We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEAUTIFUL Sunset Cruise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sailing Excursions Adirondack II

Sailing Excursions Adirondack II
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our spacious 80' pilot schooner can take as many as 57 guests sailing on Narragansett Bay. During the summer months we go out 5 times daily, starting at 11 AM, for 1.5 hour sails. Our boat is Coast Guard certified and equipped with 2 rest rooms. Sit back, relax and enjoy the quiet beauty of the coastal scenery while the wind fills the sails.
Solvang, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL Sunset Cruise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

We bought super last minute tickets for the Sunset Sail (which included champagne or a beer if you wanted), and were really glad we did. BEAUTIFUL views of the Newport Harbor, and a fantastic sunset. Be warned, it can get reaallllyyy cold on the cruise--they have a limited number of blankets in which you can wrap yourself, but a jacket/scarf/hat would probably be a good decision as well!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alysita9623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    58
    8
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hudson valley, ny
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice to be on the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

We sail the Adirondack Schooner in Newport and New York. The trip is usually a great one..... except for those sails in the beginning of season where there is little sailing and more instruction to the new crew. I chalk it up to learning.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank hulal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plover, Wi
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

The boat is nice. The ride very disappointing. We were not given any information on what we were seeing. The captain spent most of his time flirting with one passanger

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank meier5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belchertown, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Sunset Sail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Went on a beautify; sunset sail with our kids. Very enjoyable

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic sail !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

My boyfriend and I sailed aboard the Schooner Adirondack II in July 2011 and absolutely loved it. We were on the sunset sail and boy was it a beautiful sight. The sunset alone wasn't just the best part. The boat was beautiful and the crew were just exceptional. The crew gave us great information about the sights around Narragansett Bay and even some funny story's about lobster fishing in the area. We enjoyed a good selection of beer and wine, even champagne. The boat sailed wonderfully in the light breeze and it felt great after the heat in down town Newport. We loved the sail so much we decided to book a day sail the next afternoon.
The following afternoon we enjoyed the cruse even more. It was a little breezier and more exciting. We sailed all the way out to the mouth of Narragansett Bay and back loving every second. This is a wonderful adventure for anyone looking for a relaxing and enjoyable experience in Newport. A must do ! They will be seeing us again next summer!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank sunfish87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sailing Excursions Adirondack II also viewed

 

Been to Sailing Excursions Adirondack II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing