We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Top notch!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vanderbilt Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Vanderbilt Grace
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Top notch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing stay at the Vanderbilt Grace. The hotel is beautiful with friendly and professional service. I would like to live there!
The hot stone massage was incredible.
We ate in the bar area of Muse and it was very cozy with great service and food.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank eksq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    84
    34
    13
    6
See reviews for
111
346
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

I just left a weekend without kids at the Vanderbilt Grace. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. The room was unbelievably comfortable and the shower amazing. Every night the turn down service leaves a generous portion of home made chocolate score bar type of candy and apples in your room. I loved that touch. I would have given a fifth star but the spa and workout room weren't exactly what I was hoping for. The massage was good but the space didn't feel very relaxing. The workout room was super tiny. Finally, the restaurant food was only ok in my opinion compared to the numerous excellent choices in Newport. I would go back but would plan all of my meals out. If you don't need the spa and are willing to go out to different restaurants this is a perfect stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dartmouth, ma
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

I stayed at the Vanderbilt Grace for a birthday treat. They were so very attentive to everything one needs for a nice hotel stay. I had a fabulous room, upgraded from my reservation, spacious, comfortable bed, with a great roof top view of Newport. The spa, pool, and gym were clean, pleasant and easily accessed from the locker rooms. We ate at the Muse, I would highly recommend. the food and presentation were amazing. The hotel is located in the center of Newport, walking distance to majority of the sights, shopping and restaurants. I would absolutely go back again. Newport is enjoyable both in winter and summer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trish585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
159 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We just returned from a wonderful stay at this top-notch property in charming and lovely Newport, Rhode Island. The hotel has all the right touches: great service (very attentive without being overbearing), terrific atmosphere, great food and a perfect location right in the center of town. You can walk all over Newport. We visited the Touro Synagogue and Marble House, the Vanderbilt Mansion. We had champagne and cheese in our room, which is always a really nice touch. (And it's good champagne, not Korbel!) The amenities are definitely top drawer -- Dean & DeLuca snacks, Penhaglion products in the large and well appointed bathroom. A great choice for a charming town!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the Vanderbilt Grace on our recent visit to Newport. The hotel is small enough to feel intimate, but not so small as to invade your sense of privacy.

We stayed in a junior suite on the third floor. Overall, the room was nice. Initially, the room felt a bit uncomfortable because of the odd angles caused by the roof line. But, once we got used to that, the room felt very cozy. One minor knock on the room is that the carpet could stand an update.

While it didn't bother me too much, light sleepers (like my wife) should avoid this room. The roof/room was very loud when the wind blew during the night. (And, I don't think it was a particularly windy night the night that we stayed.)

The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the dining and shopping along the historic wharfs.

We ended our stay on a high note enjoying a truly excellent champagne breakfast.

The staff at the Vanderbilt delivered from when we arrived until when we left. We really appreciated the small things, like the valet leaving us a couple of bottles of water for the road when he brought the car around when we were leaving.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Service: We mentioned it was our anniversary while book through Jetsetter.com. The hotel prepared an entire champagne cheese spread in our room to kickoff our celebration weekend. Every staff member was awesome and treated us so nice. They even set up a fire for us in the fireplace. 100% best service ever!
Room: Our suite was HUGE! The high ceilings make it feel even bigger. I loved the k-cups.
Spa: I had a wonderful massage in the morning. It was great
Breakfast Buffet: The breakfast buffet was great and we added on an omelet.
Rooftop: The rooftop has a great view of Newport harbor. The sunset was breathtaking.
Previously, we stayed at the Ocean House and the Vanderbilt definitely has same type of service. 5 star hands down!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite! It was so luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmr05006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We just came back from a one-night stay at the Vanderbilt Grace and thoroughly enjoyed it. The service was top-notch and very friendly. We were welcomed with a glass of champagne. Our room was nicely furnished and the bathroom was spacious. We took advantage of the car service the hotel offered to take us to a wedding and we were driven in a very nice Mercedes sedan. The complimentary continental breakfast was brought to our room and was also very tasty and came with a glass of champagne. Their orange juice was very delicious as well! I would highly recommend staying here also because of the location. We were able to walk down to Thames St within a minute. Definitely check this place out!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Petsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#10 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vanderbilt Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vanderbilt Grace

Property: The Vanderbilt Grace
Address: 41 Mary St, Newport, RI 02840-3027 (Formerly Vanderbilt Hall Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Vanderbilt Grace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vanderbilt Grace is a quintessential Newport mansion with 33 guest rooms and suites, full service spa with indoor and outdoor swimming pools, fitness center, roof terrace with amazing views of Newport Harbor and two restaurants. Muse, our newly renovated simply elegant restaurant as well as The Conservatory, our more casual a la carte restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Vanderbilt Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanderbilt Grace Hotel Newport
Vanderbilt Hall Newport
Hotel Vanderbilt Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing