We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pearl of the East Coast”
Review of Grace Vanderbilt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grace Vanderbilt
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2012

The Hotel's ambiance, the comfortable and spacious rooms, and the well maintained grounds are the ultimate of perfection. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, the staff catered to our every need. Always on hand if there were questions, Rachel, Taylor, Sarah, Joe and Andrew, made our stay at the hotel and our queries on restaurants, things to do, etc. comparable to asking the same questions of your best friend.

We truly enjoyed our stay and the breakfast was great; even more so when waited on by the bubbly and out-going Danielle.

Truly a Pearl of the East Coast.

Room Tip: Any one of the rooms would please the most meticulous of travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChipB48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

My husband and I loved the Vanderbilt Grace! We stayed a weekend in May and couldn't have had a better time. We were offered Champagne on check-in (which is never a bad idea) and shown to a beautiful modern room within a well preserved and renovated historic mansion. Although the staff were young, they were very friendly, attentive and helpful. The location was fabulous. We walked everywhere. There is a nice little Irish bar with live music right down the street. Breakfast was good and the conservatory and courtyard were quaint and beautiful. The valet put bottled water in our car for us when we left. We thought that was a nice touch. We will definitely stay here again. Newport is a great town!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonGrl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Last weekend we ended up at the Vanderbilt Grace completely by chance for our 20th anniversary. Turned out to be one of the best weekends we have ever had and we have the staff at the Vanderbilt Grace to thank for most of it! The entire staff was great; especially Rachel, Taylor and Justin. They did everything they could to make us feel at home. Our suite was beautiful and the fresh flowers, chocolate covered strawberries and champagne on arrival was a great touch. The location was perfect for walking to area attractions and the rooftop view is priceless. We are already looking at dates to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Lovely hotel, comfortable rooms, helpful and friendly staff. No one told us that the continental breakfast was free, so make a note of it. Food at the restaurant was good, but better choices in town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Just4grinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I recently went up to Newport (from NJ) to have a no-flight mini vacation. We happened to pick the first nice weekend of the spring. We were impressed with everything at Vanderbilt Grace. We chose the location because it felt like a cross between a hotel and bed & Breakfast. The location was an amazing quick walk to the water where all the shops, bars and restaurants were located. The staff went above and beyond to accommodate us (including fetching a gold charm that fell down the sink). The rooms were expensive so we decided to stay 4 in a loft suite – they weren’t that big but it wasn’t terribly crowded- we could have used a second bed instead of a pullout couch. One small disappointment was the lack of a Jacuzzi. Overall A+ Service and experience. Awesome rooftop too- incredible view!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Noise of the air conditioner kept me up all night. This should not happen in a hotel of this standard.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clovio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

The location and the history of the building makes this a special stay. The staff from Rachel, to Brandon, to Mathilde and Joe, helped make us welcome and our stay fantastic! We were only there for one night but it made the trip so worthwhile to have such attention paid to our comfort and enjoyment.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
624 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
722 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grace Vanderbilt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Vanderbilt

Address: 41 Mary St, Newport, RI 02840-3027 (Formerly Vanderbilt Hall Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £256 - £616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grace Vanderbilt 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grace Vanderbilt is a quintessential Newport mansion with 33 guest rooms and suites, full service spa with indoor and outdoor swimming pools, fitness center, roof terrace with amazing views of Newport Harbor and two restaurants. Experience our newly renovated, elegant restaurant Muse or enjoy casual a la carte dining at The Conservatory, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grace Vanderbilt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanderbilt Grace Hotel Newport
Vanderbilt Hall Newport
Hotel Vanderbilt Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing