We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The Perfect Long Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thames Street Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thames Street Guest House
Ranked #44 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Long Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Blue Suite room for a long weekend in August that coincided with the Newport Beer and Wine Festival. After renting from a different property for the last few years, we decided to try a new place, and are so glad we did.

The Blue Suite provided plenty of room for the two of us as well as a private bath. At breakfast, we were treated to a wide selection of fresh fruit as well as delicious homemade muffins and coffee cakes.

Patricia and Gary were the ultimate hosts and catered to our every need - from letting us borrow their mountain bikes, to offering up their DVD collection, to recommending hot spots that were off the beaten path. They made us feel so welcomed that it was difficult to leave after the perfect long weekend. We're already looking forward to next year and spending some more time at 15 Thames with Patricia, Gary, Kelly and Onyx!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Thames house guest house, was very quaint and well located in the old part of Newport & 5 minute walk to the pier area. Our hosts were wonderful and respected our privacy and intimacy but were always available when we needed their suggestions. A great place to discover Newport from !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainview, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

This guest house is an extremely warm and friendly environment. The owners of the house greet you whenever you come in and treat you like family. I really felt like I was staying with friends or family rather than a guest house. The home was very clean, the breakfast was nice, they had a nice variety of food and the bed was so comfortable! The location of the house is very convenient, it is in walking distance to town and the house has a driveway so you don't have to park on the street. I definitely recommend this guest house for your stay while in Newport!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lrmalc14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

My Fiance and I, along with another couple stayed in the downstairs apartment off of the patio area of the Thames House. The proprietors Gary and Pat go out of their way to make your experience very comfortable and enjoyable. There are fresh berries and fruit as well as homemade muffins etc. available with the free continental breakfast. We will not stay anywhere else in Newport and we will recommend this place to all of our friends and family that are planning a visit!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rawb1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

My boyfriend and I went to a wedding in Newport, and stayed at the Thames Guest House. The hotels were super expensive, and we've heard great things about this B&B, so decided to try it out. It was perfect for us--Gary and Patty (owners of the house) were amazing. The rooms were so comfortable, very clean and decorated in a New England theme. They were so gracious by driving us to and from the wedding location, recommending nearby restaurants and stores to check out (which were superb), and even gave us some background information on many of the major attractions in Newport. From now on, I'm only staying here!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brooklyngrl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

You can't beat the location, on a quiet end of Thames and still only a few minutes walk into town . I loved the Garden apartment - it was perfect for 4 of us. The bathroom was clean, the living room comfy, bedroom on the back side of the house quiet and appealing. . I saw some of the other rooms and will say they are all beautiful!. Gary and Pat are wonderful, really made sure everything worked well for us, which it did. They put out a nice continental breakfast, with tons of fresh fruits, freshed baked goods and tons of other choices. With a range of kids aged 10 - 21, everyone was really happy - a rare accomplishment! Thank you Gary & Pat!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j0anne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

For so many years we wasted money on hotels in and around Newport. The hotels were often crowded and noisy and expensive.

We decided to try a B & B. We contacted Thames House Guest House. Gary and Pat responded right away. They answered all of my questions so we booked.

This B&B exceeded our expectations. The price was reasonable. The room was fantastic. It is a short walk to downtown Newport so we didn't have to worry about parking. Gary and Pat are some of the warmest and nicest people we've ever met. Everything was clean and well designed. Breakfast was scrumptious too. We recommend this place to friends and family and are happy to recommend it to people on TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kohehleth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#13 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room
0.3 mi away
Chart House Inn
Chart House Inn
#38 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Wynstone
The Wynstone
#54 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Howland House Inn
Howland House Inn
#45 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.3 mi away
America's Cup Inn
America's Cup Inn
#25 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thames Street Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thames Street Guest House

Property: Thames Street Guest House
Address: 15 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-2569
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A George Mason White designed circa 1863 Italianate Victorian. Located on Historic Thames Street two blocks from downtown shopping, restaurants and waterfront. All rooms have king beds and A/C, T/V private baths, sofa/sleepers. Apt has full kitchen and Queen bed, sofa/sleeper. Patio, free off-street parking, continental breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing