We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect activity in Newport”

Sailing Excursions Adirondack II
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our spacious 80' pilot schooner can take as many as 57 guests sailing on Narragansett Bay. During the summer months we go out 5 times daily, starting at 11 AM, for 1.5 hour sails. Our boat is Coast Guard certified and equipped with 2 rest rooms. Sit back, relax and enjoy the quiet beauty of the coastal scenery while the wind fills the sails.
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Even though we were on a large cruise ship when we visited Newport, taking a spin around the Narragansett Bay on a late morning "Mimosa" sail was an absolute highlight. The boat was immaculate and the crew was delightful; they even let my 5-yr-old granddaughter take the helm!

2  Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen V, Manager at Sailing Excursions Adirondack II, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

I am so glad you and your family had a good time on our boat. We love letting our guests steer the boat, because the smiles on their faces just won't go away. And that seems particularly true for the children! Hope if you're back in Newport, you'll sail with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
There are newer reviews for Sailing Excursions Adirondack II
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

570 - 574 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

I took the Sept. 7 PM 1.5 hour cruise aboard the adiroudack II, out of Newport RI. This was an experience like no other, there was a 12-14knot wind, and with the sails up, we were moving along at 13-15 knots, with the water you could reach out and touch. The seasoned crew knew exactly how th handle the schooner. It was without a doubt the highlight of my visit. Congrads. and keep up the good work. I'm already looking forward to my next visit.

2  Thank Dewey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D, Public Relations Manager at Sailing Excursions Adirondack II, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

So glad that you enjoyed your evening sail on the Adirondack II under full sail. Our season is over for this year and the boat is in Albany. But we look forward to having you join us again next summer in 2014. We're in Newport from Mother's Day till Columbus Day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Lovely Sunday morning sail, the all "gal" crew were amazing! Although it was a cloudy day, we still saw a lot and although we have been to Newport many times, this was the first time seeing some of the sights from the water.

Fun for all ages!

2  Thank CelSue89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen V, Manager at Sailing Excursions Adirondack II, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Our morning mimosa sails are certainly a popular choice. And we are really pleased to have such capable women as captains and crew. In fact, although Rachael was the captain in charge, the two female crew are also captains! Thanks so much for your review, and hope we see you next season in Newport on the Adirondack II.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked tickets online ahead of time for the Friday night sunset cruise. We left at 630 and sailed until about 8. The crew was really nice and gave an overview of the history of the sights we passed. Beautiful views of the sunset. Crew was great. They had blankets and wine/beer for purchase (only a few dollars). Would definitely recommend while here in Newport!

2  Thank Chellebers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D, Public Relations Manager at Sailing Excursions Adirondack II, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

So glad that you and your husband enjoyed your sunset sail on the Adirondack II under full sail & that you appreciated all the amenities on our boat including the blankets. With our season over for this year and the boat bakc in Albany, we look forward to having you join us again next summer in 2014. We're in Newport from Mother's Day till Columbus Day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful morning cruise with the Adirondack II. The all female crew were friendly, knowledgeable and quick with the sails. Interesting tidbits about the sights along the way. Would highly recommend it. Took an infant and toddler with me and they were very accommodating.

2  Thank ekwtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D, Public Relations Manager at Sailing Excursions Adirondack II, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

So glad that you enjoyed your morning sail on the Adirondack II under full sail & that you appreciated our knowledgeable all female captain and crew as well as the marvelous views of Narragansett Bay, the Newport Bridge and the harbor. We love to accommodate groups with children and are glad that you brought the infant and toddler on the boat. With our season over for this year and the boat back in Albany, we look forward to having you join us again next summer in 2014 for one of our other cruises: Day Sail, Dark and Stormy Sail, and Sunset Sail. We're in Newport from Mother's Day till Columbus Day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sailing Excursions Adirondack II also viewed

 

Been to Sailing Excursions Adirondack II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing