We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb vacation experience!”
Review of Grace Vanderbilt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grace Vanderbilt
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A superb vacation experience!”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

This is the place to go when you want a special weekend or vacation where you are warmly greeted, treated like royalty and stay in a beautiful, historic mansion. If you want to experience a touch of old world charm with all the modern amenities, stay here for a few nights. You won't want to leave! The room we had was a junior suite and it was spacious with a wonderful bed, walk in closet and large sitting area. The only minor negative to our room was the view. The distant view was of the bay, but right under our room were the large trash cans. However, the rooftop view at sunset was stunning and its a great place to have drinks. The patio has lovely couches, a fire pit and a pleasant ambiance and the entire property feels intimate and gracious. The breakfasts were generous and relaxing. There are lovely pools, a spa and a snooker room as well.
I have to say that the staff were some of the nicest and warmest I have encountered. Nate, Tilly, Joe were all exceptional, but really everyone treated us like honored family guests. A night at their restaurant makes it a truly memorable stay. I plan to go again someday and have recommended it already to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triangletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    91
    35
    14
    6
See reviews for
112
358
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

My husband and I were so looking forward to a romantic trip away from our busy lives leaving the kids at home and boy did Vanderbilt Grace live up to our expectations! While sipping on our welcome glass of champagne we were pleasantly surprised by the manager who greeted us in Greek (we are of Greek heritage). We stayed in one of the loft suites and have to say that our whole experience has been just amazing. The room was very clean, bed best ever, and breakfast was a dream (again, champagne was offered to us for free! wow!). Not sure why people would need more storage space when you are here for a couple of days but i guess everyone has their opinion. Newport has a lot to offer and would recommend the sunset cruise with the Aquidneck from the wharf. Can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

For two weeks I have been trying to book my honeymoon. My fiancé and I were looking forward to our stay after viewing their website. Not so much now, after 2 weeks of trying to book the honeymoon package, I got frustrated with their inability to provide me with a straight answer. I'm still waiting for last weeks call back to book the honeymoon package, which by the way is a scam, doesn’t be fooled. The package offers you the 5th night free, champagne and strawberries upon arrival, and a 4 course meal for two, champagne breakfast every morning included already with all their rooms arriving in November during their low season for $2199. Considering the superior is the lowest room rate they can offer at $425 a night, plus $257 for the add-on, the only actual savings is less than $200. There is no 5th night free; at most the only thing you are getting is the add-on for free. When I brought to a supervisors attention, his response was that the packages are meant to be more convenient than money saving, which is total misleading because you are really not getting an additional night free. When I asked him to correct me, he couldn't he agreed, but still did nothing to keep my business. My fiancé was so looking forward to staying at the Vanderbilt Grace; it sucks that now I have to disappoint her, because the hotel did not meet up to its name.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank melladrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VandMgr41, General Manager at Grace Vanderbilt, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
We are certainly disappointed that a potential Vanderbilt Grace Hotel guest would be left with a less than positive experience, as well as not having a confirmed reservation at the termination of their conversation with our team members. It is our hope and goal to assure each caller that their reservation call be completed satisfactorily with confirmed reservations for accommodations and services of the utmost quality and rewarding holiday experience, second to none. I believe our Concierage has reached out to these potental guests with a thorough breakdown of rates and availability as recently as this morning 9/30. I would invite the original caller or fiance' to contact me personally in order to secure a reservation for a memorable honeymoon The Vanderbilt Grace. Managing Director, The Vanderbilt Grace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainer
Level Contributor
114 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

First, the service was impeccable. The only place we've stayed that even comes close to this level of service is the Waldorf Astoria. The staff was simply wonderful. Anticipated and responded to our every need.
The suite was spacious and clean with modern furnishings and all the amenities. The woodworking, high ceilings and fireplace were beautiful. Thoughtful touches included very convenient reading lights, k cup machine with selection of coffee, a working fireplace, and turndown service.
The shortcomings are few, and could be easily corrected. As noted by others, the bathroom lacked a place for toiletries. The narrow glass shelf above the sink is too narrow, and there is no other space for toiletries. Our suite was on the first floor, and the flood lights on the bldg were kept on all night, so the room was never completely dark even in the middle of the night. Even with the shades and louvers closed, the room was light. The a/c was also a little noisy, cycling on and off. The wireless was not working for a full day and night,not sure if this was a problem in the Inn or with their ISP.
We would stay again but might ask for a different room. Altho our room was lovely, the light at night was bothersome.

Room Tip: If bothered by light at night, do not get a room on the first floor. Floodlights on the bldg keep r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This beautiful establishment was once a home built by a Vanderbilt. It has kept the charm and ambience of the original home. The sitting and dining rooms are comfortable and welcoming. Our bedroom, which was a Junior Suite, was large and nicely furnished. The staff at the front desk, particularly Nate and William, were knowledgeable, personable, and available at all times. All of the men who served as porters were helpful and pleasant. A lavish breakfast was presented every morning. When we had difficulty substituting a breakfast item, the men at the desk took care of the situation very nicely. There was ample closet and drawer space in the Junior Suite but an extra wide shelf in the bathroom would have been helpful. I hesitated giving the establishment 5 stars instead of 4 stars because the windows could have been cleaned on the outside as well as inside. It would have given us a clearer view.
Everything else was in the 5 star category.

Room Tip: Pick a Junior Suite that has more closet space and a separate living room. Next time, I would pick a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

While there are many lovely inns and B&Bs in Newport, nothing gives you a truer, more luxurious taste of what it would have been like to live here in style at the turn of the century. This is an historic house built by a Vanderbilt, converted into an upscale hotel experience without losing any sense of the original charm. You are practically over-serviced by the doormen, concierge's and other staff, whether they are helping you with luggage, getting your bearings in town or attending to your every need. The beautiful garden is ideal for breakfasts or drinks before dinner. The rooftop deck offers unobstructed harbor views. And the spa pampers you like an Astor. Great location in a quiet side street just off of bustling Thames, you are walking distance from the Visitors' Center (easy, cheap transportation to the mansions) or the many charms that the downtown and historic areas have to offer. There is authentic turn of the century art in the common areas, and the rooms are spacious, well appointed and expertly maintained by the housekeeping staff. Bravo.

Room Tip: The suites on the second floor are spacious, comfortable and quiet, and not much more expensive than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VParry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This old former Vanderbilt mansion has been converted to a wonderful, modern hotel. The current owners have done some finishing touches that bring it to a level comparable to any 5 star hotel. The rooms are beautiful, well decorated and very comfortable. The bathrooms are good sized and well appointed.

The staff is most attentive to every need. Upon our arrival the Director of the hotel greeted us with a glass of champagne and directed us to the check in desk, not counter. From the bell staff to the housekeeping staff, everyone was pleasant and professional.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdeluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grace Vanderbilt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Vanderbilt

Property: Grace Vanderbilt
Address: 41 Mary St, Newport, RI 02840-3027 (Formerly Vanderbilt Hall Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grace Vanderbilt 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grace Vanderbilt is a quintessential Newport mansion with 33 guest rooms and suites, full service spa with indoor and outdoor swimming pools, fitness center, roof terrace with amazing views of Newport Harbor and two restaurants. Experience our newly renovated, elegant restaurant Muse or enjoy casual a la carte dining at The Conservatory, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grace Vanderbilt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanderbilt Grace Hotel Newport
Vanderbilt Hall Newport
Hotel Vanderbilt Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing