We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location, Location!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thames Street Guest House
Ranked #43 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
CT
1 review
“Location, Location, Location!”
Reviewed 9 August 2009

My husband and I just returned from our stay at the Thames Guesthouse and cannot wait to return! We were pleasantly suprised at our accomodations considering what a fantastic price we paid for our room...The Rose Suite, lovely and romantic oversized room overlooking the patio in the back and Thames Street in the front. Best Sleep we have had in months, perfect spot...walking distance to downtown restaurants and bars and 5 minute drive to beaches and cliffs and mansions, or better yet grab the trolley a street away and avoid the hefty parking fees and downtown traffic. Gary and Patty, the owners, were wonderful and knowledgable and provided a DELICIOUS breakfast, which is included daily. Be sure to check out Eastons Beach and grab twin lobster rolls for 10.99 and listen to the live bands at Atlantic Beach Club...Hope to be back for Christmas to see all the mansions decorated...

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pelham, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

This B&B is run by a friendly married couple and we loved its central location. If you are driving into Newport, it's located between the Bridge and Downtown, in a charming historic cluster of 18th century homes just two blocks before you hit all of the shops of Thames Street and waterfront action on America's Cup Blvd. We parked at the B&B and never used our car the entire weekend, easily walking to the historic mansions on Bellevue, Cliffwalk, Beach and other sights. Despite being so close, you don't get any of the evening noise associated with the bars, restaurants, etc. - it's just far enough away but not so far you can't walk to everything.

Rooms are clean and have everything you need, and the breakfast is nice, too -note, however, this isn't some "fancy" B&B with certified antiques and twee little tea sets, etc, etc. If that's what you are looking for, this place may not make you happy. But if you want a nice place to sleep, relax, and have a nice breakfast before a big day enjoying Newport, this is ideal.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiceja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ri
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Everything in walking distance, great personable service, very informative hosts, the perfect and affordable B&B in Newport.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshisgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2008

We just returned from a stay at the Thames Street Guest House. I was a little hesitant about staying at a B&B with 3 kids, but it was great! Our 2 room set-up was perfect for 5. The house was very clean, great private bath and very friendly, accommodating and helpful host. We had a great breakfast each morning outside on a private patio. Very, very nice trip! We will definitely be back and would recommend to couples or families!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kgilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2007

We stayed in their room overlooking the backyard and it was a VERY big room with a great bathroom. This B&B is a wonderful find. The breakfast is good (homemade muffins, cereal, fresh fruit) and there is no "set" time to eat. Gary and Pat are extremely nice and accomodating (helped us find a pharmacy and taxi service). Highly recommend this location in Newport -- only a few blocks away is the Thames shopping district and the wharfs and the Visitor Center/Bus Station. Couldn't have found a better location nor hosts.

  • Liked — nice hosts and location
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TrumanLouisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
The Henry Collins Inn
The Henry Collins Inn
#30 of 95 in Newport
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
America's Cup Inn
America's Cup Inn
#24 of 95 in Newport
202 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kitt Shepley House 1932
Kitt Shepley House 1932
#51 of 95 in Newport
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jailhouse Inn
Jailhouse Inn
#19 of 95 in Newport
276 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#5 of 95 in Newport
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thames Street Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thames Street Guest House

Property: Thames Street Guest House
Address: 15 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-2569
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A George Mason White designed circa 1863 Italianate Victorian. Located on Historic Thames Street two blocks from downtown shopping, restaurants and waterfront. All rooms have king beds and A/C, T/V private baths, sofa/sleepers. Apt has full kitchen and Queen bed, sofa/sleeper. Patio, free off-street parking, continental breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing