We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Comfort and Service at the Blue Jewel!”
Review of Newport Blues Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newport Blues Inn
Ranked #24 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I just cannot say enough good things about the comfortable room and friendly staff at the Blue Jewel. The location is perfect for walking to the wharf, restaurants and other attractions. The off street parking is so convenient.

The room was spotless, the breakfast spectacular. I will be staying here every time I visit Newport!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler_200950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

My wife and I stayed at this inn for the 4th of July holiday week and all I can say is WOW!!! We had the most wonderful time. The staff was amazing (Thank you Jean and the girls for making our stay so delightful) & the breakfast was delish! The rooms were impeccable and the outside porch was decorated so nicely for the 4th it was like a post card. We are telling all our friends about this place & highly recommend staying here!!!

We already reserved our room for next year!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tminus55552222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Newport Blues has 3 houses all on the same block & a few doors down from each other. There was vacancy at all 3 of them when I was booking ahead of time, and I chose Blue Jewel for myself, husband and 1 other couple. I'm so glad we did! This is the best property they have. (Newport Blues Inn: 12 rooms, more of a "boutique hotel" feel than B&B. Black Duck: Modernist decor, as in brushed steel/Danish design concept.)

Blue Jewel has a front porch where you can sit and read a book, or enjoy some wine with friends like we did. Lovely living room where they serve guests of all 3 properties wine and cheese from 5-6 on Fri & Sat (and they replenish it when it runs out!). This house only has 3 rooms on the upper floors, and we couples had the 2 queen-sized rooms (diamond & sapphire) while a family had the king bed & pullout suite (looked gorgeous). Our beds were VERY comfortable with gorgeous linens and the bathrooms were spotless and redone to modern design standards like a fine hotel. Toiletries were Rusk brand (nice!), towels were white and fluffy, flat screen tv's in the room if you need that, AC (it works well enough, not arctic tho, if you need that). Very clean, smells great, etc. Breakfast is served in either Newport Blues or Black Duck (both 5 doors down) which was not inconvenient at all. Newport Blues has a table in the backyard where you can enjoy your breakfast if it's nice out.

Staff is wonderful, cheerful, helpful! There's tea and coffee in the living room available day/night, and cookies (snickerdoodles!) plus a mini fridge if you need to chill your wine or cheese like we did. VERY quiet (I need that) and a 2 minute walk to the main wharf and Thames street for all the restaurants and shopping. We are 4 picky (read: snobby) NYers and we were thrilled with this place, you will be too. Not recommended for young kids as it's very small, quiet, and there's a grand old staircase inside the house to the rooms and also a small flight from the street sidewalk to the front door (bad deal for strollers). GO HERE!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LemonCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We wholeheartedly agree with the reviewer who commented about being embarrassed to have brought friends here. We came with adult children, and all of us were disappointed by the poor upkeep of the outside of the inn, the shabby hallway carpets, the stuffy basement breakfast room, and the ancient airconditioners. The paint on the windows of our bedroom was peeling, the carpet was dirty and the place just seemed shabby -- more like they were renting out every conceivable space for income rather than running a hospitable bed and breakfast. We have stayed at many B and Bs in Newport over the years (all of which were booked the weekend we chose) and everyone was more pleasant and less expensive.l I would never recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 10075prnse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetPeck, Public Relations Manager at Newport Blues Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

Dear Trip Adviser Guest,
We are sorry that you had a disappointing stay with us recently. We are addressing your concerns. An update of the breakfast area is on our renovation schedule.
We hope that you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We stayed just one night here in the Sachuet Suite, 2nd floor front of building. Nicely done and roomy and best of all was a little balcony over looking the street. Great to sit out and watch the world go by. Church up the street had wonderful patriotic songs ringing from it's tower on Sunday Morning 7/3. Slightly odd was the breakfast in the basement which was done in a nautical theme, food wasOK. Parking was up and across the street. Not far but if it was raining ... Check in was down the street at another property, everybody there was very friendly and welcoming. Very good location, walking distance to everything. We got a discount on the room as it was very last minute so overall we were very happy with it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

The Blue Jewel Guest House was amazing!Clean, quaint and felt like home! Thank you for a wonderful time!

Room Tip: All of the accomodations are top notch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLAnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Great location between Bellevue and Thames. Quiet street. Comfortable rooms. Breakfast included.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank accutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#13 of 96 in Newport
517 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cliffside Inn
Cliffside Inn
#1 of 96 in Newport
1,116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#15 of 96 in Newport
231 reviews
0 mi away
Adele Turner Inn
Adele Turner Inn
#34 of 96 in Newport
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Blues Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Blues Inn

Address: 96 Pelham St, Newport, RI 02840-3130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: £139 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Blues Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Blues Inn, one of Newport RI's finest Inns, offers our guests an experience of classic RI charm with a modern day style and appeal. Located a walking distance from the center of town, the beach, and the Bellevue Mansions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Newport Blues Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Blues Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing