We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for dinner”

The Gas Lamp Grille
Ranked #61 of 239 Restaurants in Newport
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Hackensack, New Jersey, USA
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good choice for dinner”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Girls weekend in Newport, first restaurant we chose. On a busy Friday night was crowded but service was very good. Drinks and food served very quickly and not too pricey. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nnjpeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    103
    51
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Tasty food & service was good, but It was very loud in the dining room as the bar area became crowded very quickly. Got lucky and was able to catch some of the hockey game while we were eating. So for me thats a bonus!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matthew Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perthshire, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal here. We had the best sirloin tips ever!! Served with delicious linguine. The guy at the bar was really friendly and helpful. In fact he ended up being our server too as they were a little short of staff! The restaurant was busy with a good atmosphere and mix of diners. Wine and beer were good. If you're in Newport try the sirloin tips here. Would recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FMMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Great Lunch Place”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Love having lunch here. Great selection of beer, nice lunch options and a nice view through the front door/windows.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wethersfield, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My family had a fantastic lunch this past weekend!! Great deals and super flavor! The steak top sandwich was great as was the chicken wrap!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gas Lamp Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Gas Lamp Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing