We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest places my husband and I have ever stayed; beautiful, clean, relaxing, with a world class staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vanderbilt Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Vanderbilt Grace
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“One of the nicest places my husband and I have ever stayed; beautiful, clean, relaxing, with a world class staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

The perfect place to get away from it all, this hotel has everything I look for in a top notch establishment. Clean, beautiful, convenient location and a friendly staff who went out of their way to make our vacation memorable. My husband and I have traveled extensively and both agree this is one of the best hotels around. We look forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenfen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    87
    34
    14
    6
See reviews for
111
351
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Great stay, fantastic staff and the hotel has a perfect location. Thank you. We will certainly return. Absolutely loved Newport too, the most beautiful place we have been to in America.The mansios were amazing to visit.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

The location was ideal- a short walk into the downtown area. We were underwhelmed by the service, breakfast, and accomidations. The staff consisted of what seemed to be college students on summer break. Breakfast was an average "self serve" selection of fruit, pastry, and yogurt. There was one waitress each morning running from table to table with coffee and tea. Forget a refill on coffee. Lastly, the furniture in the room was worn and appointments seemed very inexpensive. Certainly not what you'd expect when paying $765 per night. While the inn is charming from the outside and in a great location, there are likely better options available. I don't know how this place has received the ratings it has..

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaGrace, General Manager at The Vanderbilt Grace, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
“Dear Christine R,

We are grateful for our guests feedback as it is valuable to our success. It is always hard to hear that we did not manage to deliver the best possible experience to one of our guests.

Our location and appearance are appreciated by our community and guests, but we are most proud of our service and we regret that you did not feel this was up to the standards we strive to keep.

While we include in our room rates a convenient continental buffet of fresh pastries, charcuterie, yogurts and seasonal fruit for our guests to enjoy at their leisure, we also offer additional breakfast items à la carte with the aim of satisfying the appetites of all.

Our historic architecture is a gem of Newport and we work to maintain our history and the comfort of our guests. We are always considering ways to improve and incorporate modern conveniences to satisfy both responsibilities.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback, which can only help us to improve.

Best regards,

Marina Aslanidou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

As I'm writing this review I still can't decide whether to give the Vanderbilt Grace three or four stars. There is a lot to like about the hotel - and it certainly counts as a luxury hotel - but the room we were given (Rm 413) had some issues.

The hotel is great. Warm, well decorated, distinguished even. The staff were great too: very polite and attentive. Service at breakfast was also very good and the food was excellent. So all the touches you'd want - and expect - from an expensive hotel.

But the room...hmmm.

Firstly it was small. Not New York hotel small, but certainly the smallest room I've ever stayed in in a luxury hotel. It was on the top floor and apparently was one of the rooms added during an expansion to the original hotel. Consequently the ceiling sloped in (as it would if you created a room in an attic) making the room immediately feel small.

In addition to the area where the bed was, there was perhaps an additional 6ft of space, filled with a small sink, microwave, desk, chair and a comfy armchair under the one medium sized window. Between the foot of the bed and the thin unit upon which a nice flat screen TV sat, there was less than two feet's width - making it impossible for two people to pass each other at the same time.

In the small bathroom there was a single pedestal sink with a narrow glass shelf above it - so no room to lay out (m)any toiletries. The bath/shower combo was fine. Water pressure good. But the floor was uneven and the bathroom door didn't close easily and swung open if you didn't manage to close it properly (firmly!)

The other problem - certainly for this time of year - was the very noisy (defective?) heater. It was a very, VERY, loud unit housed in a nice painted white wooden box which came on intermittently to keep the room at the desired temperature. It didn't come on very often or necessarily for very long, but when it did it was enough to wake any light sleeper or drown out the sound on the TV.

My wife and I were in Newport for two nights and spent much of our time out of the room, so overall it was was no big deal, but overall it was less than you'd expect from a luxury hotel, certainly for the price we were paying. We certainly would have asked to change room had we been staying longer.

This was our first trip to Newport, which we loved as a place, and we're already making plans to come back next year. We will however give one of the other luxury hotels rated highly on Trip Advisor a try for that visit.

So three or four stars? I'll go with four on the basis that it is a lovely hotel in general and maybe it was just this one room (which was still nice) and had we complained, my guess (hope) is that the staff would have given us a different room - which had it been bigger with a quieter heater could easily have earned the hotel a 5 star review.

Room Tip: Ask for an "original" room, not one added during the expansion of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaGrace, General Manager at The Vanderbilt Grace, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear rcadian,

Thank you for the compliments in your review and for giving us four stars. Our team aims to offer impeccable service and attention to detail and it is always so wonderful to hear from our guests that we have delivered that experience.

We were sorry to hear that your room was less enjoyable than you hoped. The nature of our historic building does mean that the rooms differ in style and size, and many of our guests have their own individual preferences. You are absolutely right – had we received your comments during your stay we would have done our utmost to provide alternatives!

Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope you return to The Vanderbilt Grace again one day.

Kind regards,

Marina Aslanidou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

This is a most attractive property located a block from the main street with the waterfront shops and restaurants. The rooms are large, the bathrooms well fitted out with European style fixtures. The linens are first rate and the bed in our room was exceptionally comfortable. All that being said, what makes this hotel truly stand out is the service. From the moment we arrived and a smiling bellman swooped down and took our bags we were made to feel welcome. For the balance of our stay each staff member seemed to go out of his or her way to be sure that we had everything we needed. We sat down by the fireplace in an anteroom and someone was there to put wood on the fire. There was warm apple cider in the lobby, but my wife wanted coffee. No problem and it was brought with a smile. I don't know who oversees staff training at this property, but they are doing an outstanding job. The room comes with an elaborate continental breakfast including champagne served in the glass enclosed conservatory off the lobby. Additional hot breakfast items are available at a reasonable charge. The Vanderbilt is absolutely first rate and if you choose to stay, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phillyshrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My (now) fiance and I stayed at the Vanderbilt Grace during a weekend getaway to Newport in November of 2013. Before we even arrived, I knew this would be an amazing stay. Once I had informed the hotel of my plans of proposing for the weekend, the Vanderbilt Guest Services team went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure this would be a special occasion. They took time out of their busy schedule to drive us to and from the proposal location, and then again to dinner that night. Upon arrival back to the hotel from getting engaged, there was a bottle of iced champagne to greet us! The hotel itself is old, but has been modernized with every amenity possible, but still maintains a classic flair. The location of the hotel is ideal if you're looking for something that is away from a lot of noise, but still manages to be right in the thick of things in downtown Newport. We were within walking distance of nearly every main attraction around, except some of the mansions.

Again the service was incredible, and I have no critiques whatsoever. They are an "eco friendly" hotel, so if you want towels replaced daily, you must put the old ones on the floor. The cost is towards the higher end of the spectrum for Newport, but as most things go in life in terms of quality - you get what you pay for. For us, this was money well spent and we will be returning to the Vanderbilt Grace in the future for many anniversaries to come!

TIP: We had read on other reviews that the temperature control in the rooms is a little off, and that the rooms can get warm very quickly. This is definitely true, and we had to turn down the temperature a little bit at night to be comfortable. This is not a complaint, but rather an FYI to help others in the future!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

This was a nice hotel experience. The staff are very attentive and accommodating. It has the feel of staying in a private manor house. We booked a suite which was very comfortable. The hotel has a nice spa facility, with gym, indoor pool and sauna, which we made good use of. When you walk out the front door, May street is only 50 meters from the main area of Newport, with shops, restaurants and pubs. They include a breakfast in the room rate, but I would say that it is probably the only negative. Each day when we arrived about 10am (it is open until 11am), it had been well and truly picked over and not refreshed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vanderbilt Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vanderbilt Grace

Property: The Vanderbilt Grace
Address: 41 Mary St, Newport, RI 02840-3027 (Formerly Vanderbilt Hall Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Vanderbilt Grace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vanderbilt Grace is a quintessential Newport mansion with 33 guest rooms and suites, full service spa with indoor and outdoor swimming pools, fitness center, roof terrace with amazing views of Newport Harbor and two restaurants. Experience our newly renovated, elegant restaurant Muse or enjoy casual a la carte dining at The Conservatory, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Vanderbilt Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanderbilt Grace Hotel Newport
Vanderbilt Hall Newport
Hotel Vanderbilt Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing