We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Stay”
Review of Grace Vanderbilt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grace Vanderbilt
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed the experience of staying at this hotel. The staff was friendly and on the ball. The roof deck bar was perfect on a sunny afternoon looking out at the Harbor. A great location for a nice getaway to Newport.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funvaca111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a very relaxing stay at the Vanderbilt. The whole experience from check-in to check-out was fantastic. The staff were so helpful and friendly, from the excellent service at champagne breakfast (is there a better way to start the day?) front desk and valet service, they really are a credit to the hotel. Make time to visit the roof deck the views of the city and marina are amazing. Location of the hotel is excellent, and we were able to walk to the mansions (or a quick drive if you are short on time).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dosaprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Fantastic location and a truly wonderful hotel. The house is a charming and the limited number of rooms ensure an intimate experience I would highly recommend a stay here if you have any doubts. I Look forward to visiting the hotel again, the location is perfect it really can't say anymore about a perfect weekend stay at the Vanderbilt grace. Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackiesdadda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This is a beautiful hotel in a superb location with some odd quirks that make it difficult to recommend. The chief problem for us, and a very big one, was the incredibly noisy air conditioning unit directly at the foot of the bed. Unfortunately, the control to lower the fan speed could not be operated - apparently it's been overridden - and the unit went from silence to full throttle in 10 or 15 minute cycles all night long. It felt like we were in the engine room of one of the yachts in the harbor and made for sleepless nights despite the luxury linens, and we are not light sleepers, being used to city noise. I imagine these units are in every room, so I doubt that this is an unusual circumstance. Something needs to be done about it...
The aforementioned linens are lovely indeed, but why on earth do hotels think that a down comforter and a second comforter are a good idea in the heat of summer, especially with the cost (both environmental and in dollars) of fuel consumption?
The light breakfast, included in the rate, was very nice and the conservatory and garden are lovely. The outdoor pool looks like an afterthought, though, and the indoor spaces are not suited for lounging, as the main living room is used for check-in and the other room has a billiard table in it. The Muse restaurant is beautiful.
Beware the 21 day no-refund policy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ardalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Every thing about this hotel is five star! Staff is superb, rooms are large and beautifully appointed.
Location is perfect and close to everything. Just a few steps to middle of Newport and a short drive to all sites.

Room Tip: Request room overlooking "Garden".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malverneites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Wonderful experience from beginning to end. Exceptional staff, friendly and accommodating. Terrific location. Roof top deck perfect for sunset, gazing at the harbor, the stars and the full moon. Relaxing and first class facilities and the champagne at breakfast and on arrival is a lovely extra touch. Good food too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We looked at the Vanderbilt, along with the Chanler, Cliff Walk and Viking, and boy did we get it right with the Vanderbilt Grace. Great location for both visiting the Mansions and seeing everything else Newport has to offer. The parking was very reasonable and the car was brought around so quickly that getting to the Mansions, which all have adjoining lots, was a breeze, But rather than being isolated like we would have been with some of those other hotels, here we could just walk out the front door and explore all the shops and the historic district right across the street. And when we didn't want to do anything, there were both outdoor and indoor (open till 10 pm!!!) pools, The room itself, with a view of the harbor, was wonderful. The complimentary breakfasts were great and enough to keep us going till dinner. And, saving the best for last, the staff was spectacular -- friendly, helpful and attentive. Can't say enough about what a fabulous time we had and what a fabulous hotel this is!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m12345Nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
624 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grace Vanderbilt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Vanderbilt

Address: 41 Mary St, Newport, RI 02840-3027 (Formerly Vanderbilt Hall Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £258 - £615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grace Vanderbilt 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grace Vanderbilt is a quintessential Newport mansion with 33 guest rooms and suites, full service spa with indoor and outdoor swimming pools, fitness center, roof terrace with amazing views of Newport Harbor and two restaurants. Experience our newly renovated, elegant restaurant Muse or enjoy casual a la carte dining at The Conservatory, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grace Vanderbilt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanderbilt Grace Hotel Newport
Vanderbilt Hall Newport
Hotel Vanderbilt Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing