam, doesn’t be fooled. The package offers you the 5th night free, champagne and strawberries upon arrival, and a 4 course meal for two, champagne breakfast every morning included already with all their rooms arriving in November during their low season for $2199. Considering the superior is the lowest room rate they can offer at $425 a night, plus $257 for the add-on, the only actual savings is less than $200. There is no 5th night free; at most the only thing you are getting is the add-on for free. When I brought to a supervisors attention, his response was that the packages are meant to be more convenient than money saving, which is total misleading because you are really not getting an additional night free. When I asked him to correct me, he couldn't he agreed, but still did nothing to keep my business. My fiancé was so looking forward to staying at the Vanderbilt Grace; it sucks that now I have to disappoint her, because the hotel did not meet up to its name.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank melladrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VandMgr41, General Manager at The Vanderbilt Grace, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
We are certainly disappointed that a potential Vanderbilt Grace Hotel guest would be left with a less than positive experience, as well as not having a confirmed reservation at the termination of their conversation with our team members. It is our hope and goal to assure each caller that their reservation call be completed satisfactorily with confirmed reservations for accommodations and services of the utmost quality and rewarding holiday experience, second to none. I believe our Concierage has reached out to these potental guests with a thorough breakdown of rates and availability as recently as this morning 9/30. I would invite the original caller or fiance' to contact me personally in order to secure a reservation for a memorable honeymoon The Vanderbilt Grace. Managing Director, The Vanderbilt Grace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    87
    34
    14
    6
See reviews for
111
351
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mainer
Level Contributor
112 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

First, the service was impeccable. The only place we've stayed that even comes close to this level of service is the Waldorf Astoria. The staff was simply wonderful. Anticipated and responded to our every need.
The suite was spacious and clean with modern furnishings and all the amenities. The woodworking, high ceilings and fireplace were beautiful. Thoughtful touches included very convenient reading lights, k cup machine with selection of coffee, a working fireplace, and turndown service.
The shortcomings are few, and could be easily corrected. As noted by others, the bathroom lacked a place for toiletries. The narrow glass shelf above the sink is too narrow, and there is no other space for toiletries. Our suite was on the first floor, and the flood lights on the bldg were kept on all night, so the room was never completely dark even in the middle of the night. Even with the shades and louvers closed, the room was light. The a/c was also a little noisy, cycling on and off. The wireless was not working for a full day and night,not sure if this was a problem in the Inn or with their ISP.
We would stay again but might ask for a different room. Altho our room was lovely, the light at night was bothersome.

Room Tip: If bothered by light at night, do not get a room on the first floor. Floodlights on the bldg keep r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

This beautiful establishment was once a home built by a Vanderbilt. It has kept the charm and ambience of the original home. The sitting and dining rooms are comfortable and welcoming. Our bedroom, which was a Junior Suite, was large and nicely furnished. The staff at the front desk, particularly Nate and William, were knowledgeable, personable, and available at all times. All of the men who served as porters were helpful and pleasant. A lavish breakfast was presented every morning. When we had difficulty substituting a breakfast item, the men at the desk took care of the situation very nicely. There was ample closet and drawer space in the Junior Suite but an extra wide shelf in the bathroom would have been helpful. I hesitated giving the establishment 5 stars instead of 4 stars because the windows could have been cleaned on the outside as well as inside. It would have given us a clearer view.
Everything else was in the 5 star category.

Room Tip: Pick a Junior Suite that has more closet space and a separate living room. Next time, I would pick a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

While there are many lovely inns and B&Bs in Newport, nothing gives you a truer, more luxurious taste of what it would have been like to live here in style at the turn of the century. This is an historic house built by a Vanderbilt, converted into an upscale hotel experience without losing any sense of the original charm. You are practically over-serviced by the doormen, concierge's and other staff, whether they are helping you with luggage, getting your bearings in town or attending to your every need. The beautiful garden is ideal for breakfasts or drinks before dinner. The rooftop deck offers unobstructed harbor views. And the spa pampers you like an Astor. Great location in a quiet side street just off of bustling Thames, you are walking distance from the Visitors' Center (easy, cheap transportation to the mansions) or the many charms that the downtown and historic areas have to offer. There is authentic turn of the century art in the common areas, and the rooms are spacious, well appointed and expertly maintained by the housekeeping staff. Bravo.

Room Tip: The suites on the second floor are spacious, comfortable and quiet, and not much more expensive than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VParry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

This old former Vanderbilt mansion has been converted to a wonderful, modern hotel. The current owners have done some finishing touches that bring it to a level comparable to any 5 star hotel. The rooms are beautiful, well decorated and very comfortable. The bathrooms are good sized and well appointed.

The staff is most attentive to every need. Upon our arrival the Director of the hotel greeted us with a glass of champagne and directed us to the check in desk, not counter. From the bell staff to the housekeeping staff, everyone was pleasant and professional.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rdeluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

My wife & I stayed here for 4 days towards the end of August 2011. The location is good & the staff tries hard to please. However, the concierge services need some increase in knowledgeability & professionalism (talk to the Spa lady, she knows everything). The room we stayed in was fine, but not for prices that exceed those at the very best Four Seasons hotels in the world (where we've stayed). The bathroom totally lacks storage for your toiletries, supplying a knee high etage stacked with towels & a thin glass shelf atop the pedestal sink. Also, there's no full length mirror in the room itself.
Breakfasts are very good, but coffee service needs improvement by putting insulated carafes on the table. Coffee also lacks body. Charging $18/per day for parking in a non-urban environment is insulting. The manager of the hotel is very experienced and knows about the hotel's short comings, however we only saw him once during our stay. All in all, the hotel will provide a comfortable experience, but trust me it's WAY over priced. That said, we paid for it anyway & so do others.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Well trained and attentive staff although a little slow serving breakfast. We booked the smallest rooms- they were spacious and comfortable by any standard. Lovely outdoor garden and roof top seating area, chic bar but drinks were a little expensive even for this establishment. No one was dining in the evenings when we were there, probably down to the price. I understand the owners need to keep a certain exclusivity but a slight reduction in the bar and dining prices would have detered us from venturing out of the hotel in the evenings to dine.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesleyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vanderbilt Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vanderbilt Grace

Property: The Vanderbilt Grace
Address: 41 Mary St, Newport, RI 02840-3027 (Formerly Vanderbilt Hall Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Vanderbilt Grace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vanderbilt Grace is a quintessential Newport mansion with 33 guest rooms and suites, full service spa with indoor and outdoor swimming pools, fitness center, roof terrace with amazing views of Newport Harbor and two restaurants. Experience our newly renovated, elegant restaurant Muse or enjoy casual a la carte dining at The Conservatory, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Vanderbilt Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanderbilt Grace Hotel Newport
Vanderbilt Hall Newport
Hotel Vanderbilt Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing