We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful bed and breakfast stay in Newport!”
Review of Newport Blues Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newport Blues Inn
Ranked #22 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2012

At a golf tournament, I won a free weekday 2 nite stay in a queen bed room at the Newport Blues Inn. I was able to book a Wednesday and a Thursday night in August with a friend. Upon arrival we were upgraded to two queen beds in the Easton Room. The experience was totally wonderful for us!
Noteworthy comments:
Check in was smooth and our questions were answered.
The room was clean and the beds were comfortable.
Private bathroom was clean and well stocked w/ towels and soaps/shampoo/lotions.
Small refrigerator in the room held everything we brought for our beach day. Complimentary waters were included.
Air conditioner in the room did the job.
Daily cookies were a treat!
Parking was convenient - either on street if you could get it or at a parking lot across the street.
Very close/walking distance to wharf area and shops as well as to those on Bellevue Street.
Breakfasts were delicious - cinnamon french toast one day, scrambled eggs, bacon, homefries the next - always fresh fruit and homemade muffins/breads.

Things they could improve:
too small TV - needs a flat screen in the room.

Thank you to the Newport Blues Inn for donating the gift certificate to the golf tournament in honor of abused women and children.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

Chose the Blue Jewel because we had a LivingSocial coupon (2 nights for the price of 1). It is a fantastic location - we parked the car and walked almost everywhere during our weekend there. We stayed in the Sapphire Room. The room was on the smallish side and it appeared that the furniture had been rearranged because there was no way to watch the TV! The bed was SOFT!!!! (and not in a good way!) There was a nice alcove with two chairs and the bathroom was a nice size (with a tiny tub and a great shower!). My husband and I have an architectural business so we notice things that other people might not and we noticed that there were vinyl replacement windows and the vinyl was dirty! The innkeeper was pleasant and gave us good advice on places to eat. We walked about a block to the Black Duck for breakfast - really good on Saturday (cinnamon french toast) - not so good on Sunday (blueberry or chocolate chip pancakes). The B&B was nice enough at the discounted price, but probably wouldn't go back at the regular rate!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetPeck, Public Relations Manager at Newport Blues Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Thank you for staying with us while you were in Newport. The Sapphire Room is next on the list for a new TV. We pick our beds with medium range firmness since many people prefer either very hard or soft and fluffy. As for the breakfast,we always offer choices - one hot item along with a great variety of muffins, fresh fruits and any sytle egg you could want.
We hope you try us again the next time you visit Newport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed here recently with my wife for our first wedding anniversary...We are both not really "into" bed and breakfasts, however since this place got great reviews on tripadvisor, is in a great location and the fact that each room had a private bathroom, we thought we would give it a try.

Pros:
-Ladies at check-in were very friendly and offered up many great restaurant suggestions.
-Breakfast was offered everyday and again, the hostess was very nice and accomodating.
-GREAT location if you want to walk to dinner on the main strip. Tons of restaurants and shops all within walking distance.
-each room has a nice sized refrigerator

Cons: (in level if importance)
-broken toilet - Not only did you have to hold down the handle to flush it completely, but also the toilet SEAT was broken in such a way that you were tilted to your left when you sat on it.(picture below) We only realized this on the second day of our stay. By that time I wasn't going to complain about it, but I started to take stock of what else was wrong with this room.
-no hot water in the sink and terrible water pressure in both the sink and shower. The hot water knob/lever on the left side of the sink is in an akward place (picture below) Also, the sink drained very slowly.
-walls are very thin - you can hear everyone coming and going in the hallways and the adjacent rooms. I assume, they can hear you too...that can make the "sexy time" a litle awkward...
-bed was very hard and squeak
-nightstand on only one side of the bed
-very small TV (can't afford a flatscreen? come on...)
-no secondary lock on the door
-lightswitch had a dimmer that did not work

Nothing too major, but paying $190 per night, it was enough for me to write a review on tripadvisor and whine about it...WAHHHH

next time we are staying at the Marriott

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GB G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetPeck, Public Relations Manager at Newport Blues Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

We are so glad you stayed with us. As you know, small B&B s are in an ongoing process of upgrading and fixing. We are replacing a few toilet seats each month. So sorry yours had not been updated. We always tell our guests if there are any problems to please call us and we'll be happy to help.
We hope you'll give us another try. We feel we have the greatest location in Newport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently for a quick weekend getaway and all I can say is ...WOW! The room was very clean and quiet. (#1 priority for me) The breakfast was excellent and the Inn keeper was so nice and accommodating. It really added that something special you don't get at a brand name hotel for sure! We had such a great time staying here that we will definitely be coming back with our friends!!! I highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a clean and quiet place at a awesome price! Oh and it is located right in the middle of everything too!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tminus55552222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed one night at this Inn and will never return. The outside appearance is awful, the awnings are falling apart, the windows are rickety and very noisy. It happened to be a windy night and all we heard was the sound of the windows vibrating. Also the walls and floors are thin so as to hear all the other visitors coming and going - not relaxing at all. There was no extra tissue paper in the bathroom, very little kleenex left in the box, no water pressure to wash your hair, dead flowers left in the window boxes; it was terrible. This place needs a good over-haul and alot more attention to detail. The price they get for this place is rediculous - the only good thing is the location.

Room Tip: my tip is to not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetPeck, Public Relations Manager at Newport Blues Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

We apologize for your noisy night in our Inn. Unfortunately, that windstorm damaged our awnings. We have ordered replacements. As you will see from our other reviews, most people have had very good experiences with us. We hope you will give us another try in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We recently stayed here for a wedding and had a very nice stay. The location of this hotel is ideal and it is in walking distance of the main strip of restaurants and bars near the water. This B&B is charming and has a nice porch and backyard area to hang out in. The rooms were spacious and on the third floor it had a great living room - hangout area for those staying in a large group which was ideal. The beds were comfy as well. My only negative review was the breakfast. They didn't use real bacon (microwavable bacon yuck) and for the price we paid I expected the food to be much better considering it was a bed and breakfast. If this place improved upon the breakfast situation I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amymooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

A group of us in town for a function stayed at Newport Blues Inn and it's sister property, the Blue Jewel. Everyone enjoyed their rooms and we all met at Newport Blues Inn for a delicious breakfast in the AM. Rooms are spacious and clean. Great beds and all the creature comforts one would expect in a B&B. Staff is very friendly.

I was here a few months ago and had the same great experience. We will all be back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maria_egypt_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#8 of 21 in Newport
591 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
722 reviews
0 mi away
Adele Turner Inn
Adele Turner Inn
#33 of 96 in Newport
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Almondy Inn
Almondy Inn
#20 of 96 in Newport
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#13 of 96 in Newport
519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#16 of 96 in Newport
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Blues Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Blues Inn

Address: 96 Pelham St, Newport, RI 02840-3130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: £87 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Blues Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Blues Inn, one of Newport RI's finest Inns, offers our guests an experience of classic RI charm with a modern day style and appeal. Located a walking distance from the center of town, the beach, and the Bellevue Mansions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Newport Blues Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Blues Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing